~ Tales from the future… ~ The AI vol. 5 ~

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

sketch-1510674113506.png

Previous episodes:
1
https://steemit.com/fiction/@teks/tales-from-the-future-the-ai
2
https://steemit.com/fiction/@teks/tales-from-the-future-the-ai-vol-2
3
https://steemit.com/fiction/@teks/tales-from-the-future-the-ai-vol-3
4
https://steemit.com/fiction/@teks/tales-from-the-future-the-ai-vol-4


The AI. ~ vol.5


Looking at the robot waiting for some response, I don't realize that Karen is standing silently watching me from the entrance to the workshop. With his arms around his waist and saying no with his head, while looking at the shattered flying robot.

"Why did you bring that artifact to the camp?" Karen says in an inquisitive tone and continues. "You haven't stopped to think that it could be radioactive?"

I stare at her as I raise my shoulders. "Where should we have taken to examine it? It is too hot to examine this junk in the sun and Mat has not commented that it was dangerous. I would love for you to examine it, I would be more comfortable knowing your opinion, after all you are the expert in energy. "

"Not only in energy, remember? I am Dr. in physics and chemistry, although doctorates in this world no longer have much sense." Says Karen as it nears the workshop table.

I say yes with the head without emitting any sound.

Karen examines the robot for a few minutes; the gesture of his face is changing little by little and no longer seems so concerned.

"It looks like a system of mixed, electric and combustion propulsion, very similar to the cars that circulated when we were children. It doesn't seem to contain anything radioactive, but without a Geiger counter cannot know with accuracy. I expected more from the AI." Karen says as she looks scornfully at the flying robot turned into junk.

"What do you mean?" I asked surprised.

“Well, in the fifteen years that have passed since the moment of singularity, I was expecting the IA to have found a more efficient propulsion system than we had at the beginning of 2000." Karen says in an arrogant tone and continued, "after all, it's not we were doing so badly when the IA has copied our engine fifty years later.

"You're right; I had not realized it's an old technology." I respond.

"Not only is it old, because of the manufacturing quality of this robot, I would say it was made by hand. It have too many imperfections to have been made by a machine, don't you remember the perfection that robotics had achieved?" Karen says staring at me.

"Now that you mention it, it reminded me of one of those double-helix helicopters on the same axis that the army used for heavy transport." I answer.

"Exactly, this robot uses the same technology in addition to a very old engine." "What I can't see is the device that connects this junk to the ship." Karen says moving her hands inside the robot compulsively.

"Mat has extracted it and David has gone to throw it into the sea." I reply in a quiet tone pointing northward.

"You have done well; away from the camp is a good idea although I would have liked to look at it." Says Karen with a face of resignation.

"So what do we do with this heap of junk?" I wonder with the look on the remains of the robot.

"At the moment we can keep it here, after all the temperature to melt aluminum is not high and we can serve to manufacture some usefulness." Karen says with her right hand on her chin.

"Ok, we'll do that." I answer almost without force.

"You should rest, you have a horrible aspect." Karen says putting his hand on my left shoulder.

"I'll try to sleep for a few hours, when David comes back we'll meet." I say as I pass the palms of my hands through my face.

Karen leaves the shop while I lie in a corner; a feeling of overwhelming tiredness seizes me.

To be continued…


DQmboGhZmuYCxpmYNTbLGJqz67yNJr4aGZHhL3rpbr76fqa.gif

Gift-thanks to @markperandin

Let's take care of the pale blue dot

Enjoy your day. Enjoy your life.


20171105_185607.gif

Gift-thanks to @stellabelle

Sort:  

@originalworks can you help me please?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @teks to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by teks from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

@echowhale has swam by, I up voted this amazing post at 62% Thank you @teks
You can send between 0.20 - 1.00 and receive an up vote so long as you have original content

This post has received a 1.00 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @teks. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54