You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another Free Hotel Salad - Wild Style! - trees, vines, weeds and a great salad!

in #food7 years ago

I had never heard of eating grape vine or mulberry leaves before. Typically when I forage for wild greens I am looking tender young danilion, plantain, and black berry sprigs, maybe a little sorrel. Most other wild greens that I am aware of have to be boiled to take out the bitter taste and avoid an upset stomach.

Sort:  

You are enjoying some good eating with tender young dandelions and plantain, for sure! And the new blackberry shoots, too. And sorrel is always good! I do blanch and then cook a lot of greens, too. That's delicious.

For me, it depends on the condition of the plants. To extend the spring picking season, I look in shaded areas with good ground moisture, for plants that are 'behind' compared to ones in the sun. I also look in disturbed areas that are well watered, whether it's a garden or just a patch of ground that's gotten rain, to find brand new sprouts. And many edible trees and vines don't become bitter, just tough -- so then I look for the growing tips with the new growth. That can really extend the salad season. And then I can move to the summer greens, like lambsquarter, redroot pigweed, and purslane!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57