Words to learn: Defenestrate

in #education6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to “Words to Learn”. This series is about increasing the breadth of our vocabularies. (Actually, it's about me improving my vocabulary, but I like to share knowledge, so you're invited to come along for the ride!)

This is my second post featuring a word suggested by an astute reader. Today, thanks goes to @monkeyharris for the fabulous word, "defenestrate."

But the cool thing is that this is a participation series. You can write a #learnwords post describing one of your favorite vocabulary words, or suggest one in the comments so I can cover it in a future post. It's all about sharing!

technology-2847357_960_720.jpg
Photo credit: Pixabay

Why enrich your vocabulary


Do you ever have that "it's right on the tip of my tongue" feeling? This is not scientific fact, but my empirical research suggests that of all brain functions, the one responsible for vocabulary is one of the first to atrophy. So you need to fuel it with fresh information.

Plus there are so many great words we will never know or use unless we purposefully find them and add them to our repertoire. So I launched this series to increase my own vocabulary and help others do the same.

How to write a "Words to learn" post


If you would like to write a post to share one of your favorite vocab words, your post should include the following: The word’s pronunciation, its definition, and some example sentences that demonstrate how to use it. And be sure to add the #learnwords tag. (Note: Check out dictionary.com, thesaurus.com, vocabulary.com, wordsinasentence.com and merriam-webster.com as resources.)

Posts in this series so far:
Recalcitrant -- @jayna
Inexorably -- @jayna
Shellacking -- @caleblailmusik
Flotsam -- @therosepatch
Ambivalent -- @jayna
Coruscate -- @therosepatch

Okay, time for the word of the day.

The word defenestrate

  • Pronunciation: "dee-fen-uh-streyt"
  • Definition: This is a verb that means to throw someone or something out the window.
  • How to use it: Never use it as an order! But seriously, use this word to to describe physically throwing something out the window; you can also use it to describe removing someone from a position of power. The second version is actually more common today.
  • Other forms of the word: defenestrated, defenestration.

glass-423551__340.jpg

Example sentences:

The first example comes from contributor @monkeyharris:
The teacher picked up the unruly student, opened the window, and defenestrated him into the thorny bush outside.

The second example comes from wordsinasentence.com and demonstrates the removal-from-power usage:
The king was defenestrated when his people had a revolution and overthrew him from his position of power.

A little history:
Evidently, in 1618 some Protestants threw some Catholics out a window, which led to the Thirty Years War. This event became known as the "Defenestration of Prague."

Thank you for reading!

Are you a writer seeking community or help with your writing? If so, please check out The Writers' Block on Discord.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

About me

My recent posts

Sort:  

Well, that is cool. I thought I knew what this word meant (removal from power) but I had no idea it originally/primarily meant to throw 'someone out a window.'

Look at me, ma, I'm learnin'!

You are one up on me, my friend. I can’t recall ever hearing the word before at all.

Look at us! We’re learning! 😁

I had only ever heard it in it's out-the-window usage, haha! Also the word for window in French is fenestre, if I recall my elementary French classes correctly. So the window thing makes very good sense to me XD

Egad! I've been defenestrated!

This is so interesting! And very new (to me, obviously).
So when I'm in chorus and want to defenestrate myself, that's, well, a describable feeling now.
I also love how spell check doesn't recognize defenestrate as a word :P

It is a very odd word! But now that I have assimilated it, I can see how it may be useful, such as all those times you throw someone out the window in a hypothetical sense. Spell check needs to learn this word!

For real! I reckon I need to find a new word, I look pretty pathetic with my lonely ole' "Shellacking
post :P

Goal achieved! Just kidding. That would be great, if you want to participate, but no worries if the spirit doesn’t move you. I love this series and I learn something every time I write one of these posts. But they aren’t exactly whale bait!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63