Grandpa Gotta Cook—Salisbury Steak And Mashed Potatoes (Take Two).

in #fff5 years ago

Yo. Whasssssssuppp?

Welcome y'all.

You might remember from a few weeks ago my attempt with an Italian Meatballs and Rice Casserole that went awry until my wife stepped in and saved the day. Well, I'm happy to report that she was not needed this time around, but there were a couple of stressful moments, nonetheless, as Grandpa got back into the kitchen for yet another another adventure in dinner preparation.

This edition of Grandpa Gotta Cook is once again published in conjunction with the crazy cats at @foodfightfriday.


IMG_2091.JPG

Same, But Different

Have you ever been in the situation where you're scrambling around, looking through recipes, hoping to match up what you think you have lying around the house as far as ingredients go, but you always seem to be one or two ingredients short?

This happens to me frequently, and it kind of dictates what I'm going to do and not going to do. I tend to cook during a time where our food supply is at it's lowest ebb, too, however that works out.

Since I didn't really know what I wanted to make, but knew what we'd already eaten throughout last week, I was honing in on a meal that would combine ground beef and ground pork, similar to what I did a few weeks ago with the Italian meatballs. Except, something else.

The Wonderful Mystery Meat

Well, as it turned out, if you've ever wondered what delicious mystery meat goes into different meat dishes, ground pork and ground beef can be combined to make Salisbury steak. I couldn't remember the last time I'd had Salisbury steak (middle school cafeteria days maybe?), which is probably odd to some of you who eat comfort food on a regular basis, but hey, what can I say. My wife's Mexican, and I've only been in the cooking rotation for over a year and a half.

Saved By The Gravy Packet

Looking through the ingredients list, it seemed I had everything but two items—heavy cream, for both the steak and a mushroom sauce—and the mushrooms. See, mushrooms can sit in the refrigerator for days and days without being used because the cooks during the week have other ideas, but then when it comes to my turn, where mushrooms are almost a staple of my culinary regime, no mushrooms.

However, the crisis there was averted by the discovery of a packet of instant mushroom gravy in the cupboard. It even had hunks of freeze dried mushrooms in it.

I know, I know, it wasn't going to taste the same as homemade, but the way I had it figured, I would be shaving off about 40 minutes from what was supposed to be 15 minutes of normal people's prep and cooking time by taking the shortcut.

No brainer.

That just left the heavy cream for the steak.

I wondered how crucial it was. I wondered if adding a little more milk would be okay. I looked up heavy cream and read that I could make my own with milk and melted butter. Okay. Didn't sound hard to do.


IMG_2084.JPG


This Week's Grandpa Gotta Tip

When something doesn't seem difficult to do, if you've never done it before, there's probably a trick to it you don't know, making it actually harder to do than it sounds.



IMG_2089.JPG

So, I went about putting the other ingredients together. Once again, I needed white bread crumbs to soak up chopped onions, parsley, thyme, the milk, and the cream with. An egg and the meat came next. With the mixing of the first ingredients on hold while the butter for the homemade heavy cream melted, I turned to see what was happening in the sauce pan.

The butter looked good. I stirred it quite a few times, then like the instructions said, I added in the milk.

I let it cool for a while. A few minutes later, I wished I hadn't. It looked like this:


IMG_2086.JPG

I was pretty sure it wasn't supposed to look like that.

The thought occurred to me, though, right about the time panic was coming on, that I could just reheat the butter and the milk together. So, very calmly, I did. The butter melted, and this time, stayed melted. Crisis, amazingly enough, averted.


IMG_2087.JPG

When it was ready, I added it to the rest of the ingredients in the bowl, hand mixed it (that's always fun to get beaten egg all over your fingers) and then set to the task of creating what were described as "football-shaped" patties.

They didn't really come out looking like footballs, but at this point, I didn't care.


IMG_2090.JPG

The pan I had to work with, while large, wasn't going to accommodate what turned out to be seven patties, so I started the first four, and figured I could add more as the meat shrank. In the meantime, I still had the instant potatoes, which I'd managed to mess up the last go around, and the mushroom gravy.

Both were easy enough. Water for the gravy, brought to a boil, simmer for a few minutes. Boil the water with butter for the potatoes, add in the flakes, then the milk. I think that's where I messed up last time. The milk went in before the flakes. Regardless, the potatoes turned out much better this time around.


IMG_2092.JPG

And the gravy worked out well, too. That just left frying up the rest of the meat and warming up some green beans. Because, you know, vegetables.

Prep to serving time took roughly two hours. It was supposed to take all of 40 minutes. Not when Grandpa's at the wheel! Anyway, with everything ready, I dished up the steak, mashed potatoes and green beans, and then sloshed on some gravy.

The Verdict

Delicious. The combination of ground pork, ground beef, seasonings and gravy really combined to a very tasty meat. Getting some mashed potatoes into the mix made it even better. Sorry, green beans. You were odd man out, but still nutritionally necessary.


IMG_2093.JPG

I need to do this again, and soon. Maybe within a month or two. I like how it turned out a lot, and in some ways, it reminded me of the shepherd's pie I made some months ago. That I need to cook again, too.

Well, that's it. I hope you enjoyed another edition of Grandpa Gotta Cook. I for one never know what's going to happen, which always seems to add to the excitement.

Until next time...

Enjoy!


All images courtesy of Glen Anthony Albrethsen

Food Fight Friday is a weekly contest that all are welcome to join. Here's how:

  • Post about food.

  • Post on Friday

  • Use the tag #fff.

  • Take a look at the posts of the other participants. You will probably want to vote for one, since that's how the the winners are determined each week.

  • Repeat.

Sort:  

@glenalbrethsen,
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 39
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

I got you with the wife having to step in on occasion to advert disaster.
The alternative to the heavy cream seemed to work out, as the end product looks delicious.
I don't know if you have ever tried leaving the skin on the potatoes and mashing the whole potatoe. With red potatoes the skin adds a wonderful flavor. Be back in a minute, I believe we have some left over smashed potatoes in the frig.

We did have some left.

IMG_2798.JPG

Still good, even cold. From what i understand most of the nutritional value is in the skin of the potato.
You may want to give it a try.
Happy Easter and God Bless you and your loved ones.

Thank you. I hope you had a good Easter too. We had both our sons and their families with us for the weekend, so that was very nice.

I do actually generally use potatoes, and if it's red or even golden potatoes, I usually leave the skin on. We'll do that for potato salad, too. Since we had the box of instant potatoes, I tried it the first time as a timesaver, but got the steps wrong. This time, since the box was open, I went for it again, and got it right. :) I think we're out of instant potatoes, so if do any more it will be back to making them from scratch.

Isnt it crazy how that always happens you decide what you want to cook and then your missing a couple of key ingredients, happens to me all the often as well.

bits been ages since i have had Salsbury Stealk now you have nme wanting it again soon

Messed up and drained my voting power a bit so !tip

Hey, @tattoodjay.

Tonight I'm cooking again, but I do have all the ingredients this time, so things should turn out okay. It's something I've made before, what our family calls American Tacos, so I won't be posting about it again next week. Still, I'm hoping to be done with the prep and cooking rather quickly.

Well, that's nice of you. Thank you for the tip. :)

dang are you trying to get me to stop being so good with my diet LOL, I love Tacos as well, actually thinking about it there not really to bad for my diet, now I need to decide which dish I will cook tomorrow to eat, either way I need a supermarket run as I don't have all the ingredients for either

You take away the tortillas, which is a lot of the carbs and the calories, and maybe tone down the cheese and sour cream, and tacos aren't that bad. Ground beef, taco seasoning, kidney beans, cheddar, olives, tomatoes, lettuce.

We do variations. Sometimes it's salad. That would seem to be in line with most diets, and it's still just as tasty, really. :)

Better go make that supermarket run.

No rush for the supermarket run thats for lunch tomorrow, so I will go early morning before it gets crowded there one of the Supermarkets here is on strike, so the one I go to is crazy busy at the moment so early morning is the best time to go there and get in and out quick.
Yes with thin and crispy tacos it wouldn't be to bad, and I do let myself have something more substantial and enjoyable on one day of the weekend as a treat :)

🎁 Hi @glenalbrethsen! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Fungi Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hey, @tipu.

Well, thanks for the tip service and for the referral. I've actually already been over to his blog and read about his favorite signs. :)

Howdy Glen,

The end product looks good. I am sure it is very delicious. But, so much work! And from that, one can tell you love to cook.

I eat to live. I will settle for a bowl of instant noodles, or a sandwich - if I have to prepare my own food. lol

Have a great weekend!

Hey, Vincent.

As far as recipes goes, this was one of the easier ones—if we had all the ingredients. My detour with the heavy cream certainly didn't help.

I can't say I do enjoy cooking that much, but it's fine when it goes as it should and then people like what I cooked. Otherwise, I'm not in it for the fame and glory. :)

I pretty much eat to live myself. If I didn't have to cook once a week, I wouldn't. It just helps to keep the peace right now while my wife is the one working full-time and my youngest son and his wife is here (she does most of the cooking).

re: end product

It was pretty good. Enough to make me think I need to do it again.

You could have fooled me, Glen. So much time spent in the kitchen and you don't enjoy cooking.
Anyhow, I am sure you are very pleased that dinner turned out well, and that everyone enjoyed it. :-)

Hey, Vincent.

I guess it could seem like I'm spending a lot of time, just because I end up writing about my adventures, but really, it's once a week, if that, so I'm not really getting into a rhythm, and then I'm always in a hurry to get it done because I want to get back to STEEM and finish off the week strong.

I can't say I totally hate it. I can do it when I need to. There are a few things I know how to do pretty well, and so I feel good when I make those. But otherwise, there's a lot of stress involved. :) I don't know if it's that big of a deal really. It is what it is.

This time dinner turned out good, as far as I'm concerned. I'm learning not to really care about what others think because they're too all over the board and there's really nothing I can do about it.

Glen, you are too nice and you pampered your children too much. They should be grateful grandpa is cooking, that there is food on the table at meal times. :-)

That looks pretty delicious @glenalbrethsen!

Salisbury steak is somewhat of a staple around here when we get to the "what's for dinner?" and nobody's feeling particularly inspired. Our own take on it is frying up a bunch of sliced onions in the pan drippings from the steaks and turning that into copious volumes of gravy which is tasty and can be used to cover a million sins...

=^..^=

Hey, @curatorcat.

I'm rather pleased how it turned out. Need to make it a regular part of what we eat, too. :)

That's funny that it's the go to when I've not really ever had it outside of a school cafeteria. I'm not weird, I promise. Okay, not abnormally weird. :)

I definitely could have gone for more gravy, and if I get ambitious enough, and make sure all the ingredients are there, I'll try that mushroom gravy recipe with copious amounts of mushrooms.

That onion gravy sounds tasty, too. :)

Looks like a great meal.

Hey, @redheadpei.

I'm happy with the way it turned out. It was kind of touch and go for a while there, but this time, I'm extremely happy to report, I was able to resuscitate the meal on my own. :)

I sure do remember those Italian meatballs, that was a good post, too, as is this one. If there was an award for consistency, you’d be a spoon-in! The dialogue, uniqueness, weekly, it’s all there, sir! Even the cook time overlapping by 3 or 4 times the norm. 😉

Happy Food fight, Glen, it’s always a pleasure hanging out in the kitchen with you. Happy Easter. God bless you guys.

Hey, @dandays.

Consistently running into trouble and having to McGyver my way out of things, without really being McGyver pretty much sums it up. :)

I've been weekly for a while again, but that can blow up at anytime. I'm glad to be consistent in the other things, though, so thank you for that.

Okay, not so much the tripled cooking time, but the rest.

Happy Easter to you, too. Thank you for the blessing, and may God bless you and yours as well. :)

Thanks God it ended deliciously pretty and neat @glenalbrethsen 😉 you are an amazing lucky chef with your trick and tricks 😊

Hey, @cicisaja.

Definitely amazingly lucky. I can go with that. :)

I think it did turn out good looking and good tasting. Not quite professional grade cooking or photography, but good enough for my blog. :)

re: trick and tricks

I feel like as I stumble upon tidbits of cooking wisdom, I should share them. :)

The meal looks great @glenalbrethsen! You had me laughing out loud a few times. I never have every single ingredient, welcome in the freestyle recipes. They usually turn out the best in my opinion. I’m glad your butter cream dilemma was quickly solved before it got out of hand. I know all too well what that panic of the meal not working out feeling is about. You got more skills than you give yourself credit for. Even stumbling through it still counts as getting through it… I bet the taste isn’t half bad either 😉

Hey, @puravidaville.

In this case, the taste was again better than the experience, definitely.

I try to check for the ingredients before I go for it, and barring that, see if there's a workaround. If both of those are a no go, well, it's on to the next recipe. I just got to learn that things aren't going to be as easy as they seem, or work in the order they prescribe. :)

I'm beginning to believe that stumbling through it is my specialty. :)

It just very well may be your super power 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69125.27
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61