You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Young John, Adrift in a Pirate Ship: Finish the Story Contest #35

Ah, poor lil' Johny. He never gotten the chance to see the piratin' life other than the butts of swords from his British colonials and the screams of pirates. He never seen had blerrie it could get, but the camaraderie ever tasteful. He never would see his age ripen to think how his actions had consequences and how accursed life could get.

I like to think that in between @dirge's ending that this is as well is happening. Since the pirates are just now gaining control of the fight and managed to trick the hunters into thinking they won the hand. But also the fact this might be happening in the meanwhile of @marcoriccardi's ending equally. With the fact the boy thinks right, or wrongly, the hunters will save if they board on time. Regardless, it could easily fit in @stever82's ending as well; that being the lass Cap'n knows the ship is sinking and will anyways swap ships even if she doesn't transfer the prisoners over.

Anyways, I like this post and the fact we can see other parts of the ship alive. That being, this ending implies a sinister ending that the three could easily either enact or deny with how they phrased the ending scene. Upvot'd and resteem'd.

Stirrin'.GIF

Sort:  

Thank you, @theironfelix, for your tolerant view. I think the charm of this contest is how different points of view come together, and contrast. Makes life interesting, doesn't it? That was a rousing prompt that deserved a full-throated conclusion.

I liked the historical insight. With you, my friend, I allow myself to keep some more degree of sincerity: I found your second "begin the story" experiment less engaging than the first one. @theironfelix's cliffhanger demanded a continuation but I've found your first part also a bit less immersive than usual (show don't tell rule). I hope that you'll read my comment as a constructive critic, which is what it is 😉 Having said this, the story is accurate and polished. A quality piece who receives its value from the research behind it and the pleasant change of perspective.

Ah, @bananafish--you go to the heart of my dilemma this week.
I would not be a pirate, and I would not engage in battle. At my age, you get an idea of what you will or will not do. However, I did want to support finishthestory by writing a piece. So I threw myself on my sword, recognizing that my story would be out of step.
Still, I think every voice (that is positive) adds to the creative environment. My dissonance, I believe, added something to the mix. My young John offered a different perspective on piracy and battle.
There were more creative ways to go....@michaias rendered the battlers mad. @marcoriccardi had the forces for good on the prowl. Each of them, though, engaged in the fray. Not me. My heart was elsewhere, with the consequences of violence.
I do appreciate your sincerity. Always feel free--that sincerity gives me another opportunity to explain why violence, battles, and war are never glamorous, in my view.
I add here: One of the best things about the Bananafish realm: It is peaceful :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45