From Crap to Salads: The Journey of Diet Change

in #food6 years ago

While I'm known as a chef I'm not known as one to serve healthy food. What I specialize in at best is comfort food with high quality ingredients. Lately I've been making an effort to eat better for me and for my future. It's not been an easy path though. I started this journey 7 years ago as someone who lived off of processed food and nothing but. Until recently salads gave me a stomach ache.

I've been finding it interesting to see how my body responds to food and how those responses change. I can't eat much for dairy at this point without facing consequences unless it's fermented or butter. I also am finding it hard to stomach sugar which is something I've actually been happy about. For the most part save for recipes I share here and there I've switched off the refined stuff onto local honey.

We've been eating salads so often that John is likely sick of them at this point but I've enjoyed them honestly for the first time in my life. Before salad was just tough to eat and even when it wasn't it still gave me stomach pain. I couldn't understand why all these foods people told me were good for me made me feel bad. I now understand that when you drastically change your diet in any direction you're going to feel bad at first even if it's the right thing to do. Your body gets used to diets and likes to stick to ones, especially ones from childhood.

So I'll keep at it. I still eat too much sweets and not enough of the good stuff but I feel the scales tipping in the other direction and for me that's a start. Anyone who knows me from my childhood would not expect me to make salads on a regular without being asked to.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Big Fat Chocolate Chip Cookies
Cast Iron Pan Fried Chicken
Strawberries, Nuts and Cream Overnight Oats

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: Thoughts on Transforming Weaknesses to Strengths
Acapulco Sunsets: Night Thoughts on Self Change
Craft Adventures: My First Dread Hat

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

I am planning my first large, outdoor photo shoot, any advice for a newbie?

Hi @lily-da-vine friend
This salad is delicious to eat with any food

wow so yummy its looking very delicious

Congratulations @lily-da-vine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Your salad looks yummy. Changing your eating choices is a good move. And that is a wise insight on why you had a stomach ache from eating salads. Many people don't make that connection. We need to be gentle with our body, it does so many amazing things for us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63345.39
ETH 3130.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48