@allaboutpastries: Natural Yeast Starter - a Process in 'Real Time' for Everyone to Participate In. Plus, More of Your Interesting Posts.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I posted a 'Challenge' to all you bread makers out there.  Why don't we all make a 'Natural Yeast Starter' from scratch?  I will begin my starter and post images of the process for you all to follow.  Then, over the next few days, I will regularly post images of how my starter is progressing, and any further actions I have to take.  

I  hope that some of you will participate and post on your progression.  If you place a link  to your post in the comments below, I can promote them in my future posts.  So let us begin......

Weigh out the 50g (1/4cup/2 ozs) of strong bread flour into a small bowl.

Add sufficient cold water to make a thickish 'slurry'.  (I added a little too much water but at this stage it really doesn't matter.  Don't make it too dry though as it will take much longer to activate.  About twice the thickness shown is ideal).

Whisk the cold water into the flour to make a 'slurry' (paste).

Pour into a large clean jam jar.

Put a loose breathable cover on the jar and mark your 'fill to' line.

The process has begun!

As I work on having an active starter that is ready to use at 12 hours.  I will post every 12 hours so that you can see the progression of mine.  You don't have to do so, just post an image when something significant happens to yours.

I live in Almeria Province, Spain and the temperature is 40 degrees C today.  Even though my rented Cortijo has thick walls and is significantly cooler inside, it is still warm.  I therefore expect my starter to fly much quicker than others in more temperate climates.  We shall see though.  

It will be so embarrassing if mine does not work.....I have faith though, and some experience having done this process before, albeit in 'cold, wet and windy North Yorkshire, England!

Interesting Posts

I cannot finish this without promoting several interesting posts I have viewed recently,  so here they are below, with my love.  Just click on the highlighted blue name and you will be taken straight to the post.

@christking posted a beautifully photographed, step by step image instructions on making this delicious looking soup.  I will definitely be trying the recipe.

@foodie.warrior gives us a recipe for lemon grass and ginger tea.  I love these refreshing drinks either hot, or cold with plenty of ice.  Yum, yum!

@fotoinviaggio has highlighted my absolute favourite pasta dish.  You would not believe how something so simple and with so few ingredients, could taste sublime.

@cake-lady-jen gives us a old family favourite cake recipe.  I have made a similar one in the past and can highly recommend it to you.  An end image would have been good but, hey ho, next time perhaps?

Finally ........

 @goldenbrown .  This post is completely different.  I read this young man's intro post and was very touched by his story.  He is going to do a daily diary of his experiences as a Heroin Addict.  He writes beautifully and takes excellent photographs, his dog is cute too!  Please follow him, he is worth the effort, and a star of the future I think!

Please take part in my Community Project. Place a link to your post in the comments box below if you would like your recipe to be included.  

In the meantime keep 'Posting' interesting content, as all I want to do is:

and:

as well as:

As often as I can!

   



Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by matthewtiii from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I am going to try this. Does this replace the yeast?

Yes it is the yeast! It will take a couple of weeks to activate fully, then we can use it to make bread with. That will be the next real time challenge, using the starter to make bread.....good eh! X

Sounds great! Thanks

Oh I see! Do you add extra flour again to make the bread in a few weeks? I'll keep on following along to see how you starter turns out!

Yes it can take a couple of weeks to activate from scratch to be in a position to make bread with it. Thanks for your interest. X

PS I love how you link to other steemians in your posts. You would be most welcome over at #minnowsupport . Please us at PAL Discord server. It's all about people helping people. I think you would enjoy. Cheers!

I am a real clux where steemit is concerned. I have tried to get on but when I get to the stage of paying I don't know where to go or how to pay. A step by step instructions would be good for 'wrinkles' like me! X

Absolutely love this! Is that seriously how you do the starter? It seems so easy!
And then just...wait?

And do you just keep a little bit of it every time you bake it?

Love your clip, absolutely fantastic. You keep refreshing as the yeast uses up the food source and bacteria grows. This gives the flavour to the bread, the bacteria......sour dough! Adding more flour each time allows the yeast to multiply and get stronger. When the yeast starter requires refreshing below 12 hours, it is strong enough to bake bread with. I like it to be 8 hours though then I know it is very active. Then you take a good portion of it to make the bread with. Not like the packets of yeast I am afraid. Keeping back a small portion to reactivate for the next lot of bread you want to make. This activation with a strong starter takes about 12 - 24 hours depending on conditions. I hope this clarifies Sour Dough Starter, aka, Natural Yeast Starter. X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50