The Bitter Avocado Experience

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Well, I did some kind of experiment yesterday, I think that's why it made me sick this morning. That or I just lacked sleep again that's why I woke up to a headache/stuffy nose for some reason.

So take a look at this cooking experiment.
IMG_20180410_122114.jpg

Can you guess what it is? No?

How about this one...
592924_gallery_5ac2a6f5b9abc_jpg.jpg

Seem familiar now? I bet the next photo will be much more recognizable to you.

Screenshot_2018-04-11-23-49-57-823_com.UCMobile.intl.jpg

So I guess now you know. See it's color? Well am not an avocado expert but I just realized yesterday that if it's that green, even if the seed inside can be heard moving when you shake it then it's still not ripe yet.

I ate some bitter avocado a week or so ago but I didn't get sick.

Out of curiosity I cooked the avocado seed. I boiled it a bit then the water turned purple. Oh that was interesting. How can the water turn purple just because of a seed?

Didn't think anything of it so once the water dried I kinda fried the seed. I halved it of course.

Anyway I didn't taste it afterwards but I was guessing it wouldn't taste good so I just put it in the refrigerator.

Then the other day I opened the other avocado and it was still kinda bitter, but not like the first one.

And then I cooked the seed again. I took out the first cooked seed and tasted it.

Have you ever eaten solid beer? Yeah that's how it tasted like after a while minus the alcohol. Apparently you have to take out or remove the bitterness if you want to cook it and eat it.

The texture when cooked is just like castañas maybe, like a harder sweet potato or something. It's not peanuty in texture at all. When you slice it, it doesn't break down like a sweet potato does, it's soft and kinda hard at the same time. It's not potatoey either.

I added some salt and soy sauce and vinegar to it while cooking but the bitter taste still didn't disappear. 😂

Whatever.

Boy I must have too much time on my hands again. But I was doing the cooking in between posting and making Steemit articles yesterday like an intermission break.

Tell me how many I posted yesterday. Hahaha.



So am guessing partially eating/ingesting "beer" made me sick? Or maybe I'm just finding something else to blame. Haha.

Never did any research before doing my cooking experiment so it's all good.

Hello cooked avocado seeds. Won't be wasting any gas, time and energy on you anymore in the future. 😂 It was fun meeting you though but your flavor is no fun.

IMG_20180410_122114.jpg

XOXO,
@artgirl

P.S. Don't forget to join my Draw your previous Steemit Post Pet/Animal Contest! Draw that animal/pet photo you previously posted on Steemit and get a chance to win some SBD! :D Contest sponsors are also welcome!


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.

Images are mine.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also a sales person. Currently an agent for resort-type condo communities in Metro Manila.
For any art or property inquiries, you can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



For more of my latest posts still within the 7 day period upon posting this, do check below:











For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

thanks for trying, I always wondered if the seed is edible.

I hear people grind them up and use them to make seed flour.

Haha good thing it wasn't poisonous, maybe. Oh, what's a seed flour? Maybe I'll just Google it. 😂

A 2 yr old article said it's not supposed to be eaten indeed. 😂

Will check more on the flour thing. I still have one more seed still inside the remaining avocado. 😂😂😂

Now I will do some online research first before doing any experiment. Haha.

That article just says not alot is known about it. I think as long as the seed is not rotten its okay, and when you use it as flour it would be used in such small amounts it wouldnt be dangerous. Its sold on amazon with good reviews so I guess its legit. But of course do your own research.

Yeah seed flour is made from grinding up seeds so you can cook with it as a corn flour substitute.

I wrote a long post about this experiment and the seed. hahaha. Am not sure what the best time to post it here though. :D

My mouth started watering, not because it looked good, but that thing that happens before you throw up. Thanks for taking the guess work out for some, but yeah, definitely wait until the avocado is ripe before you eat it.

Hahaha. 😂😂😂

The last one is ripe now. I can eat it tmro maybe.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You are insane!

It looks tasty, but it could be poisonous!

I suppose that in the beginning people would do the same to differentiate the edible from the inedible...

Hahaha. Well you know, curiosity is such a cat killer. Eherm. Haha.

Nakakaloka 😂

Wlakasakin. Wahahaha. Char lang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54