STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #38: How to disqualify yourself for the Challenge - a 'FAIL' PoststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I was not in the right frame of mind today when I saw the Steemit Culinary Challenge "Vegan Dishes From Around The Globe." I made so many critical mistakes that did not abide by the challenge rules. Please forgive me, @woman-onthe-wing!

Since there's no way in heaven that my submission would qualify for the contest, I decided to write a FAIL post instead.

So, here's how to create a fail submission for any Steemit Culinary Challenge, by @foodie.warrior.

thumb_IMG_20170815_195922_1024.jpg

° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- °

(1) Don't bother to stick completely within the theme.

The theme for this week's challenge is "Vegan Dishes From Around The Globe", with a clear requirement for a dish that represents your home country by incorporating typically local ingredients! Now for all those multi-nationality kids out there, they have the liberty to mix and match perhaps. This isn't stated in black and white, so an eye could be closed!

However for me, I failed completely. None of the ingredients I used are typical of Singapore except chicken eggs.

NEWS FLASH: VEGANS DON'T EAT EGGS! (In my defence, I did buy Vegan cheese to grate into my salad)

thumb_IMG_20170815_200113_1024.jpg

° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- °

(2) Conveniently photograph only a few steps of your recipe.

It's spelled out here.

"TAKE PHOTOS OF THE STEP-BY-STEP PROCESS in preparing your dish."

I typically do this even for my personal recipe posts that aren't challenge submissions. However, this time round, I'm not sure what possessed me. I overlooked the painstaking photography of each individual step!

thumb_IMG_20170815_195839_1024.jpg

° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- °

(3) Forget to include your Steemit Card Sign in every photo.

As if forgetting to take a photo of every step was not bad enough! I only remembered that I had to include a placard bodyguard in each photo when I was in the middle of mixing up all the ingredients. These two photos that I took before that thought occurred to me look very forlorn, don't they?

thumb_IMG_20170815_200036_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_20170815_195955_1024.jpg

° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- °

(4) Write down "Steemit Culinary Challenge #38", but leave out your dish name.

No explanation necessary. Look at my title, why don't you? ;)

° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- °

(5) Include lots of text, but not the recipe.

I'm not including the recipe because while my Vegan Vegetarian Couscous Salad tasted healthy and edible, I personally did not find it mouthgasmicly good.

° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- °

nice-try.jpg

All in all, very badly done, @foodie.warrior! Better luck to me next time!

P.S. I am by no means proud of my ability to break so many rules without noticing. Neither am I proud of my lack of accurate knowledge on the vegan diet and what it entails. Nevertheless, I want to share my failure for all (me included) to learn from. It would also be a waste of the photos I made and an hour of cookery if I didn't at least post something.

P.P.S. In my credit, I did create a new recipe of my own, and I used the required tags. Two little yay's for me then! :)

Sort:  

Haha oh god... At least you learn from your mistakes!

Seeing the eggs in the first picture while reading ""Vegan Dishes From Around The Globe." in the first paragraph made me laugh before starting to look at the rest of your text :D

Seems like a complex challenge but good luck next time (:

hahaha I was a little afraid that I might offend some vegans with this post #facepalm...fortunately no one has turned out angry as a result, rather the response has remained positive and full of chuckles (a great thing)...whew!

Next time, I will definitely re-read the rules before embarking on the recipe, and not be in such a disorganised rush! hehehe..

Hope your Wednesday is going beautifully, @cobalus! :)

please untag it
its confusing - if its not an entry please don't use the tag
it clutters the homepage of the SCC
i'm looking around for the most creative entry and find a lot of "seemingly entries" but mostly are just tag squatters
anyway, keep joining

Untagged. Sorry for the confusion!

that's great :)
am sure you mean well :)

Did not mean anything bad, that's for sure =P Have a good evening!

And you are already in the future too!!! 15.09.17
It happens it happens!
But amazing post despite that!
Cheers
@progressivechef

LOL I didn't noticed that ahahah maybe that month challenge will be a vegan with egg salad!
BOM #1 right here
hahaha

hahaha that would confuse those who don't know the vegan diet that well even more, I'm sure! Me included :S

What does BOM #1 stand for, btw? :)

haha I LOL-ed when I read your comment..I even got the month wrong!! Omg..the biggest fail on every level..what a confused person I was yesterday! :O

Thanks for the encouragement as usual though, @progressivechef..btw, your entry was stupendously beautiful! Even if mine had followed the rules, it'd stand no chance against yours! But then, I'd still have joined, because it's so fun to do this with friends :))

Not the biggest fail, I would rather call it the Best Fail ever! hahaha!
I hope to find you for the next one!

hehehe you're so sweet :) Thank you! We'll see if the theme is something I understand =D

Haha, oh my god! Everything went wrong here. But it is so amazing that you made this funny and entertaining post about it. Nobody is perfect and we should laugh about our fails more often like you did.

Great post @foodie.warrior! :D

hehe thanks @alinalisa! After the initial embarrassment, I had to laugh at how silly I was. I'm glad the experience at least resulted in a post that gave people a good laugh ;) teehee

OMG! Sorry to laugh at your expense but this was pretty funny. It is your creative humorous writing that makes it so funny. Did you notice that you are already in September? LOL! But I will give you three little yay's for the 'ole college try. Live and Learn! Trust me, this won't be your last little mistake. : )

haha I laughed at myself too, after the initial ???? and self-embarrassment had passed hahaha!

I didn't notice till your and @progressivechef's comments alerted me to it. Really the most confused person in the world yesterday haha..Hoping that my future mistakes will not be such a easy ones!! hehe

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Thanks for dropping by, @mandolincarls!

Hahahha, shame! Sometimes things just don't go the way you plan.

A little while ago, I was painstakingly writing down each step of a recipe, photographing every move I made, and just being very attentive in general. It was a new idea I had had, and so I hadn't made the dish before.

It had all the elements to be a great dish, but somehow something was not quite right, and I, too, experienced a dish that was not completely mouthgasmicly good ☹️

All that work for nothing!

We win some and we lose some, eh Foodie Warrior?

Aww poor dear...you're not alone even on that level! Each of my posted recipes have been made at least 2-3 times to get the desirable ratio of ingredients (to me, that is). That's why in my IntroYourself Post, I wrote that I held a certificate from the School of Amateur Cooking Experiments. Hehe

This one was one that had just too many fail points in it though..but since you put in so much painstaking effort, I'd say why not upload a FAIL post for that one too? I, for one, would love to read it :)) Even a princess can make mistakes ;)

Hehehe! Noooo! I t was not tasty at all! I couldn't.

Thanks for always supporting my posts! Xx

You're welcome! <3

Lol, at least you admit your mistake! I must say the recipe looks absolutely delicious though.

I had to laugh at @progressivechef's comment too. I am ROFLing now!

We'll give you a free pass on this day. The future @foodie.warrior was discombobulated from the time travel.

hehe I ROFL-ed at @progressivechef's comment too!! What a confused person I was!! hahahah

Thanks for the excuse and the free pass, @lexikon082! ;) Sure does make sense teehee

wow, this looks delicious my dear yummy lady, upped.

welcome

Hey, if you learned a thing or two in the process, it's not a failure. Good luck next time.

P.S. It looks delicious.

Thanks @gurney! :) Good point. Will def reread the rules before I ever do another submission ;)

that looks good though

Thanks for your vote of confidence @doitvoluntarily! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45