Frozen II (2019): Viewer Timestamp Commentary (Prime)

in #film4 years ago

Similar to its predecessor...it's the rare musical that has a presence in my viewing list (7/10).

-

-

-

-

-

Before you scroll down and read this post. Know that the information below would likely contain spoilers from 'Frozen 2'.

-

-

-

-

-

-


My history on doing Timestamp Commentary dates back to Season 5 of 'Homeland'. The reception to the idea had positives and negatives. I stuck with it for a couple of episodes, then moved to Tumblr (the home of 'the fan'). While on Tumblr I held off sharing my whole commentary, and just left it for readers who initially enjoyed reading my posts and requested it directly. This brings us to my decision to keep them on Steemit and just refer to them on Tumblr once they have been published.

If you are keen to watch along with me, I look forward to your commentaries! You can send them to me directly or comment with the link (to yours...even if it's published on another platform) below.

Format: Timestamp - Scene summary - Your commentary/reactions/dance inspirations...

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

(Just making sure the content is adequately hidden to give you time to close this window --- hold off before returning to view the rest of the post!)

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-------------------------------------------------------------------

8:34Anna approaches Olaf laying down on a picnic blanket – I guess it's the magic of the whole thing to imagine that Olaf is the reason for the whole film...and a whole film with him....is just enough. Good thing that hasn't happened...yet. But if it did...I'm very hopefull that the 'Pixar Process' infused Disney team would be able to figure out the best version of the story.

9:24Anna sings – As someone who's outgrown musicals (though maybe I haven't ---- because isn't 'Begin Again' sort of a musical?)...I couldn't really articulate the line in which I wouldn't be able to watch a film that had this kind of singing.

9:57Anna catches and nuzzles Olaf – Ah....am I counting myself among those who's 'life list' includes cuddling with Olaf? Has there been a mascot Olaf?

10:16 - Kristoff starts singing – Maybe this is the most I could go? Or maybe this is where the reviews are 'sort of' right? It feels like unnecessary exposition (or at least it could just go for a couple of seconds)...but then...the upside is...if I were responsible taking a handful of 10-year-old girls to the cinema to watch this...I mean...I probably can't complain. I guess this is sort of made for them.

11:22Olaf tosses the fish back into the water – Um....has Olaf been told where it goes next?

13:17Olaf rearranges enabling Kristoff to guess in seconds – Bummer that this isn't a Blu-Ray...as I would be wishing that I could see that scene where they attempted to play charades...but Olaf isn't able to read yet.

18:09Elsa sings – I think I get it....to me...this one crosses (just a bit over) into melodrama. That's why it probably doesn't appeal (or I don't actively look for films that use this approach).

21:18The kids stick crystals onto Olaf's face and head – And....that's it. As long as there is balance...and that one thing (specific kind of singing?) doesn't go on too long. I would still consider my purchase a win (which is a bummer that it's kind of a no-return scenario isn't it?).

23:32 - Olaf gleefully bounds in and out of the shot wearing an ice crystal skirt, skimpy top, and a tiara – Oh...Olaf. You are just precious!

24:12Olaf rattles trivia while they travel – Why do I get the feeling that 'Men get hit by lightning...' is true because....it's a statistic that until now....men are likely the ones who venture out (shall we count adolescents?) during risky weather. Still...true or not....I wonder where Olaf found this information. Is it because of the Internet? An app downloaded just for trivia? Or science journals?

(I mean: 'water memory, 'lightning hits', 'daily blink rate'...? That sounds like....well....Olaf couldn't be binging 'Cash Cab' or 'Jeopardy'....)

25:30Olaf walks bleary eyed – Another thing we didn't know we needed: sleepy Olaf!

26:48Olaf muses on what happens next – Whoa! Was that Olaf referencing a 'trope'!? Or was that a wink to LOTR?

29:22Olaf laughs at himself – Whoa! This was it! Now to find that post that referred to this scene. Oh....who is writing family friendly films for Josh Gad to run free in!!!??

29:44Olaf gets a couple of close calls – Is the forest being cheeky!? Hehehe....

(Oh! I think I get it now...Because Olaf was conjured by Elsa....he has a connection to the forest spirits....and that 'Samantha' thing...even if it's an unintentional improv by Josh....ended up being the name of the spirit? Or at least the antagonist? Because...in a way....Olaf is in tune with what's happening....and at one point probably crossed paths with Samantha?)

35:12Olaf gives the newbies a bit of a primer – Come on! Really!? If people knew....I mean....this is just hilarious. Well done writing and team (and Josh Gad).

35:27Jump Cut to Olaf telling the part of the parent's death – Looks like the film inched from a 7 to an 8. Geez. If someone asked me what dark humour is. There we go. Exhibit A.

42:08More singing – And we are just halfway. The writing team sure cracked this story. I hope. Why am I now worried that the ending wouldn't be as awesome and satisfying!?

45:49Olaf tries to put out the fire salamander – Is that a playful fire?

49:33two shots of Kristoff singing – Okay...back to 7 again...I guess. But why!? I mean...when Sven nodded towards the direction of where (presumably) Olaf, Anna, and Elsa went....I would have been okay with the singing....while on his journey. But...this? I mean...are the animators being cheeky? Isn't this a bit like paying homage to 80's pop ballads (and the music videos they represent)?

50:18 - Kristoff continues singing – And it even is mixed like a 80's Pop ballad! Isn't that the signature muted snare sound?

51:11 - A 'spotlight' shines on Kristoff – Is it just my imagination...or...is this the longest song in the film?

57:38Olaf hands Anna one of his 'hands' – Literally. I wonder how many families discussed this scene: about wanting to do things together....but one needs to do something alone.

59:01Olaf and Anna fall – What would you call that? It's not a yelp...it's not a gulp....a 'yulp'?

(I mean...it's not a 'whisper yell' either)

1:09:48Elsa sends a signal to Anna - And Elsa gets frozen....again. You know...I just got that reference!

1:17:30Anna runs with purpose after clocking the dam – Will we be seeing some cheeky 'Stomp' thing with the reindeer as a gag?

1:17:42Anna shouts at the rocks – Ohhh! So that set-up was basically to place where the giants are! I did not expect that....but it sort of makes sense...right? After the setup?

(Oohhhh...I so want to listen to the film commentary!!! Agh....Blu-Ray regret!!!!

1:28:35Reveal what Olaf is wearing – Those trousers! I mean...they look like....jeans....or....some kind of a....

1:38:25Song Credits – Wait...wait....waaaaaait!!! Disney did a Weezer song? Wow....I never would have guessed! Well....it was dressed up in the kind of ballads that you'd find in 'The Karate Kid'...so....understandable?

(I bet Weezer fans would be having a ball...after recognising those few lines. Now that was unexpected!)

Is it me....or is Weezer's version....creepier sounding? Maybe because I don't know who its being sung for...and when Kristoff was singing it...it just came across as...campy.

1:39:56'Lost In The Woods' continues playing – Hold on! Oh....so...that was another joke...wasn't it? The back-up vocals (the reindeer doing them)? Do Weezer songs usually have sections like this?

1:41:22End Credits (Special Thanks) – Oh! The Story Trust! I should keep an eye on who appears in this in every Disney film! Wow....Big names: Pete, Brad, and Andrew. I wonder how they fared during the singing parts. :)

1:42:14Epilogue – I'm so glad I didn't wait for this on telly!!! Well...maybe if it did...do you think they would have shown this 'Olaf Summary'?

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Apparently my 'Samantha Theory' (that there was a connection to what Elsa was searching for) didn't pan out. I thought it was interesting that there were some viewers that had a similar idea.

Funny Moments:

(You'll have to ask me again for the complete list --- I may start a new section for Tumblr posts: Funny/Unexpected/Thrilling Moments depending on what I'm viewing --- but that probably requires a rewatch. As for the Tumblr post for the film...you can find it here.)

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Photo by Fedor Vilner

(I picked this image to represent the kind of gates present in Arendelle. Maybe in the palace itself...or the gardens?)

-------------------------------------------------------------------

I look forward to reading your own commentary as a reply below or link to your post (whether or not it is on Steemit)! If you think you have the name of the next film or TV show I should watch...go for it.  Feedback is welcome here.     


For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark, that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.       



After reading this post (specifically item one), I've decided to include links for verification so any of the witnesses can confirm that I am me! :)  #1 - Here's a tweet linking to one of my Steemit posts#2 - Here's a page on my site with a Tweet from my handle embeded #3 - Here's my Thrive Feed (that links to my site, which links to my Twitter feed...which links to my Steemit feed...)   




Previous Commentary posts:    

(Film)          




(TV)          



(Screenplays)




Search Terms: The Lord of the Rings / J. R. R. Tolkien / Michael Peña / Adventure / Comedy / Fantasy / Family Friendly / Disney / Story Trust / Storytrust / Braintrust / Brain Trust / Chris Buck / Jennifer Lee / Hans Christian Andersen / The Snow Queen / Kristen Bell / Idina Menzel / Siblings / Sisters / Parents / Grandfather / Betrayal / Trapped / Josh Gad / Jonathan Groff / Sterling K. Brown / Palace Guard / Evan Rachel Wood / Alfred Molina / Martha Plimpton / Jason Ritter / Rachel Matthews / Jeremy Sisto / Ciarán Hinds / Alan Tudyk / Hadley Gannaway / Mattea Conforti / Risk / Wonder / Santino Fontana / Livvy Stubenrauch / Eva Bella / Maia Wilson / Stephen J. Anderson / Paul Briggs / Jackson Stein / Animated Feature / Animation / Delaney Rose Stein / Isabella Acres / Halima Hudson /

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65