A Day in the Clouds (Chapter 12) - The Hours Between 1600 and 1700

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

This is a continuation of the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the previous chapters to catch up with the story. Enjoy!


2,000th POST ALERT!!!



<< Chapter 11


cover

The multi-talented @verbal-d has bestowed a wonderful gift for this story. To enhance the reading experience, play this on loop in the background as you read this chapter. Please be sure to follow and donate to @verbal-d!

Dadier came at me, with the pace of a rampaging sloth. His flab undulated with every step he took. The wooden floorboard creaked and seemed to almost give in to his sheer weight. He stretched his arms forward, and dove down to grab me.

I clenched my fist, and for a second, thought about evading capture. In my mind, I've already mapped out all the possible trajectories I could maneuver to get a clean shot at his face. Most of those would lead to the giant falling on the ground. Some would result to a broken fist, but I calculated those as having only a small probability. Some scenarios ended with me slipping and cracking my head wide open. Suffice to say, those were quite undesirable.

However, every scenario almost always end up with ... my capture. "Thinking before leaping" definitely has its merits. I stood my ground, held up my arms, and awaited the giant to do whatever he wanted to me.

    "Hey there, big man," he remarked sarcastically. "Here we go."

As expected, he hoisted me up and gave me a tight squeeze. He placed his lips on my forehead, which was, again, expected as he needed to drain my power and memory. From atop his shoulders, I could see a clear view of the entire room. Trinkets littered the entire space, scattered across the floor and the tops of the tables. It made me wonder why it infuriated them every time I didn't return the ones they lent me back into the chest. Perhaps because it was them who did it, and not us prisoners.

The giant leaped onto his throne and spun it around. The tiny wheels beneath it allowed it to glide through the wooden floorboard. He placed me on his lap, and pushed up his spectacles with his stubby finger. Dadier then rested his left hand on the kibo, and he put his right hand on ... I'm not quite sure what to call that other device. It made a clicking sound that changed the display of the picture screen. So, that's how it worked!

Unlike the kibo, which was stationary, the other device moved around. It even had enough power to carry the giant's hand. I'm not quite sure if Dadier placed his right hand on it to hold it down and not let it escape. Could it be another prisoner?

Dadier's chin often grazed my head, and it felt like I was being pushed down. He sometimes lets go of the other device and uses his right hand to violently tap on the kibo. The action, too, causes the display of the picture screen to change.

I reached out to the other device when Dadier loosened his hold of it. It had a shiny, black exterior, and felt like it was made of plastic or a plastic-like material. I shook it as I held it against my right ear, but it didn't make the same clicking sound it did whenever Dadier held it.

    "Hello," I asked, making sure that there wasn't a tiny prisoner trapped inside.

There was no answer, but it flashed a blinding red light when I looked at its bottom. I closed my eyes and threw it away. It scarred my eyes and permanently damaged my vision. Was this the reason the giant held it down to the table? Was it some sort of robotic contraption that the giants scrambled together to serve them?

I closed my eyes, as I silently writhed in pain. Scratching them didn't help with their recovery. I tried my best to stay calm and think of a solution. The old me would've just blasted that infernal device with a concentrated discharge of my viento.

As I opened my eyes, I discovered that it had survived the fall. It dangled from a black cable which extended from the back of the picture screen, preventing its fall. I tried to grab a hold of it, but Dadier beat me to it.

    "O, Ledd, don't throw the mouse," demanded Dadier. "That's bad ha, anak."

Damaus. What an odd name for a robotic servant. So far, I know that holding it would cause it to move and change the display of the picture screen. It would make a clicking or grumbling sound before it changed the display. Lifting it up would cause it to attack you with a blinding red beam of light. It was also harnessed to the picture screen. Or, maybe it's connected to it? Maybe that's how it controlled the display. Was the cable connection just a harness or could it be the source of its power?

The kibo seemed to be the same way, though it didn't seem to move on its own. From what I observed, the sound it generated seemed to be directly caused by Dadier's tapping. The devices seemed to serve separate functions. Used together, they worked in unison to allow the giant control of the picture screen. I'm just not quite what they were.

Over time, my eyes recovered from the assault. It would take so much more than a mere red flash to blind me. Viento coursing through my veins allows me to heal much quicker than other people.

Dadier switched the display of the picture screen repeatedly. One minute it was a white screen with tiny inscriptions, the next it was a scrolling display of text and images. After which it showed a cat which stared back at me with disdain. I'm not quite sure what I did to earn the cat's ire, but it went away the moment Dadier willed it away.

The power that these giants held was immeasurable. They had the whole world literally in their fingertips. Could this be their secret weapon during the Great War? If every giant had access to these picture screens of power, no opponent would stand a chance.

Back in my village, we used to just stare at the clouds, focus our viento, and think about what we want to see. The breeze would then shape the clouds to show us what we wished for. In a way, these picture screens seem to be a mechanized equivalent of that practice. These could be the culmination of all the technologies of their fallen adversaries. Damn them.

I tried to take it all in, and not let my emotions get the better of me. Access to the magical picture screen would afford me the same power the giants have. I could use it to not only rally the other prisoners, but also to gather information against my enemies. That device, which they hold dearly, would be the cause of their own downfall.

I wondered if there were others who've gained access to one of these devices. If only there was a way to know. Surely, these devices have a way to communicate among themselves. I've seen the giants talk to other giants through this. There must be a global network to which these devices connect to. It's what the giants could've used to plan a coordinated attack.

Since I've long suspected these giants to be assimilating us prisoners to their ranks, I might as well use that to my advantage while I still had proper mental faculties.

    "So, uh," I stammered. "D-Da ... This. How does this thing work?"

Dadier stayed silent, but threw me a quick glance.

    "I say, you giant," I followed, as I turned around to face him, tapping him to call his attention. Trying to avoid misinterpretation, I attempted to speak in their native tongue. Unfortunately, it didn't seem to make any difference. It seemed as if he still bore ill feelings towards me. His failure to secure me and recapture me must've resulted into severe punishment. The giant must've placed me on his lap to keep a closer eye on me and prevent me from attempting another escape. I couldn't blame him. "Since you've bound me in place, the least you could do is to teach me how to use this thing."

It seemed that my tactics were not working out as planned. I had to readjust my approach. Talking to these savages had always been tedious, but this was a necessity to further my plans.

    "D-Dadier, these picture screens fascinate me," I said, pointing to the screen. "Tell me, which fallen adversary did you steal this technology from?"

    "What did you say?" the giant asked. "You want to know how to view this video?"

Finally! At last, I was getting somewhere. It wasn't exactly what I asked, but at least the giant got the gist of what I was trying to say. I wasn't quite sure what a "video" was, but I was willing to learn anything he would teach me. Perhaps "video" was what they called this device as a whole? "Yes ... please."

We spent countless hours in front of the picture screen. During that time, I discovered that "computer" was the collective term for the kibo and damaus. The giant bombarded me with instructions, which I gleefully digested. Dadier seemingly didn't suspect anything. For him, this must've been their plan of assimilation seeing some positive traction. But, for me, this was what I needed to learn so that I could operate the "computer."


chapter_12ad656.jpg
Cloud Source

There was definitely a learning curve, but no hurdle was too big for my determined spirit. The giant taught me how to use the kibo in conjunction with damaus. I didn't get everything at first, but I was sure that I will master how to manipulate them eventually.

The "video" that he referred to was a collection of moving pictures that one can repeat over and over. The video of the cat that he was looking at earlier was just a piece of recording of an event that happened in the past. Even though the cat seemed to be looking back at me, it was a mere echo. Videos were different from a skype which looks like a video, but isn't a recording at all. It allowed the giants real-time communication with one another. Perhaps it's what they used to coordinate their tactics during the Great War. If only the Sachaphoyans had a skype, we could've coordinated with each other better.

Dadier smiled at me, and I fired a smile back in return. If only he knew the reason for my grin. I played out every scenario, now with my knowledge of how to use the computer. This time, every outcome almost always lead to my victory.

mandala40400.png


<< Chapter 11


Thanks for reading! Follow me, @jedau, if you want to live.


Leave this post a feedback, and I'll be sure to return the favor!

divider

Sort:  

Dadier came at me, with the pace of a rampaging sloth.

That is so how I felt today XD That opening description of Dadier is the best thing I've read all day. I can't breathe I was laughing so hard. Best mental image ever XD

The conflicting images are horribly amusing, I am simultaneously seeing Ledd getting stuck with this gargantuan sloth and having to kind of put up with being stuck there, at the same time I'm mildly exasperated with him OMG CHILD YOU JUST DON'T GET IT DO YOU and the normal view one of how adorable an image that would be of a father with beloved child nestled on lap.

Ledd must be getting tired, the pace has slowed a little :) Be fun to see what he does with the skype XD

Hahaha, isn't a sloth starting to gain popularity here on steemit? @barrydutton just gave additional media to a sloth. Nice to see you giving utmost support to @jedau as well. Keep the comments going!

Woohoo! Great of you guys to give @ryivhnn some well-deserved recognition! Sloths are already in the midst of a grand campaign to be Steemit's mascot. I'm glad to support their initiative!

Some nice things happen on steemit!
You display greatness! Comments reveal new information! Redundant information in the head, come out in the comments! Keep up the good work!

HAHA! I'm always amused by your reaction to my story. I am seriously laughing for real whenever I read your comments. It's a real pleasure having them grace my chapters. I feel that they really add entertainment value :D

If I were to think of a close analogy, I guess it would have to be that fight scene in Ant-Man, where they're really struggling with the terrain, all the while people who are looking at it just sees a harmless train going about its day.

I really wish I had watched Zootopia before I wrote that line. I wonder how different it would've been haha!

Really good eye noticing the change in pacing!! It's indeed intentional, and I'm glad you picked up on that. I was really on the fence about going through with it when I was writing the story, but I figured that I wanted to stick with my original intention.

Thanks for dropping by, my friend! Your continued support is a valuable commodity :)

I haven't seen Ant Man, not really a superhero kinda person. Happy to be useful for something, I'm really glad you like writing as I do so enjoy reading it.

It's not really a "superhero" movie in the classical sense. More like a heist-comedy set in the world of superheroes. Here's the train scene for your benefit:

LoL that's rather amusing, specially that anti-climatic crash at the end XD

Oh no... Did I give too much of my story away? :(

Another compelling chapter bro. I was so pulled into the peculiarity of Ledd's fascination with the simplest objects and I too noticed the slowing pace of the story and figured that it was for setting the tone for something nice, and you indeed captured a sentimental moment of father and child and I don't believe, as a father myself reading this, that Ledd's dislike/hatred for his father, the giant, ruined the sentimentality or precious moment at all. Truly enjoyed it.

"Could this be their secret weapon during the Great War? If every giant had access to these picture screens of power, no opponent would stand a chance.

Back in my village, we used to just stare at the clouds, focus our viento, and think about what we want to see. The breeze would then shape the clouds to show us what we wished for."

^^That was my favorite set of lines and it was a nice transitioning phase to show the purpose of all of Ledd's fascinations and his plans to implement his acquired knowledge of the giant's technology.

PS: it's nice you have people like meesterboom point out some minor mistakes, but I forgot to mention, I am an English degree graduate with a focused concentration in Creative Writing, and I have noticed many grammatical errors and time tense mistakes, and minor spelling errors. I even have seen two or three in this chapter alone. I have a proposal if you ever decided to publish this book, I would love to be your creative editor for this novel to assist in the perfecting of it's overall presentation.

I have experience in a lot of editing, especially novels helping family, friends, colleagues, and professional authors/aspiring writers through my times in university and post graduate life.

Let me know if you would like for me to collaborate with you on that, and we can talk in steemit.chat about the details.

Also, quick question bro, is "Viento" plural or singular?
You know how police can be singular, but still be plural at the same time?

I know English isn't your first language and you're an amazing writer, and you write extremely well. I ask about Viento because in the same sentence meesterboom had pointed out your italicize attempt, it says Viento coursing through my veins allow me to heal much faster than other people, but I wasn't sure if Viento was plural because the relative conjugative verb would indeed be rightfully the verb "allow", but if Viento is singular-yet plural- like police, or blood, the correct relative conjugated verb form would be "allows."
Grammar can be tedious, but I too find it fascinating at times, as long as I understand the rules correctly and can see between the lines.

It's crazy how blood is singular, but we know blood is plural in the form of its make up, material and matter. I can't say the blood are really red. But I can say the bloods are really red, because there may different types of bloods, hence "blood types."

When someone says, "I'm calling the police!" They are referring to one entity of government, yet within that body "are" many police men and women. It's just funny and interesting right? Anyway, I look forward to continuing this discussion, don't take my proposal the wrong way, I love the story so much I want to enhance it everyday possible, even if I'm just correcting minor mistakes.

Other novels, I've been able to write my own creative interpretations and poetic expressions making me more of a co-author, but I'm definitely apt at proof-reading and clear cut sharpening the flow. Let me know bro! Would love to be credited under Edited By ..."" on that wonderful novel of yours :)

figured that it was for setting the tone for something nice

Spot on, brother! Great observation regarding that. This arc is certainly a hump, and I note that in a future SILVER LINING. I really wish that I could've written that was action-packed from start to end, but that would be betraying my intention of faithfully adapting a full day.

That was my favorite set of lines and it was a nice transitioning phase to show the purpose of all of Ledd's fascinations and his plans to implement his acquired knowledge of the giant's technology.

Thanks for the compliment! That was actually inspired by one of my favorite hobbies growing up -- cloud watching. I imagined different figures forming from clouds. How I wish my life would slow down a bit some times so that I could just lie in the garden and watch the clouds float by.

Regarding your PS offer, that's huge, bro, and I certainly love to have you on board! This past week, I've contracted my girlfriend @randomli to edit the earlier chapters that have already been posted. I haven't had the chance to upload the edits, but we did discuss getting a third set of eyes to edit since we're too close to the story. Your offer is a God-send, brother. I'll message you on steemit.chat in a bit.

Had I known that you're an English degree graduate with focus on Creative Writing no less, I would've contacted you about editing sooner! Haha! Everything's just lining up so perfectly. I guess that's why you had such a good grasp when you wrote your novel. I should've figured it out much sooner! Lucky break!

Also, quick question bro, is "Viento" plural or singular?

Thanks for the grammar lesson, bro! I really appreciate it :D Admittedly, I'm a bit rusty regarding the rules, so it's nice to have that refresher. I guess you could say the viento could be considered as similar to blood. Even though viento is directly lifted from the Spanish translation of "wind", the way I'm using it is leaning towards singular. I guess in a way armas de viento is its plural form, since armas is Spanish for "weapons".

Any and all help is appreciated, my bro! I don't mind people pointing out errors that they spot. It's all for the benefit of the story anyway :D

Love the word play! I got kibo straight away, but it took a few seconds to get damaus. I'm nor sure how many chapters I'll get through today, as I have a bunch of other things that need to happen, but am aiming to completely catch up. So if I leave lots of comments, don't feel like you have to answer every one individually.

Ha! Nice! I wanted to throw people off with damaus, so I'm glad I succeeded :) No worries about rushing it, the story will be here waiting for you when you have free time, my friend. I'm just so grateful that you spent the time to read and share your thoughts in the comments section. Definitely warms my heart to have the best supporters :D I love answering comments, so don't worry about it. I receive only a handful, so I treasure each one as if they were worth more than gold.

Wow, this chapter took right off, yay!!
Once again you captured the scene perfectly. I can imagine sitting on my dad's lap on a swivel chair, trying to touch things as he held me securely. I can feel him brushing kisses on my head as he showed me videos.
And I can imagine this dadier's love for his son, even as his son mistakes the cuddles for confinement.
Adding verbal's video was really cool! Perhaps I will pick certain chapters of my book and do the same with the one he made for me :)
Excellent job as always my friend!!

I really had fun writing the contrasts :D I'm nervous to think if I could ever create something like this again :( I really tried to play off of the emotions. His hate for them is as intense as their love for him. I remember feeling the same way with my parents. What I didn't like was the smell of saliva when they kissed me, not fully grasping the intention at the time.

Your dad seems like a really great guy. Nay, I'm sure he is, and you're the testament to it :)

Thank you for your continued support, my friend! This story runs on it and uses your precious sentiments as fuel :D

Great stuff dude. Quick alert, misplaced asterisk to make italics here for you to fix

Over time, my eyes recovered from the assault. It would take so much more than a mere red flash to blind me. *Viento *coursing through my veins allow me to heal much quicker than other people

I enjoyed his fascination with the mouse and thinking it had to be held down to trap it!!

What error?! :/ * whistles innocently *

Great catch, mate! I'm really wondering if it's me who's in need of glasses instead of you. Perhaps I shall fish one out from a freshly baked loaf. Or was this elaborate tale really an autobiography, that I am Ledd and that my eyes have yet to recover from the blinding red flash :O It's all coming together!

I enjoyed his fascination with the mouse and thinking it had to be held down to trap it!!

The idea came from the name itself. Why did they ever think of naming it to one of the peskiest creatures to chase down??

Thanks for your continued support, dude! I'm depositing your comments to my vault instead of cashing in. I know it's not the best move, since your comments' value have recently seen a surge. But, I elected to keep it out of sentimentality :D

Oh you are a funny one!!! Good depositing! I am sure they will accrue interest there!! ;0)

I really hope that I made the right decision so that I would be rolling in dough in a couple of years! :D

Hehe, yes. I am 100%certain that that will truly be the case ;0)

Really though, who am I to challenge the knowledge of the boom master himself? :D

Dashed nesting limit:

I am developing a severe dislike of how this thing threads >_<

Oh no... Did I give too much of my story away? :(

You have an anti-climatic crash at the end? :D

However it goes it will be dramatic and well written and thoroughly enjoyable because you're writing it XP

Once HF17 rolls around, thread limitations would be a thing of the past :)

I really don't want to give anything away. Every time I conclude a story, I get into a funk that's hard to snap out of. It's like I'm saying goodbye to a part of my soul. I guess that's why I'm trying to stay away from writing a series, because that'll really wreck me haha! Thank you for that heartfelt compliment, my friend :')

I guess you are, never really thought of it that way o_O I usually just turn into an anxious mess hoping I didn't miss anything and that it will still be all right the next time I look at it XD

It's a strange realization for sure, but I guess anxiety is an appropriate response as well. It's interesting to see the different reactions creators have after posting. Some don't have any, while others are a bundle of mess. I'm sure not everyone who doesn't have a negative or any response didn't put the utmost passion into their work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47