Better Call Saul: Mijo (Season 1 Episode 2) - Viewer Timestamp Commentary (DVD)

in #tv7 years ago

Who's got a superpower but is not a superhero?





 
 
 

 Before you scroll down and read this post. Know that the information below would likely contain spoilers from 'Mijo'. Though...I'd recommend you just go through the whole season (even  Season 2!)....just in case...um...I drop a hint unintentionally!  






My history on doing Timestamp Commentary dates back to Season 5 of Homeland. The reception to the idea had positives and negatives. I stuck with it for a couple of episodes, then moved to Tumblr (the home of 'the fan'). While on Tumblr I held off sharing my whole commentary, and just left it for readers who initially enjoyed reading my posts and requested it directly.     

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-


(Just making sure the content is adequately hidden to give you    time   to  close this window --- hold off before returning to view  the rest of the post!)     

-

-

-

-

-

-

-


------------



20:06 - Saul talking down the guy who's grandma got disrespected - Damn Saul I did not expect that. A good guy. Somehow this is the point where I think it is a masterpiece.


Last scene - Saul is asked: "What's your angle" and is confused why Saul is not tempted - it's a case of a guy not having appropriate boundaries...


Result? Regular Backsliding


---------------


Looks like I was still using Saul's name!


Another thing that I appreciate from the production people is the webisodes from Saul! Here's one I just recently watched. Not to mention the show's Instagram page (this probably would be a good link based on a quote from the episode by one of the twins). :) I did later find out about 'Mike the bear'. Turns out he didn't surface until Season 2.



Quotes from Recaps:

  • " As James tries frantically to talk his way out of this very, very bad situation, rambling for so long and at such speed that even Tuco is impressed...." - Emma Dibdin (Digital Spy)
  • "I assume Slippin' Jimmy was into the same kind of extortion deal as the twins are, and Chuck the legendary lawyer wasn't having any of that. It's impressive how layered this relationship already feels after only two scenes." - Emma Dibdin (Digital Spy)
  • "It all makes the Dexter-esque intro sequence with a knife and what looks like raw meat just a liiiiiiiiittle unsettling until we get the zoom-out reveal -- Tuco's just making fajitas, yo." - Grant Marek (Thrillist)
  • "Back in Tuco's abuelita's garage, Zuke tries to pin the whole thing on Saul WHILE HE'S CUTTING THEM LOOSE...." - Grant Marek (Thrillist)


Note about dot point #3: This illustrates where I sit as a viewer (and as a listener too...maybe?): I'm okay with the reference (as I understand what Dexter is about), as long as you don't make me watch the scene (or scenes!!!) that it is in reference to. 


Note about dot point #4: And this is where the show's humour comes in! As I remember that scene, it is the sort of scenario where I could see someone like Cal and Lars lose perspective and just have the case of 'tunnel vision'. You know that saying: "When someone says something about you, they are usually talking about them."? I think this is a brilliant example, because when one of the twins (I may have to rewatch to find out which!) rats out Jimmy...they are basically ratting out themselves too.



I am reminded again how much the shows I've watched (unplanned of course!) led me to be able to appreciate Better Call Saul and eventually the pace (slower than usual) helped me appreciate Season 4 of Rectify (which even has a slower pace). Looking at my TV scale as a memory jog, I would say the journey would have been: 'The Practice', 'Mad About You', 'Frasier', 'The West Wing', 'The Good Wife', 'Homeland' (I didn't get annoyed at the sections where a number of viewers were frustrated). Though having a peek at the film version, I'm guessing these played a big role: 'My Life Without Me', 'It's Kind of A Funny Story', 'Begin Again' --- even indirectly.


Remembering a post about the importance of production stills, I would agree after seeing this brilliant shot of Nacho with the van




 
Note: For parents. I'd recommend you to watch this yourself  first   (yep, the whole thing!), before deciding if you would like to give your  kids the 'nod' to watch it. Better that...than jumping into it with  them straight away and regretting it. Since 'Better Call Saul' is highly  serialised....it might not be a good idea to just let your kids watch  one episode.   






Photo by Jeff Owens


 
(I picked this photo to represent Jimmy's trip to the dessert with Tuco and Nacho.) 





 
I look forward to reading your own commentary as a reply below or link to your post (whether or not it is on Steemit)! If you think you   have  the name of the next film I should watch...go for it.  Feedback is welcome here.  




 
For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark, that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.     




 
 
Previous Commentary posts:    
 

(Film)      



(TV)      



 
 
Search Terms: Viewer Timestamp Commentary / Lawyers / AMC / Con Man /  Jimmy McGill / Jonathan Banks / Mike Ehrmantraut / Rhea Seehorn / Kim  Wexler / Michael McKean / Chuck McGill / Miriam Colon / Eileen Fogarty / Steven Levine / Lars Lindholm / Daniel  Spenser Levine / Cal Lindholm / Raymond Cruz / Tuco Salamanca / Finding  Your Calling / S01E02 / S1E2 / Michael Mando / Nacho Varga / 





 
 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01