๐ŸœGarden to Table: Coconut Curry!๐Ÿœ Fresh from the Neighbor's Farm! ๐Ÿ˜˜

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

What kind of recipes can you make from items grown around you?


thaicurry.jpg


There is such an incredible feeling knowing that everything you're eating is coming from the land, grown from the neighbors around you!

This week was crazy when it came to food because I wait every week for the organic market on Saturdays and this Saturday was canceled! 75% of my food comes from the farmers that sell their spray-free foods that one day of the week.

(Luckily I can get my fruit which is another 20% any time I want from my wonderful ladies down the street!)

I panicked... How would I get my vegetables for the week?

Luckily I have an abundance of plant based restaurants around to help me get by if I ever run out but then I thought, why not just go to the farm?

Because I visit the market every week, I've formed connections to my farmers... something I would never have with a store!
I called my favorite farmer and asked him if I could come raid his garden... of course he said YES (and that's how we got this delicious curry!)

I have visited this farmer's farm before but every time is different depending on the season and the market harvest. It's magical being immersed in all the growing foods!)

I wasn't sure what he would have growing right now since our rainy season only just ended but I knew I wanted to make some curry so I told him my plans and he lead me around, throwing this and that in the basket.

Take a look at what we put together from what was growing!

(You might have to sub out some of the ingredients as he gave me some Balinese herbs that I can't tell you what they are unfortunately but never fear, I'll point it out! It's going to be delicious!)

When we eat locally, we're supporting our neighbors!

I think it's tremendously important to support our community by buying local products. By buying locally, we can encourage the growth of the economy in our area, give our dollars to the families and friends around us, and it fosters a sense of connection that links the network of our lives together.

Know where your food is coming from!

Ideally it's not coming from a container in the bottom of s ship or airplane, picked too early and void of nutrients by the time it gets to you!

Eating local, organic (spray-free), in season foods is the best way to get the most nutrients (and the most delicious) foods for you and your family so I encourage you to grow your own garden if you can and check out the farmer's market in your area and see what's available for you and meet the farmer's behind what's on your plate! ๐Ÿ˜˜


thai curry10.jpg


What you need:


thai curry.jpg


  • 1 onion
  • 1/4 cup shallots
  • 2-3 tbs garlic (I love things extra garlicy)
  • 1-2 tbs fresh ginger
  • 4-5 chillies (depending on type of chili you use and how hot you like it!)

thai curry3.jpg


  • 1 bunch spring onion
  • 1 handful of 'laksa' (this looked to me to be a weed but he said its his favorite herb, it's got a spicy kick to it!)
  • 1 handful of Thai basil
  • 1 handful of 'Indian butter' (this was another 'weed' growing though he doesn't like it at all and I LOVE IT! It's kind of like a soft, big leaf that melts in your mouth and tastes like oregano!)

thai curry4.jpg


Chopped into small pieces

  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 4-5 carrots
  • 2 potatoes

thai curry6.jpg


  • 1 package of organic tempeh (I get all of my tempeh and tofu made from an organic farmer here!)

  • 1 package of mushrooms (1 used woodear)

  • 2 coconuts (use it to make milk with or use premade coconut milk) about 4 cups


thai curry12 (2).jpg


What to do:

  • Cook about 2 cups of rice. (I used forbidden black rice and cooked it with garlic, onion and ginger!)
  • Cut everything into small pieces like the photos above or use a food processor if you don't have much time.
  • If you're making your own coconut milk, chop it open, add the meat to a high speed blender keep adding the water, blending until you get desired consistency. Put aside.

thai curry1.jpg


  • Let the garlic, onion, shallots, chillies and ginger simmer in some coconut oil for about 2 minutes to let their flavors really pop!

thai curry2.jpg


  • Add the coconut milk and let it simmer together, absorbing all the spices.

curry.jpg


  • Add the veggies and herbs in with it and cover on low letting everything blend together.

thai curry7.jpg


  • In a skillet, fry the mushrooms and tempeh in coconut oil with some salt and pepper and green curry powder.

thaicurry 1.jpg


  • Pour the mushrooms and tempeh into the mix.
  • Stir together and taste. If you like it, cover and let simmer together for about 5-10 minutes. Or add in salt and pepper and green curry powder here if you need more oomph!
  • Serve hot with a side of rice!

YUM! Your locally sourced, freshly picked veggie curry is served!

Ok, I had to stop for the coconuts on the side of the road and the rice, and spices were from a previous market day but still, no store necessary! How amazing is that?

I hope this post inspires you to see what's growing and who's growing it in your area!

Bon appetite!๐Ÿ˜˜


thai curry11.jpg


heart thing.png


I truly believe we can heal ourselves through food and it is my mission in life to create and inspire delicious, mouth watering creations that are beneficial and packed full of plant based goodies to fuel our bodies, minds and lives!
Just a friendly reminder to all that I am hosting a very vegan contest click here to see the post explaining how to get involved! Anyone can enter and anyone can win as long as you follow the rules! ๐Ÿ’–

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion. Here are some of my recent additions:


๐Ÿ’Want a FREE Steemit Assistant to Make Your Life MUCH Easier?๐Ÿ’
Your dream has come true- check it out!!


๐ŸŒŽ I Can Show You the World๐ŸŒŽ
๐Ÿ›ถCome Kayaking With Me in Crystal Clear Blue Waters of Maldives!
๐ŸŽจ Wall Art Mind Tricks in Bali!


๐ŸดHungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!๐Ÿด
๐Ÿ Baked Lasagna
๐ŸŠFruits to Make You Feel Your Best!
๐ŸซGo Coco-NUTS for Homemade Creamy, Fudgy Chocolate Bars!
๐Ÿ Mouth Watering, Creamy Cashew Alfredo Pasta Sauce!
๐Ÿž The Ultimate Loaded Breakfast Sandwiches
Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!

XO,
hearttoheart signature.png
me sign off.jpg
signature_1.gif

Sort: ย 

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 21 SBD worth and should receive 105 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Awwwww @trufflepig thank you so much! I really appreciate your analysis of my post. I put my heart into all of my work so it makes me feel amazing to see this :) Thanks again! <3

Patronize your local farmers today. When you patronize them, you encourage local production. Well done my Valentine. You know i am always proud of you. I look forward to the day i start devouring those delicacies.

I think it is so important to support the community :) My farmer always gives me flowers too, it's so sweet. I'd never get that back home in a store! Thanks Valentine :) you'll be eating delicacies soon enough!

They give you flowers? I guess i would gift you a garden full of them. I am excited to know i would habe access to these delicacies soon. Thanks my adorable Valentine.

Wow good food I think,

Tastes so much better when it's straight from the ground! :) Probably helps make the pictures look so good as well!

Definitely fresh fruit/veg/herbs make much better pictures that's for sure! =D

I love food but i'm so attracted to this because it is exceptionally healthy and inviting.

That is what I love to share- food that is delicious and heals at the same time :)

Wow - looks delicious. I can't wait to cook with our local ingredients but must wait until the snow ends and Spring really begins. Thanks for sharing!!!

Awww I'm sorry about the snow, this must be a big tease! Our rain just stopped so I was so excited to finally be able to relish in all the new growth! Our rain is like your snow, it's hard for things to grow but can be done. I moved away from the snow for good reason BUT I miss blueberries and I understand they need frost to come to life so, there's pros and cons <3

If I'm able to get the all the ingredients, i'll try it.
Things around us can be put into good use. Recently, my Mum juiced cashew fruits and she discovered that it helps to stop diarrhea. (Self-test lol)
We'll soon run tests on other people and see the effectiveness. I'll make a post about it soon

Most of it should be easy enough to get, maybe not the weeds (herbs) but otherwise it's a super healing meal! That's really cool that your mom found a natural cure! I think we can do a lot of medicinal healing through foods :)
Let me know when that post is up, I'd love to read it!

I sure will.
Thank you

Wow. I really like the recipe! And I totally agree with you: local food and organic one in it's season is the best for our body! I think this is one of the most important principles in the human's nutrition!

Hey @missdeli! Definitely! I wish that we all had the ability and relationships with our local farmers to have these opportunities. I really support local food buying and sharing and hope that more people will start directing their buying that way :)

O my God, my dear! You, as always, cause a melody in my stomach! But I have a day without food! It's so wonderful that you have the opportunity to buy freshly harvested products from farmers! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜—๐Ÿ˜™๐Ÿ˜š๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

Melody in your stomach? Now that just sounds amazing! <3 Are you fasting today? I'm sorry for rubbing my foods in your face :) I know I feel so blessed to have these farmers here, I don't know what I would do without them!

Yep, that's pretty amazing to make such a beautiful dish all from your neighborhood! Not only is it healthier to have everything in season, but it's wonderful to support your local community! I need to visit the farmers market this Saturday to see what is starting to come available. :)

Oh let me know what wonderful things you have growing in the spring! I like torturing myself with stuff I can't get here lol ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51