The house at the end of street - Chapter 4 - Original fiction

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

 Image source 

Sarah was excited about her plans. She hasn't been this excited in a long time. She phoned the travel agency later that day and asked them to send over some brochures to the office. She had so many leave days that she never used that she decided to take a break for a full two weeks. She couldn't decide where to go and decided to go through the brochures later that evening.  

She worked late again and left the office just before seven.  She picked up dinner on her way home and bought a bottle of wine.  At home she finally relaxed.  She poured herself a glass of wine and kicked off her shoes. She curled up on the couch after eating her salad and took out the brochures. She was very interested in taking a cruise and was just about to go online to do more research when her phone rang. It was just before ten, and NO one ever phoned this late.  

It was Ursula. 

"I'm so sorry Sarah, I did not expect this....I just wanted to inform you...... that Rich...Rich is gone." 

Sarah felt the shock run through her system and immediately grabbed a chair to sit down. Ursula told Sarah that Rich died peacefully in his sleep about an hour earlier.  She explained that he had a good dinner, drifted off to sleep and then just drifted on, straight out of this world.  

"I found him about ten minutes ago when I made my final round before going to bed. "   

Sarah always knew that this day would come, but she was not prepared for this. She really expected him to live forever. Tears sprang to Sarah's eyes. It was like her own father dying all over again.  She was going to miss him terribly and started crying when she put the phone down. 

Sarah didn't sleep much, and every time she fell asleep she would see his face in front of her. She drifted in an out of sleep the whole night and at seven o'clock she decided to get up.  She was his lawyer and it was now time for her to do her job.  

Everything was already mostly in place. Rich did not want a formal funeral.  He wanted to be cremated and buried without any fuss. He purchased a plot a few years ago so there was not much left to do.  His living relatives hardly knew him and after his burial she was to hold the reading of the will at her office.  

After she phoned the funeral parlor to make the final arrangements, she left the house to go send out the letters to the unsuspected heirs. It would be a few days before she heard back from any of them so for now her job was done. 

There were still a few minor details to sort out, but first she had to get some sleep.  On her way home she thought about all the good times they had and she couldn't understand how one can feel angry and sad both at the same time. She was sad, because she lost her best friend, and she was angry that he left her alone with no one else in the world.  

                                 

I really appreciate all the feedback that I get.  Please leave a comment if you enjoy my story! I also need some critics so please feel welcome to throw in your two cents! 


Chapter 1 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-house-at-the-end-of-street-chapter-1-original-fiction 

Chapter 2 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-house-at-the-end-of-street-chapter-2-original-fiction 

Chapter 3 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-house-at-the-end-of-street-chapter-3-original-fiction

If you enjoy my content please follow me :

Sort:  

I don't know if I should upvote this or not... You killed me lol!

Careful he might bring you back as a vampire, or blood sucking zombie,(instead of the brain eating kind). Is a good read so far, enjoying it.

SHE's a really good writer, a beginner like me and she shows a lot of potential.

Thank you, I did not know She, was a beginner, point of fact I did not know you were a beginner either, gender on-line can be so confusing, thanks for letting me know, now I hope I remember.

I'm a beginner at writing fiction... I've done academic work for years. The first fiction I tried on here was a murder mystery that was so bad I quit after 4-5 chapters... I'm getting a little better now I think.

I know I have enjoyed "The Lottery Council" and the two Night Gods works. I haven't read the real early stuff, I can only scroll back 4 months on your pages. Streemdev people responded when I asked about that, and they said it is a known glitch that happens.

That's ok... I still have my notes and I'm going to do a replacement of the last chapters all rolled into one. The most important part you read and the rst is just where he gets caught- tries- and finds God in prison. It's funny, when I was doing the rewrite of NG I I could see a lot of improvement between that and what I'm doing now.

Ek wil weet wat staan in die testament??

Ek ook...ha ha ha!

Nice Story @giantbear... Keep Steem on

Followed and Upvoted

O and now the reading of the will....think feathers are going to be ruffled. Keep up the good writing

Love your story and can not wait to find out more. That letter he gave her is driving me crazy. Shame now poor Ursula has not got a job anymore.

Great story.eagerly waiting for more.

I somehow missed this one. I only noticed when I started reading your chapter 5 and asked myself what happened to chapter 4. I'm glad I caught this error. Anyway, another great chapter which I loved. Excellent story. You should publish this story. It is great and a fantastic read!!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12