Her (2013): Reader Screenplay Commentary (PDF)

in #film4 years ago (edited)

I had recently found out that I barely had written anything for my commentary on the film...but had written more (maybe just slightly?) on my notes while reading the screenplay (you can find a copy here on Script Slug - and yes...similarly to the film...I'd give the script an MA rating).


-


-


Before you scroll down and read this post. Know that the information below would likely contain spoilers from 'Her' (I understand that not all screenplays necessarily reflect the finished film ---- though in this case...I am unable to confirm differences as I haven't done the exercise...yet).


-


-


-


-


-
 

In terms of my history on doing commentary on scripts...this may be the first time I've published one. As this isn't the first one that I've jotted down notes of (if it's not yet up in the near future...you can definetely nudge me for 'Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri').

Though in a way...it had been ushered by film commentary (with accompanying timestamps) dating back to Season 5 of Homeland. The reception to the idea had positives and negatives. I stuck with it for a couple of episodes, then moved to Tumblr (the home of 'the fan'). While on Tumblr I held off sharing my whole commentary, and just left it for readers who initially enjoyed reading my posts and requested it directly.   




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




(Just making sure the content is adequately hidden to give you time to close this window --- read the rest of the script...before returning to view the rest
of the post!)   




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-





------------   



Page 29 - Samantha tells Theo that she longs to be complicated - The pacing of the script is amazing. I bet the film would slow it down a bit....just to add to the complative air. Wow. Just wow. I have to read other of Spike's scripts from now on! The analysis on The Blacklist about Samantha having a similar arc to Summer and also seen as not having her own life...is...well....just pushed a bit because an OS AI is basically designed for the protagonist.

Page 47 - Samantha wonders about an interesting variation of the human body - You gotta tell us how you came up with the armpit line Spike!


 ---------------  

I have since seen the film (proof that if there is a fit...a piece of work would eventually find its way to its intended audience --- and yes...much like 'Three Billboards...' which I read the script first) and have gone and sought out all sorts of content related to Spike Jonze. I found out that he is behind Viceland (where he looks after the content side of things), got Christopher Walken to dance like nobody's watching, and the brains behind that Apple commercial that I haven't seen (well...of course I have...now).

Photo by Raphael Busgaib

(I picked this photo to represent a scene that could have taken place between Theodore and Samantha. I could imagine Theo looking out at the window at night but actually is focused on the bits of rain that have fallen on his window and describing it to Samantha as she has requested him to put what he sees and feels into words rather than pointing the camera at the scene.)




I look forward to reading your own commentary as a reply below or link to your post (whether or not it is on Steemit)! If you think you have the name of the next film or TV show I should watch...go for it.  Feedback is welcome here.     





For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark, that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.       

 



After reading this post (specifically item one), I've decided to include links for verification so any of the witnesses can confirm that I am me! :)  #1 - Here's a tweet linking to one of my Steemit posts#2 - Here's a page on my site with a Tweet from my handle embeded #3 - Here's my Thrive Feed (that links to my site, which links to my Twitter feed...which links to my Steemit feed...)   



Previous Commentary posts:    

(Film)          





(TV)          






Search Terms: Reader Commentary / Screenplay / Script / Spike Jonze / Science Fiction / SciFi / Utopia / Los Angeles / Writer / Oscar Winner / Joaquin Phoenix / Loneliness / Connection / Divorce / Artificial Intelligence / AI / Manic Pixie Dream Girl / Chris Pratt / Rooney Mara / Bill Hader / Kristen Wiig / Scarlett Johansson / Amy Adams / Matt Letscher / Marriage / Matrimony / Wedlock / When Things Don't Go As Planned



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28