The house at the end of street - Chapter 1 - Original fiction

in #fiction7 years ago

      

Image source 

All characters are fictional and in no way resemble any truth whatsoever.  

Sarah left her office at exactly nine-thirty on a Wednesday morning in May for her appointment with Rich Quitliano. She was in a hurry as she was already late. He hated it when she came late. She left the Willis tower, stepped off the curb and hailed a cab. Rich was one of her oldest clients.  Literally. Her law firm has handled his account for more than twenty years and when she became partner four years ago, they handed the account over to her.  

He was in his mid seventies but his mind was as sharp as a razor-blade.  He was one of the most talented writers she has ever met. He was both a challenging and entertaining client.  Most people saw him as a grumpy old man but Sarah just loved him.  They have understood each other from day one and she knew exactly what was expected after his death. 

Sarah was on her way to take him some papers as he was constantly making minor adjustments and changes to his will.

His last best seller "The night Gods" turned him into an instant millionaire and he had quite a lot more money stashed away.  Most of his money he made through house flipping earlier in his life and he owned quite a lot of real estate all over Chicago.  

Funny thing is he has lived in his current house for the last forty seven years, and he hasn't left his house now for nearly three years.  After his heart attack he has been house-bound and had a night nurse stay with him. His own children had no contact with him and the only human contact was with doctors, nurses and obviously Sarah his attorney.  

He got divorced after just nine years of marriage and he never had contact with either his ex-wife or his kids again.  He gave up trying to look for them after three years and focused only on his writing. His main goal in life has always been money and perhaps that's the reason his wife ran.  

She used to say that money is not everything, but he always found a way to proof her wrong.  Money made life easier and he was not prepared to settle down.

Sarah was like a granddaughter to him now.  His own children were grown up now and he made provision for both his son an daughter in his will.  He vouched never to give his ex-wife a cent.  

Sarah smiled as the cab parked near the entrance to the house.  She was always excited to visit Rich and could not wait to sit next to his bed in the lightened bedroom.  

She was in love with this house, and often wondered what was going to happen to the house once Rich was no longer there. 

She paid the cab-fare and rang the doorbell. 

If you enjoy my content please follow me:

     

Sort:  

I loved it see something that is going to drive me crazy to read everyday.

Wow... I've never been a fictional character before! Stuck in a bed... I'm glad this is fiction and not prophecy!!! (By the way- writing has never been about the money)

Oh I know it is not about the money...and you have such a charming name I decided to use it.. just tell me if I go wrong somewhere...xx

It looks good so far... shorter than my chaps but everybody writes differently!

Nice story

please check out my posts if you have time, keep staking :)

I can see how Rich would be a perfect template for this story!

Wonderful read. Will definitely read the rest

You are a born writer with a gift of expression. I love the two stories I have read by you recently and found them both compelling. I never have tried to write like that but I love to read. You should write books because I think you can. Thank-you for your wonderful stories!!! :D

Ha ha...I probably could..but who would read it? I will write the story chapter by chapter and see how this turns out...thanks for you comment @cabbagepatch!

I would read it. And I feel the more you do write your passion will emerge in greater force. That is what happen to me. When I started writing on Steemit, I was a little hesitant at first. Then after a while I became more flowing like a stream going into a river. When you asked me to consider Steemiteducation, the river had gradually turned into a bigger river. The more I write the more easier it gets. I appreciate what you did for me. I am actually enjoying sharing what I know. You should do the same. You have so much within you that would be awesome to share with others. You do have a gift for writing! You took the first step and now you will soon be sprinting into happiness!!! :D

Thanks @cabbagepatch but this is what makes me doubt myself. The other day I walked into a bookshop. (I am absolutely fanatic about books and I own more books than clothes!)

You know what demotivates me? All those thousands of books in that shop, every writer with hopes and dreams of writing a best seller and then nobody ever reads those books. Perhaps I am silly but I don't want my book to land in between a heap of books that nobody reads.

Also if you look at the trending page of fiction here on Steemit I must obviously be doing something wrong cause the payouts are in the hundreds and I hardly make anything. Although I am not on Steemit just for the money it makes me doubt my writing skills....
Perhaps I am just silly....xx

Giantbear never doubt yourself because that is what makes us afraid to even try. Eric Van Walton also took many, many years before he was able to publish his book, The Perfect Pause: Meditating Your Way to the Ultimate You. He told me he had a rough journey getting to that point of publishing but it was worth the long road to get there. I know it doesn't come easy but if that is your ultimate passion you should not just give up without trying. What Eric did was post parts of his book before publishing. He really got people to read and comment so that was helpful.

Keep building up your status in Steemit and I think eventually you will draw more and more people. After reading your stories I really became a fan. Keep trying to build up a following and stay the course. If anyone can do it, it is you.

When I started Steemit, I didn't want to post too much because it was depressing. But one day I decided that even if I only got a few comments I would still post with quality. I maintained my integrity by not lowering my standards but at times it is hard when you put so much work into it and then no one reads it. In the meantime I am gradually doing a little better because of you. So I now go into anything with an attitude that it is fulfilling my need to express myself. I'm sure you can get people to join a writers club and together you can draw in readers. Just don't give up because of self doubts. You never know what you will reach unless you try! Take care! :D

Hmmm you just gave me a brilliant idea here...thanks @cabbagepatch! You will hear more from me soon...lol

If it was a used bookstore, you have to re-look at it:

All those thousands of books in that shop, every writer with hopes and dreams of writing a best seller and then nobody ever reads those books.

Look at it this way, all those thousands of books that were read and deemed re-readable went to that store instead of into the fireplace or the dump. People enjoyed them and wanted other to share in their enjoyment.

Interesting stuffs! I am wondering what she is going to find! Although being chapter 1 I am not expecting utter madness behind it. Great stuff :O)

Me too...you know I start a story and I never have any clue where it is going to end up. Let's see what tomorrow brings! LOL!

Its always an exciting adventure!

With your mind I am too afraid to think what is waiting behing that door hahaha. Looking forward to chapter 2

No I promise no weird stuff this time...just a proper story..

You writing is very captivating and i will read every chapter you write. Just a question for you, Is this your original writing or excerpt from some novel? If its a novel please share its name and if its yours . I would want you to write more of it.

Oh no...this is my own story. I will see how this plays out. The second chapter is out. You can go and read...lol

Great start... and I wont flex this is a very creative way to get your writing seen... would've never thought to post stories on here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12