How to Make Raw Overnight Oats

in #food6 years ago

I've always loved oatmeal but doing the whole raw overnight oats thing has taken it next level. I'm beyond the experimentation stage with this recipe and am ready to share some things I've learned in my own personal oat adventures. I love this so much I've been making it a lot. I know that because it seems John's annoyed at eating the same thing over and over. Last time I made it he came at me an hour later asking if I intended on making "real breakfast." I'll be honest when I say I had no intention of it but I made him a breakfast sandwich anyway.

So most recipes we encountered in our simple searches were wrong in terms of liquid to oat ratio. Not sure if that has anything to do with the type of oats we use or what. I generally do a 2:1 ratio, one cup oats to two cups liquid. The liquid is always a mix of almond milk, yogurt and water. I also add berries in to flavor it. There are a million and one ways to flavor this, I'll be honest when strawberries have played a central role in all my bowls so far.

I just put it in a washed yogurt container (rinse the oats in a strainer first for best results) and put that in the fridge overnight. By the time I am hungry in the morning it's ready to be topped and eaten.

I generally add: some sort of chopped or sliced nut, berries, maple syrup, honey and banana if I have it. I'm sure soon I'll branch out into other flavors.

I've heard some people cook the oats after soaking and I plan to try that too. Something most people don't realize is the majority of grains used to be at least soaked if not sprouted before consumption for a whole range of reasons depending on what it was. The true nutritional capability of these things can often only be harnessed with extra work and many people get caught up on how unhealthy things like gluten and other grains are without considering the fact that we aren't treating them the way we used to.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Our First Chicken Harvest: Story and Roast Recipe
Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza
Goat Cheese Lasanga

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 8
Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 7
Cobalt Blue Acapulco Petroglyph Inspired Pipe and Pendant Set

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Hey! Wonderful pictures and now that you have shared this idea I’m going to have to give it a go! I like the idea of cooking the oats after you soak them. I’ve been eating oatmeal for years and never thought of doing this. Thanks for the write up!

It does something special to the oats even raw.

looks easy to make and ready for breakfast , am gonna try this

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

I leave mine out for three day soaking then lightly heat them. Lastly add some bit just before eating like Morgina, Spirulina and some fruit 💯🐒

Do they get a sour flavor at all from the extra soaking?

Not really I add all sorts to it so tastes amazing. Especially with a touch of cacao 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49