The house at the end of street - Chapter 6 - Original fiction

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

 Image source  

Sarah drove to the cemetery and reached Rose-hill cemetery half an hour later.  She did not use her own car much, but today seemed like a special occasion.  Rich always joked about being laid to rest here. He always wanted to live in a castle and this was the closest he could get.  

She parked in front of the building and walked in to the mausoleum.  The people from the cemetery arrived about five minutes later.  They placed the urn with Rich's ashes inside a vault, and it took about twenty minutes for them to close it with a small marble slab.  

Ten minutes later everything was over.  She stood outside and looked up to the clouds and whispered:  

"Goodbye my dear friend..may you rest in peace."

Sarah drove straight home and then took a cab to the office.  There were never any parking space close to the office. There were a pile of messages on her desk at the office and she left those for later.  She checked her email to see if there were any replies from Rich's heirs, and to her surprise all four replied.   

Ursula and all three Rich's children would attend the reading exactly one week from today. Sarah still had to find a realtor to discuss putting the house in the market, and to have it appraised. There was a huge amount of work to do and the house hasn't been touched for nearly seventy years. 

Someone would have to re-do the house from top to bottom and she needed to find out from the heirs how much they were willing to spend on the renovations.  Perhaps they did not even want the house or sell it exactly like it was without spending anything on it. It would not have any value to any of them, but she still wanted to have it appraised before the reading so she could at least give them an idea of all the costs involved.  

Sarah phoned Matt Laricy from the top realtor company in Chicago and made and appointment with him to meet her at the house at three o clock.  

She went through the messages on her desk and made all the necessary phone calls.  Once done,  it was nearly time to go meet Matt at the house.  She packed her briefcase and left the office.  

Sarah stopped at Starbucks for a cup of coffee before catching a cab to the house. She was a bit early because she hates being late, and when she got out of the cab she saw that Matt had not yet arrived. She opened the gate and decided to sit on the porch and wait for Matt to show. 

She sat there for nearly twenty minutes lost in her own thoughts when she suddenly heard a voice behind her.  

"Sarah?"  She turned around and at the bottom of the stairs were the most handsome man that she has ever seen.

"Hi I'm Matt, you must be Sarah" Matt said.  

Sarah smiled at him.  "You startled me. Here I am, daydreaming...I did not even hear your car pull up."  

"Oh that's no bother.  I actually parked around the corner so you couldn't have heard me... I came around the back. I'm so excited to see this house!  I never thought I would get this opportunity.  I am glad you phoned me. "   

Sarah took out the keys from her bag and tried to unlock the front door.  The key was stuck and Matt took the key from her.  

"Perhaps it just needs a male touch" Matt said smiling.  

Matt unlocked the door and then stepped away to let her enter. They walked into complete darkness and Sarah tried to find a light-switch to shed some light on the room.  When she flipped the third switch, the light flickered twice and then managed to stay on.

They both gasped at the beauty of the room around them. It was one of the biggest rooms that they had ever seen. On the one side was an enormous fireplace, and the windows were covered with long heavy drapes and when Sarah touched the curtain to open them, the one curtain shredded. The sun entered the room for the first time in many years. They walked from room to room and every room was more beautiful than the first one.  In total there were six bedrooms, each with a bathroom and the one room looked like a library although there were no books on the shelves.  

Sarah wondered if Rich was even aware of the beauty of this house...and if he really cared... There were so much she wanted to find out about this house...  and one thing was for certain....This house was going to cost a small fortune to bring back to life, but in the end it will be so worth it. 

 

- To be continued-

I really appreciate all the feedback that I get.  Please leave a comment if you enjoy my story! I also need some critics so please feel free to throw in your two cents! 


Chapter 1 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-house-at-the-end-of-street-chapter-1-original-fiction

Chapter 2 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-house-at-the-end-of-street-chapter-2-original-fiction

Chapter 3 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-house-at-the-end-of-street-chapter-3-original-fiction

Chapter 4 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-house-at-the-end-of-street-chapter-4-original-fiction

Chapter 5 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-house-at-the-end-of-street-chapter-5-original-fiction 

If you enjoy my content please follow me :

Sort:  

Burned... The final indignity!!! Good chapter my dear!!!

O come on Rich, I believe you do not trust me Ursula. So glad that did not work out true.

Nobody told me you were Ursula... I feel much better now (even though I'm dead)

I am so glad you feel better for I could never do anything to hurt you LOL.

Bless you... That makes being dead much easier lol!

Ha ha ha...I had to get names somewhere....

Well somebody had to kill me... Believe me, I wouldn't just go gently into the night!

Thank you Rich...I am so sorry I had to kill you though...lol...but I think the ending will be good because I now know exactly what will, or SHOULD happen.... I never know how a story will end until I figured out the body part.

I think I object more to being cremated than killed off lol! For that, you're definitely out of the will (along with my ingrate kids) and Ursula who I think polished me off!

Yeah, I don't trust Ursula either.

You are driving me crazy must know what was in that blue letter he gave her.

What's in the letter? The suspense is amazing. And hello Matt :)

I don't know yet...lol...I have 3 days to complete this story so I am still thinking...lol!

Got to be the best bit about reading a Steemit serial, you can't jump to the end to find out what happens, or rush reading through just to find out something. It could just be a red herring you've thrown us lol

I love your writing and the way you use imagery

Kinda want a plot twist where Rich is alive. Lol

drawn into the story !

I invite You to team up with us to promote Your blogpost on twitter !

We work as a team with #FFSteemit
See how we do this here
https://steemit.com/ffsteemit/@nicnicy/go-promote-steemit-com-blogs-the-next-ffsteemit-blog-promotion-minnowsfaucet-ffsteemit

You're ability to write continues to amaze me. It takes a great talent to keep the reader more and more engaged as each chapter progresses. I can't wait to the next chapter. And then the next. When the story closes I will be sad because I've been so entertained. I hope you will be writing me. I just enjoy a good read!!!!! :D

Oh my, and the compliments keep coming...thank you @cabbagepatch. I have always enjoyed writing. Since I was a little girl I adored writing stories and I am too an avid reader. I was born before television so I obviously have an imagination...lol

You have more than an imagination....you have a gift for creating a picture through your words that just draws the reader in. You must always believe that you can reach the top and maybe one day you will be looking down instead of up. I do know that if you truly believe, anything can happen. I believe in you! :D

Amazing writing skills

Ha ha ha.... did you recover after your party last night??? :)))

so nice house...

upvote and follow me @nijhum

Make a very good post..
Please help me vote @ileana-badiu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64