Young John, Adrift in a Pirate Ship: Finish the Story Contest #35

in #finishthestory6 years ago

Young John Pixabay.jpg


The ship shuddered. Smoke filled the dank chamber and water leaked through the ceiling. John guessed these were the last impressions he'd have before his death.

Wither had locked him in, had bound his hands and feet. A punishment, because the boy refused to join in killing during their last raid.

"I'll make a pirate of you yet, Young John," Wither had boasted. "Or I'll make a corpse of you."

The boy couldn't see the vessel that was sending cannon fire their way, but he welcomed the assault. His situation couldn't get worse. Either he'd fall once again into the hands of pirates, or he'd be rescued by pirate hunters.

A third possibility, that he would perish in a sinking ship, held no terror for him. Of all the ways he imagined he might die, drowning and resting at the bottom of the sea seemed most peaceful.

Footsteps overhead scrambled chaotically as a cannonball found its mark. Water gushed into his prison chamber and flooded the compartment. A devastating blow must have been inflicted on the ship. Through the tumult, the captain remained steely. Her commanding voice rang over agonized screams of the wounded.

"To your posts. Meet your fate like pirates or meet you fate as cowards at my hand. Either way you fight till the breath is gone from you. And if I hear a prayer to God, I will finish you on the spot."

The boy, known since his imprisonment as Young John, was all of 13. He'd been recruited as a seaman's servant. His career at sea was the result not of ambition, but of a gnawing in his belly. And a magistrate's warning.

John had been found guilty of petty theft, stealing muffins from a baker's shelf. The magistrate was quite clear. John's path would lead inevitably to the gallows, unless he chose another way. Commit to serve on a ship for several years.

And so John became a seaman.

The flyboat on which he served was fast, but lightweight, no match for pirates. They boarded and slaughtered all on board, except the young lad they thought might be pressed into their own service. It was in this way that he found himself prisoner on a sinking pirate ship.

Shouting up top grew frantic. A musket sounded close, and loud. Then the captain's voice. "Cowards. To your stations. By my musket, or in the sea, your lives end today."

The boy knew then with certainty that his end would be deep in the fathomless ocean. He thought upon his mother, who had been good to him, as much as her means allowed. He thought of the young brother and sister. What would they hear of his fate? Likely nothing.

His name would be erased, the memory of his brief life eclipsed by their own adventures.

Young John, in his watery chamber, relished the one liberty none of the pirates on deck would enjoy. Death, accepted calmly, with a prayer on his lips.




accent accent.jpg



My brief story is a suggested conclusion to a lively pirate scene, Pirate Hunters, written by @theironfelix. His 'beginning' to my story may be found below. Young John is my entry in Week # 35 of @f3nix's Finish the Story Contest, sponsored by the @bananafish.

Drop in on other writers in this week's contest and you will discover more possibilities. This is the intrinsic charm of finish the story. One writer offers a beginning, throws down a sort of challenge. The rest of us have to come up with a creative conclusion. Sounds interesting? Join us next week! All you need is enthusiasm and imagination.



pirate ship accent.jpg

**A historical note about the inspiration behind the character, Young John. During the Seven Years War between England and France (1756-1763) it was the custom to recruit boys as young as 13 to serve on English ships. There was a shortage of seamen and 'recruiting' youth seemed a reasonable solution, at least to members of the Marine Society. They felt that poor youth who were without purpose would be removed from the streets and given direction, while at the same time essential crew members would be provided to the navy.





So, without further ado, here is the dynamic pirate scene that gave rise my Young John character:

pirate ship pixabay.jpg

Pirate Hunters

by @theironfelix

Boots calmly walked towards an open window-hatch, a bottle of rum is lowered down onto the sill. Upon the placement, the pirate places his scarred-induced hands on his wailing back and pushes.

“Argh! Me back be free of this wretched ache! Well, guess I learned a lesson: take a break when the Cap’n says so. Welp, time to rest...”

Taking his cue, the sill creaked in annoyance as the pirate’s body self-inquired the best resting position while perched on a sill. With a hairy arm supporting his night-colored beard, he spent his leisure-time mentally capturing the seas itself. There the familiar specs of white dots danced about the blue sky; he gasped before slowly releasing the captured air, he remembered how deep in the seven seas the ship was. With the mind returning to boredom, his eyes scanned under the blue sky.

“Ah poor ship, how these blue, blue, waves harass yah. I can hear yer wails, but I judge not. And even when the harassment be over, the aches only then take over; yet only can I respond with ‘such is life’... Huh, what be a ship in these waters be doing here? Where’s me spotting scope!”

The boots thus began a chaotic dance recital; the arms took the center stage as it flailed around to uncover the hidden telescope. As the telescope may have enjoyed the scene, it soon squeaked loud upon the firm clasp on its metallic skin. The pirate returned to the window-hatch and his arms stretched the telescope wide-wards. Eyeing in on the odd element, his eyes darted around to find any friendly symbol but soon froze.

“Oh me Flyin’ Dutchman! We’ve been tracked! Hey ho! Sound the alarm, pirate hunters come and in full-mast they set sail towards us!”

Whatever wail the ship can ever muster, the cacophonies of a hundred bodies darting around alone had easily drowned out such sorrows. The pirate unsheathed his sword, the sun’s naïve light touched and bounced off the sword. Sheathing his sword, he unholstered his flintlocks and his arms helped his eyes scan such. Cocking and holstering them, his body emerged from his room and joined in the traffic of the workplace as pirate bodies shuffled and kicked around to ready on their position. Albeit the humidity would’ve granted a hasty rest through stroke, the adrenalin surging about the bodies had protected them from unwanted advances of humidity.

Finally getting to the deck, he about-faced and attempted advancing towards the Captain’s spot. However, the Captain echoed:
“Brace!”

And the pirate mass dropped dead and clung hard to any support they could find; as soon the ship screeched thanks the holes formed from the steel cannon-shots who mercilessly ripped through her. With that, the pirate mass resumed its circuitry and soon he met with the Captain; he screamed:
“Madame! I’m here, let me take over the steering and yah the commandin’!”

“Finally yer here, Wither! Please, they be gainin’ too much ground. So steer us towards oure enemy! And when we get close, steer us parallel to their starboard side and avoid portside! Today, I must accept my bounty and let them hath none of it!”

“Cap’n oh Cap’n! Are yah mad?”

“Mad? No! Blimey, avoid their hull Wither!”

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.983704921039615
This post was voted: 61.62%

Thank you!!

I'm torn in two, because on one side I like very much odd points of view and original outcomes, and I don't like battle scenes, but on the other side I feel this story is hopeless. Young John is sentenced to death...I'm a sentimental and I like happy ends! Nice writing, thus!

Thank you @marcoriccardi for the compliment. The story didn't sentence him to death--the Marine Society did. I couldn't get that out of my mind, all the young boys who were sent to war merely because they had no resources. The most I could do in the story was give the child a peaceful death.
Maybe because I'm a mother it really bothered me.

Ah, poor lil' Johny. He never gotten the chance to see the piratin' life other than the butts of swords from his British colonials and the screams of pirates. He never seen had blerrie it could get, but the camaraderie ever tasteful. He never would see his age ripen to think how his actions had consequences and how accursed life could get.

I like to think that in between @dirge's ending that this is as well is happening. Since the pirates are just now gaining control of the fight and managed to trick the hunters into thinking they won the hand. But also the fact this might be happening in the meanwhile of @marcoriccardi's ending equally. With the fact the boy thinks right, or wrongly, the hunters will save if they board on time. Regardless, it could easily fit in @stever82's ending as well; that being the lass Cap'n knows the ship is sinking and will anyways swap ships even if she doesn't transfer the prisoners over.

Anyways, I like this post and the fact we can see other parts of the ship alive. That being, this ending implies a sinister ending that the three could easily either enact or deny with how they phrased the ending scene. Upvot'd and resteem'd.

Stirrin'.GIF

Thank you, @theironfelix, for your tolerant view. I think the charm of this contest is how different points of view come together, and contrast. Makes life interesting, doesn't it? That was a rousing prompt that deserved a full-throated conclusion.

I liked the historical insight. With you, my friend, I allow myself to keep some more degree of sincerity: I found your second "begin the story" experiment less engaging than the first one. @theironfelix's cliffhanger demanded a continuation but I've found your first part also a bit less immersive than usual (show don't tell rule). I hope that you'll read my comment as a constructive critic, which is what it is 😉 Having said this, the story is accurate and polished. A quality piece who receives its value from the research behind it and the pleasant change of perspective.

Ah, @bananafish--you go to the heart of my dilemma this week.
I would not be a pirate, and I would not engage in battle. At my age, you get an idea of what you will or will not do. However, I did want to support finishthestory by writing a piece. So I threw myself on my sword, recognizing that my story would be out of step.
Still, I think every voice (that is positive) adds to the creative environment. My dissonance, I believe, added something to the mix. My young John offered a different perspective on piracy and battle.
There were more creative ways to go....@michaias rendered the battlers mad. @marcoriccardi had the forces for good on the prowl. Each of them, though, engaged in the fray. Not me. My heart was elsewhere, with the consequences of violence.
I do appreciate your sincerity. Always feel free--that sincerity gives me another opportunity to explain why violence, battles, and war are never glamorous, in my view.
I add here: One of the best things about the Bananafish realm: It is peaceful :)

There were many fine entries this week but yours edged them out as my favorite. For all of my love of pirate tales, it is true that many suffered greatly at their hands. Your tale of young John, bound and left to the mercy of the chaos happening around him, brought in a completely different viewpoint. Through the other stories, I was rooting for the pirates and then you had to go and get me teary eyed, hoping for the hunters to win and rescue the boy.

Then:

Young John, in his watery chamber, relished the one liberty none of the pirates on deck would enjoy. Death, accepted calmly, with a prayer on his lips.

Oh, @brisby, I think you and I may be kindred spirits. Thank you so much. I stumbled upon him. So many of those boys were named John. I was researching, looking for an angle and then I came upon the horrible story of boys sent to war--because they were poor and had no one to protect them. I'm still angry at the people who sent those boys to war.
Meeting people like you on Steemit is what makes the experience worthwhile for me...plus I really like to write :)

I think we may be. I had to laugh and run to grab my phone for a photo when I read that you were researching because:

I love research!

Though, it is an addiction that has cost me sleep. I'll spend so much time reading and heading off on interesting tangents and when I finally come up for air it's to play with my kids, work or some such.

Those poor children! (I'm completely there with you on the anger.) I truly can't wrap my mind around the "logic" of arming a child and sending them off to fight battles adults began.

I'm happy to have met you as well! 🤗 I also have to agree with you again. No matter how much money could be made on here, if the only interactions available were with dullards, scammers, baiters and scammers, it wouldn't be worth it to stay.

Speaking of great people (yeah, I mean YOU), you may get on well with my friend, Whatisnew. She's a genuine lady who has great wit, lovely rhymes (sometimes more along the lines of hilarious), a cute cat, and one hell of a sense of humor.

Oh, and if you live in the general area that I think you do, keep warm - they say there's a snowstorm on it's way.

Ah, a mother. That explains it. I, not only a mother but a grandmother. A double whammy. I will check out Whatisnew. Love the handle. I'll see you around @brisby, here and elsewhere on Steemit.

I was drawn into this story through your character. He was trapped, and in a desperate situation, and his personality was intriguing: not a master, not a weakling, but full of potential. Wanting to see where that potential would go, is what made me continue reading.

Thank you, @dirge. Not a dynamic story, but I'm glad you liked the character. I cared about him, and I guess that came through.

Finally got the chance to read this Finish. Learned something while being entertained.

I know the story was a bit serious... sorry. I tried to be true to the pirate tale and be true to my own response at the same time. This is what happened. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Oh this is such a thoughtful take, so many young teens, well, children, were pressed into service and there is so little record of what happened to any of them. The ending is so touching, the young lad, real name unknown, reflecting on his fate, but able to accept it, while overhead fear and terror reigned. I just had this image of a sinking ship of panic, with a single bubble of calm, holding out against the storm. By keeping the boy more anonymous, his memories that of most young boys faced with such a moment, it feels like the story of countless nameless, children, lost, and forgotten by all but their mothers, who never knew their demise. Really beautiful!

Thank you so much. I know this piece is rather an odd duck in the midst of rousing pirate tales, but it's what I imagined when I thought of a sea battle. I have a little problem understanding the glory of war, of bloodshed, of battle...for some reason I can't get past the casualties. Apologies for being serious :)

No praying. Got it.

John's death sounded good. He is not a man to fear death.

When I read about the boys who were sent to sea, it broke my heart. So, that's how the story came about.

interesting. There is a lot of pain around this issue.

Congratulations @agmoore! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @agmoore! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51