~ Tales from the future… ~ The AI vol. 6 ~

in #fiction7 years ago

sketch-1510674113506.png

Previous episodes:
1
https://steemit.com/fiction/@teks/tales-from-the-future-the-ai
2
https://steemit.com/fiction/@teks/tales-from-the-future-the-ai-vol-2
3
https://steemit.com/fiction/@teks/tales-from-the-future-the-ai-vol-3
4
https://steemit.com/fiction/@teks/tales-from-the-future-the-ai-vol-4
5
https://steemit.com/fiction/@teks/tales-from-the-future-the-ai-vol-5


The AI. ~ vol.6


A few distant cries get into my dreams, Rob! ROBBBBB! Robert!
I wake up sweaty and shocked after a long nap, the heat is still unbearable; the stiffness of the legs are killing me as I stand. The voices I heard in dreams become more evident, they come from the outside. When I leave the workshop I see Mat running towards me shaking his arms. Confusing, I fail to understand that tries to tell me.

“What happens?” I shout him from the distance.
"David's not coming alone, hurry up!" Mat answers me shouting uncontrolled.
“What?” I answer confused.
"I have seen David descend down the North dirt road and a human's accompany him." Mat says almost breathless for the race.

A shiver travels my back, I start running towards him but soon I stop because of the intense pain I feel in my legs. I have never been especially a sportsman; had not run so much since high school and these last days are testing this old man.
"Let's go to the observatory, you have to see this. I've sent three people to keep an eye on us from above with the sniper rifles, I also send the children to the bedroom with Karen and two more men. Four armed men accompany David." Mat says trying to catch his breath.
"Karen was right." I think aloud as we walk as fast as we can to the observatory.
"Was she right in what?" Says Mat with the appearance of not understanding anything.
"When Karen saw the remains of the robot, she suggested that it was not of a chain fabrication but a hand-made device." I answer before I go on, "a machine made by men."
Mat looks at me with his eyes wide open, his expression of surprise would still be greater if he had not seen with his own eyes the humans who accompany David. He seems ashamed not to have realized the poor quality of the robot's manufacturing. And more importantly, which means that little detail.

"At least the existence of more human beings ceases to be an unknown." I tell him by putting my hand on his shoulder.
"I love your optimism, but I don't share it." Says Mat looking at the horizon.
"Are Good news, I have years dreaming that we're the last living human trying to overcome the extinction of our species." I say as I look with binoculars to the North.

_20171123_185536.JPG

The five men descend with slow pace; I see that they are armed with some type of rifle that I cannot recognize, the stock of those rifles is made of wood. The individuals are white but they look horrible, their clothes are made noun and by the dirt of their skin would say they have not been washed in centuries. A mixture of emotion and fear seizes me.

"Let's meet, I don't want them to come close enough to be able to see all our facilities." I tell Mat as I start to walk towards them.

Mat nods with the head.

The sun is already hiding in the horizon but it is still very hot, the turmoil of the last days passes bill in our bodies little accustomed. Since the discovery of the flying robot more events continue to happen. The existence of more living humans makes me feel hope but also fear, the responsibility of being the only living humans was a heavy burden on our shoulders, many are the nights I have dreamed with the extinction. Now many years later we discovered that we are not alone in this "Age of the Machines".

To be continued..


DQmboGhZmuYCxpmYNTbLGJqz67yNJr4aGZHhL3rpbr76fqa.gif

Gift-thanks to @markperandin

Let's take care of the pale blue dot

Enjoy your day. Enjoy your life.


20171105_185607.gif

Gift-thanks to @stellabelle

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @teks to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by teks from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Hello, I remember you @teks !
You donated to our common noble cause for the first time exactly 32 days ago. Have a great and prosperous day along with my up-vote! You fed me with 1 STEEM already but you can always make me stronger, if you want to. It will enable me to help you and your friends more often.

Yours, Spinny

I like very much when everyone who feeds me also reads my friend’s posts, so please visit @worldofsport and read what he has to say! Your name will also appear here. :-) Join my Discord server if you want to meet others: https://discord.gg/Mz2EZP3

Powered by @adsactly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82