Black Sapote Goat Cheese Chocolate Pie Recipe and Food Photo Shoot

in #food7 years ago

Many tropical fruits are just weird for lack of a better way of putting it. It can be due to texture, flavor or both and it can be in a good way or a bad way. One fruit that's straight weird in a good way is black sapote also known as the chocolate pudding fruit. When ripe, these leathery green balls become soft with a texture similar to chocolate mousse with a slightly fruiter flavor. Mixed into a pie with goat cheese, totally delectable.

I got inspired by this recipe when I went to the store and found that black sapotes are back in season. I couldn't help but buy a few and before I knew it I was buying goat cheese too imagining this recipe. It turned out exactly as expected and we shared it with friends last night who said it was one of the best pies they'd ever eaten. Thanks guys, that means a lot.

This is the fruit in question. They are best soft and nearly falling apart. I'm not kidding.

Ingredients

4 large sized ripe black sapote fruit
200 g natural goat cheese
3 eggs
1/3 c greek yogurt
1 c sugar
3 T cocoa powder
1 t vanilla
1.25 c flour
100 g butter, cold and cubed
ice water
2 t sugar
1 t salt

Start with the pie crust by cutting butter into the flour (combined with the sugar and salt) until it's well combined and crumbly. I almost always use my fingers for this. Add a little ice water just to get it to come together and knead for a few seconds until smooth. Put into the fridge to chill for an hour.

Cut the fruits in half and removing the flesh. It should be dark and sludgy with a few large seeds here and there like in the photo above. Try and remove all of the seeds (I forgot one, wasn't the end of the world but wasn't nice either.
Add the goat cheese, yogurt, sugar and eggs and blend.
Add the cocoa and vanilla and blend until smooth.
Roll out the dough and line a springform pan with it. Fill the crust with the filling and bake at 350 for about an hour or until the center is set.
Allow to cool completely then chill before serving. This is actually best served a day later as I found today.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Chocolate Date Goo Ball Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Turtle Duck Egg Brownies Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Lily's Tricks and Tips for Proper Molcajete (Mortar and Pestle) Seasoning and Care

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunrise: Bright Morning City Shots
Adventures Around Acapulco: Acapulco Oaxaca Market Returns Part 3
House Hunting Adventures: The Lighthouse Part 1

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

I've never tried a black sapote before, but I'll check the grocery store in my area to see if they have any.

So the sapote has to be really soft or the pie won't work?

Black sapotes are pretty tart when firm and it does really effect the custardy texture so it does need to be soft. If you can only find firm ones just buy them and keep until they're soft.

Sapote is both beautiful and scarey. It's a fruit... but it tastes like chocolate. The theological implication is that there is a God... and he likes to screw with us. As much as I'd love to try it I think I'd stare at it nervously for a long time first.

HAH. It surprised both of my friends who tried it ;)

Thank you for this food and its easy to try

very good food looks. and I have never tasted it. and I am very grateful to you for sharing the recipe, I will definitely make the cake, when I see the photo of the cake I have imagined very good to eat

Wow! just delicious food.............
i liked././././

This post has received a 1.67 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lily-da-vine. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 2.89 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lily-da-vine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45