The house at the end of street - Chapter 2 - Original fiction

in #fiction7 years ago

Image source

Sarah stood on the porch waiting for the nurse to come and open the door.  Rich used to have more servants but after his heart attack he was mostly bound to his bedroom so he let go most of them.  It was only Ursula the nurse that stayed behind.  She had been caring for him ever since and Sarah knew that Ursula will be well cared for when Rich was no longer with them.  

" Hi Ursula how are things today?"

"It's been a bit of a hectic night Sarah, but seems to be fine now.  Please come through..."

Sarah took the back stairs, only carrying her precious briefcase and entered his room discreetly.  He was still sleeping.  He had a rough night and it showed.  She put down her briefcase on the floor next to the chair that stood next to his bed. She walked over to the window and stared outside. 

"What will happen to this beautiful old house? "

It was a large, beautiful and once luxurious house that has been build somewhere in the 1930's. Rich never cared much for the house and only lived in a few rooms, the rest of the house was quite empty.  He never had any use for the rest of the house and basically only used the bathroom, a small pantry which is now used as a kitchen and his bedroom, which is also his office nowadays.  

His bedroom looked more like a hospital room these days and his beautiful four poster bed has long since been replaced with a hospital bed.  

The rest of the house was empty.  Rich never went through the trouble to furnish the rest of the house as he lived alone and did not see any use for wasting money.  

"Money. Was this really all his life was about?" 

Sarah knew that Rich grew up very poor, but it has been long since he struggled a day in his life.  

She thought about the rest of the house, and could only imagine the beauty.  Rich told her that there was a ballroom downstairs but she had never actually seen it as she has never been through the whole house.  She only used the backstairs and the only room she has ever been in was his bedroom. Perhaps one day soon, she would have the opportunity to see the rest of the house....

"Sarah, is that you?" Rich said behind her from his bed.

Oh Rich are you awake?  How are you feeling today? I was thinking of leaving and coming back in the morning so that you could get some rest."

"Don't be silly... I'm as fit as a fiddle...did you bring me those papers to sign?"

Sarah could see the pain on his face as she walked over to his bed.  She opened her briefcase and took out the file.  She sat down in the chair next to his bed and handed him the papers.  

"Thank you, I really appreciate all the effort you put into this..."

Sarah just smiled.  "You know it's my job" 

Rich succeeded to crack a little smile while he signed the papers.  After signing he fell back on his pillows and nearly instantly he fell asleep again.  He was totally exhausted. Sarah didn't know if she must stay or go, and sat staring at Rich for a few minutes.  She was just about to leave when he opened his eyes again.  

"I'm sorry about that. This pneumonia really took it's toll on me.  Before you go I want to give you something to keep safe for me"  

He lifted the pillow and handed her a sealed blue envelope.  There was nothing written on the outside.  

" You must keep this safe for me Sarah...please...You are the only one that I can trust with this."

Sarah smiled and put the envelope in her briefcase.  She knew not to ask any questions as Rich would just make fun of her. 

"No Sarah, I am serious... you are the only one that I really trust.  We don't know what will happen tomorrow and I am on my way out....you will know what to do when the time comes." 

"Oh Rich, you say this every time that I come here. There are still lots of time left for you." 

Rich smiled at her.  She had a very eerie feeling as if today really was the last time that she would see him.  

She took her briefcase, and gave him a kiss on his forehead before she left.  When she reached the door, she looked back at him and could see him laying there totally exhausted and done with life.  

She felt a little sad, but she knew that the day would eventually come when she had to say goodbye to Rich and to this house.  

She decided not to take a cab but to take the bus back to the office.  She closed the little gate behind her and walked to the corner of the road to catch the bus. 

I really appreciate all the feedback that I get.  Please leave a comment if you enjoy my story! I also need some critics so please feel welcome to throw in your two cents! 


Chapter 1 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-house-at-the-end-of-street-chapter-1-original-fiction 

If you enjoy my content please follow me :

Sort:  

Don't kill me yet... I'm just getting interested (by the way, I don't trust Ursula- keep an eye on her) Weird, I almost died of pneumonia in 2005

Ha ha ha! I won't!

money is all that matters with Rich. But you can't blame him for he came from a poor beginning as the story tells. Awaiting for chapter 3 to come.

Thanks... you have no idea how hard it is to be a fictional character!

Bahahahaha!

By the way... if you decide to kill me off and need a nice haunted portrait- Silvia's husband did a great one!

Thanks Rich... you aren't going anywhere yet...lol just behave yourself!

Thank you my dear... I just posted my story now I have to check and see if my pictures are ready... 7 days to develop a roll of film!

Love it just have to long to wait for next chapter.

I'm a huge fan. Can't wait for Chapter 3!

really good chapter, @giantbear ! I have to say that I like so much the character Rich ^_^

Me too!

lol
I can understand you :D

Thank you @sylviabeneforti now I hope that Rich behaves himself!

@giantbear your story is wonderful and very well written. I can't wait until the next chapter. You really have a talent and you have a way of pulling the reader into the story. You can feel the characters and pictures them in the story.

I was thinking that many authors start off with writing short stories for well know magazines. Your touching story would fit right in. It is griping and makes you feel for the characters involved. The anticipation is also there. Thank-you for sharing this story with us. I really enjoy reading it!!! :D

Hi giantbear. . I have followed you because yuor post it's amazing.. I like it. . Thankyou for sharing

And the plot thickens - what is in the envelope? She gets the house or she must marry his son to get the house ?

Not a massive fan of fiction in general but I love your writing and your concepts.

Thank you @jaynie I don't know where this story is going yet so now you will have to read everyday to see! :)

I shall most definitely do so :) (ps. did you get my message the other day re. my moms age) I have been struggling with the chat platform, so I just answered you on the comments.

I will have to check! The notifications that aren't working messes with my mind...lol

lol well for convenience sake... her username is @lizziesworld and she is 68 years of age :)

upvoted and followed you if you like foodrecipies please follow me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12