I made an authentic indian curry!!

in #food6 years ago

This is the time of the year, when it is way to hot to cook indoors most of the time. Nearly all Bulgarian homes in villages, have cooking facilities outside. I always thought that it was just to enjoy the nice summer weather, but no it really is because it is far too hot indoors.

Our Summer kitchen is a godsend, all that is left to do is to get power to it and water then we can use it from dawn to dusk for everything including making tea and coffee. The other half an I were chatting about what to make this year, and deciding to get a little bit more creative.

I have been taking a keen interest from other steemians such as @cooknbake and @thekitchenfairy. Who regularly post delightful dishes, which for me are winners because their quick and simple and easy to do.

We British have a love of indian food.

IMG_2059.JPG

One thing we both miss is authentic indian food. Back in the UK there were plenty of places with indian food was readily available, all over the country. Here however in Bulgaria, indian is available but sadly not here. So we talked about being able to make some indian food for ourselves.

I remembered being told a recipe for authentic punjab chicken curry, and I tried to recall the ingredients. I believed that I was able to make this for us so I decided to try it last night.

Here is how I made it.

1kg of good lean beef
2 onions roughly chopped
5 cloves of garlic chopped.
4 Large tomatoes coarsley chopped
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp cumin.
Fresh coriander.
3 fresh green chilli peppers chopped finely.
salt and pepper.

Time to cook 7 and a half hours.

Here is the secret first, you need to get your beef tender, so I diced the beef up and put it in a slow cooker, with the garam masala and turmeric, with a little water and oil. I left it on medium heat for 6 hours to marinade the meat and soak in the flavours.

Once the meat is cooked, take a large pan and a little oil, add onions and garlic to the pan and let them cook down, then add your tomatoes and stir occasionally. Add in ginger and cumin then the chilli's and continue to let cook for about 5 minutes.

Then take the meat and juices from the slow cooker and add to the mixture, reduce to a simmer stirring occasionally leave it for a good 35 minutes. Then chop up the coriander and add it, the coriander is what really gives it the authentic taste so don't be sparse with it you have to but a good amount of it into the curry, add salt and pepper to the mixture.

Continue letting it simmer for about another twenty minutes by then the smell should be driving you crazy. Once it was ready we served it up with some fries and rice and our friend had made some pitta breads to go with it also.

IMG_2060.JPG

Now if you are like me and you don't like your curry spicy hot three chilli's will be enough to give it a nice kick, but not enough to make it too hot. But if that is still too hot for you just go with 1 and a half chilli's, you need the flavour of the chilli in there and it would not be too hot to eat for you.

IMG_2062.JPG

So there you have it folks a wonderful authentic curry to try to make, which was super easy to cook and I will be having it again for sure in the near future. If you decide to try this recipe do let me know how you got on.

Thank you for reading

xoxo

The STEEM Engine

ASAPERS

My Achievements on Steemit

Sort:  

Indian? Beef? Really? NVM. I may cook Indian food tonight (but with chicken). We LOVE Indian food. But we want ours hot enough to bring tears to your eyes -- and a tissue to your nose. So don't plan on eating at our house. We love you anyway, you Crazy Man, you!! (Waiting to upvote you until my VP is recovered some. I'll be back. You know me.)

The-STEEM-Engine

In the UK indian food is made with three types of meat, chicken, beef or lamb. Chicken and pork are widely available and we don't often cook with beef I don't eat a lot of red meat but you can use chicken in the recipe absolutely. Lol I love you guys too thank you for keeping me on that crazy road.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.36$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

That looks so good. I love curry and chips. I like how you marinade the meat in the slow cooker.

It really makes all the difference I don't think I would have needed to have done it if I was using chicken but beef absolutely slow cook it first. Maybe lamb also yes actually the same with lamb.

That looks amazing! I make Tikka Masala about once a week! The hubs can eat Vindaloo as well but I am a baby and can't even eat Flaming Hot Cheetos so that's a no go for me. I had never even eaten Indian food prior to meeting hubs, but he is English and got me hooked haha! I want more food posts! They're great! :)

I am the same as you when it comes to heat now I can have it with a kick but thats my limit, you can use less chilli in it, what I do is grow chilli's and let them dry out then people can add extra chilli on their dish if they wish to have more heat. I will post up more food posts promise.

I really love the engagement on this post, it's been such fun reading the banters. 7 hours cooking time is a bit scary for me, but hey, the dish looks really good and I dont doubt it's as yummy!

To be honest its more slow cooking the meat because its beef if it were chicken you would not need such a long cooking time.

This looks so yummy! And nice summer kitchen! Could you please email me some? Thanks.

Sure Artemis sending some your way now it was amazing the friends for an hour after sat there saying oh that was a wonderful curry.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:19:32
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 30.25/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for using lean beef. The Reality TV Food Network constantly pushes 80/20 on its viewers. Turns my stomach.

There are some meats i personally believe that fat is essential but beef produces its own liquid which it cooks in and does not require the extra fat.

Always wanted to try Indian food. Maybe will have to look into this recipe and give it a shot. Thanks @crazybgadventure

Please do @robertandrew I was always hesitant about using spices but to be honest its really easy and it was amazing the coriander (cilantro) makes all the difference thats what makes it more authentic.

Kudos to you @crazybgadventure!! I always think it is not easy to make Indian curry, especially from scratch. It looks delish!!! Not just British love curry, we Malaysian go crazy for it too!!!

I did not know that, but that makes a lot of sense, I saw a recipe the other day to do with the rice cooking it in coconut milk I would like to try that next time.

@crazybgadventure you got it bang on 👍 although i am not meat eater with ocasional chicken sometimes...the prerp is trully as per indian dishes..👌 spicy spice up the taste and we indians do like all the spices...hope you enjoyed it completelly...not sure which masala you have used make sure to buy MDH brand...thay are good

You know I was really nervous incase someone who is indian came along and said I did it wrong, but you just boosted my confidence massively. The garam masala I can't really remember what type it was but I did get it from an indian supermarket when I was in the uk. What I found very interesting is it tasted ok but when I added the coriander wow the difference it makes is unreal is that the secret???

Hahah..there are many secrets 😉 i will share chicken recepie which my sister prepare...you wont stop licking your finger...i bet!....on my next visit i will make a post on it....

Wow yes please do I am so looking forward to trying to cook many other dishes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43