Garden Update: New Garden Starting Materials and Some Garden Starting Shots

in #gardening6 years ago

In a small personal event I've dubbed "farm christmas" John purchased a bunch of things to help us kick start the farm. For many months we've only been a farm of chickens, ducks and quail due to lack of time to dedicate to farming this mountain lot.

These grow bags are very commonly used here in Mexico, just punch a few holes in the bottom, fill with dirt and they work fine to start plants and trees.

This free pack of seeds came with all the stuff, I have already started some of those seeds because the picture shows a really pretty flower.

Much of the dirt in this bin is actually recycled from plants that died. Just remoisten, feed and break it up and it's fine. I leave the roots in because they provide food for the plant later.

These are three pineapple tops cleverly stuffed in my old succulent pot in between planting. I set them there and kept them moist until I was ready to put them in pots.

The thing sticking off is already a fresh root that is forming that I found when I planted them into pots.

All done!

These types of crates are good for container gardening with, especially with things like radishes and carrots.

So I filled it to the top with more soil and watered it well.

Testing this Mexican brand of radishes. It's a variety I recognize from the states under a different name.

Not totally sure why but just about all the seeds I've purchased from this company have been dyed, these a metallic pink. There's not much available in stores like Walmart or Home Depot for exotic or even organic seeds, you've got to search online for those and Mexican distributors do exist if you know where to look.

I planted them hexogonally, which you can see is a bit different from actual row planting. It economizes space and actually allows the plants to better become green mulch for the soil once they're big enough, which will actually reduce the need for water.

Already have sprouts with the first true leaves, stay tuned for more garden updates to come!

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Succulent Zen Garden, Update One: New Roots and Holey Cactuses
Anarchapulco Farm, Garden Update 7: Still Growing and Discovering
Anarchapulco Permaculture Farm, Garden Update 2: Taming the Jungle, Preparing for Winter, Expanding the Garden

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Instant Pot Herbed Rack of Lamb with Roasted Veggies Recipe
Acapulco Sunsets: Happy 4/20
Lily's Little Garden: Sensitive Plant is Still Alive

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Spring is here again in my place, I wqas inspired by your pineapple tops. I want to try it it too just not sure if I will succeed in it.

You must be very excited. I too am looking to start some planting as we get into spring. I most certainly do not have the benefit of land and space so I am leaning towards aquaponics system and indoors.
I will be looking forward to seeing how your garden grows especially the pineapples, never seen them grown in a container. All the best.

Is this your first time doing the pineapple tops? And if not, how did they go last time?

Hope these seeds do well.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 103 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

How tasty! @lily-da-vine you will have a crop of future pineapples and rabbits, here we grow the pineapple in arid lands generally a little acidic and high daytime temperatures, (Acapulco would be ideal land), the rabbit in semi-temperate highlands. I also think it's an excellent initiative to try, a couple of days ago I planted sisal and cocuiza here. @renny-krieger
https://steemit.com/ecology/@renny-krieger/snake-release-and-tree-planting-on-an-ecological-day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93