Throwback! Homemade Dunkaroos (Cookies + Frosting Dip) (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

How about a little throwback today?!

I was feeling a bit nostalgic all week long and I thought some of you might understand. Plus, it’s Monday and I wanted to share something extra fun to start the week. And then, I thought of dunkaroos and there was just no other option, they had to happen!

Do you guys remember moon shoes and wonder balls? Oh, or betty spaghetti? Ah, the innocent days of Disney channel Xenon marathons and warhead battles in footy jammies, how I miss them sometimes. I’ve never given it much thought, but it’s kind of cool that my generation was born around the turn of the century. I mean, I only experienced a few years of the 90’s but it was plenty for me to feel like I got the full experience. It’s weird to think about the fact that I have younger siblings who never even saw the last century. Wow, that makes me feel old.

Whenever my siblings and I hear our parents mentioning the things that were popular in their childhood that seem so ancient to us we joke about how our kids are going to look at things like vhs tapes and gameboys and think the same thing about us. I can imagine it now, “Mom, you mean you actually had to put a dvd in every time you wanted to watch a movie?” or “How did you survive without wi-fi?”

You kind of had to be there to get some of those things, but at least tell me you these! Dunkaroos were one of those foods that my mom didn’t usually stock our pantry with, and looking back now I can see her wisdom, but as reverse psychology goes that bumped them to the top of the most desirable list. I remember eating them at friend’s houses a few times or maybe trading lunches at school. But what they really remind me of are the days at my grandparents house because I’m pretty sure my Nonnie made it a point to never let her pantry run out of them for us grandkids. They were just one of the foods that seemed so exciting at the time. In all fairness to my mom though, I think a box of saltines would have even been more exciting in Nonnie’s cupboard merely for being there.

I always wondered why they stopped making this favorite snack of my generation. We’ve speculated that it probably had to do with the lack of nutritional value, but if that is the reason I think someone should seriously take the hand of the guy in charge and lead them down the grocery aisles pointing out everything from fruity pebbles to snackables. Hello, clearly there are worse options here.

I tend to be a little bit on the fence sometimes when it comes to a perfectly balanced food pyramid, but I think everyone needs to taste this classic snack at least once in their life. Also, making them at home means they taste so much better than even my memory of the real thing. They are also a really simple and fun thing to make with the kiddos and you can do any shaped cookies that you want. I kind of thought the elephants were 100% adorables but I’m sure if you wanted you could hunt down a kangaroo shaped cookie cutter online to make them as close to the original as possible. I also used homemade sprinkles so these were completely from scratch, but of course any sprinkles will work.

What do you say, don’t the kids of the 21st century deserve this experience? I say bring on the dunkaroos!

(p.s. I always felt they were skimping a little on the frosting to cookie ratio in those little packages, but guess what, making them yourself gives you the power to correct this injustice!!…….)


The recipe is available upon request. The first legitimate request gets an upvote. You must mention Lisbon in your comment

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Chocolate Hazelnut Ricotta Scones with Nutella Glaze (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Slow-Cooked Roast Beef & Mushroom Stroganoff (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Peanut Butter Banana Protein Pancakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Checkered Chocolate & Tahini Layer Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Peanut Butter M&M Jekyll & Hyde Monster Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Simple Sweet Potato Chicken Lunchplate Inspiration (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Creamy Sweet Potato Breakfast Bowl (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Homemade Good Heavens Ice Cream (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. 30-Minute Irish Soda Bread Beer Pretzels (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 


PicMonkey Collage.png

13 DAYS UNTIL I LEAVE FOR STEEMFEST!!


I HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE

Sort:  

I am always amazed by your food photography

These cookies look so amazing!!

I'm glad you like them @fullofhope!

It looks very delicious!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post @pureandluminous

Hi @gringalicious. Will you please share the recipe? My kids will love it

Recipe is posted above @munawar1235, thanks so much for asking

Great one!!!

Thank you so much for that @edgarsart!

wow @gringalicious dankaroos looks really tasty creamy and yummy.
Keep on sharing these tasty foods

Thanks for commenting on my post @hamzayousaf

Looks amazing! Really tasty :D

Thanks for sharing, recipe plz.

I'm glad you like it @marconah!

Another successful display of showing you do not read the posts! Good job @marconah.

Mmmm can I have some :)

Please follow me people!! I'm new but will have consistent content and photography! I will follow also

Childhood memories of such cookies are recalled through your post ....but the idea of frosting dip is new and attractive for me ....this frosting, I have found stuck on the top of these
different shapes of cookies ...well done @gringalicious.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @fatimagull, and I am glad you liked these

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73