Dragonfruitfoodfightfastball

in #fff6 years ago (edited)

“Vrreezrooooom!” Woah! Did you feel that?! I know you heard it. Look out, as in, you better quack. Duck, whatever, you know what I mean. That’s what a “vreezzzooom” woah!! ...That’s what a 16 ounce, softball shaped, palm-sized, aerodynamic dragonfruit sounds like when it’s flying across the kitchen at 87 mph. And I have more ammo than you:

3D001C5C-F6F6-40DD-B74F-8AFF3619BA1B.jpeg

Has it been a whole week already? Seems like just yesterday I was telling you about my Sprite addiction. Remember? Because it’s clear. When I’m on Steemit talking about Pepsi Sprite one week, then BHT “for freshness” the next, followed by Hemp Seeds and Maca and now this: Dragon Fruit - It must be @foodfightfriday.

Caught a dragonfruit lately? Depending on where you are it might be called Pitaya or Pitahaya. It’s a fruit that grows throughout tropical and subtropical regions. I had my first one about a month ago and the market hasn’t had any since. “Market” hmm... that’s a tough word to stomach these days - “Squirrel!” Dragonfruit isn’t particularly delicious or anything but they’re not bad either. That’s a good way to describe it: “Not good or bad.” Because, well, they don’t really taste like anything at all. Earlier this week a new shipment was on display at the market I mean coinmarket Danget!! I mean on display at the grocery store. I took a picture of it with my iPhone and used it as the cover image. But see how there’s two noticeably “vreerzrroooom” woah!! ...two noticeably different looking dragonfruits?

A450953E-BB54-4D9B-AE40-F03E2C98C142.jpeg

The ones circled in white have shiny green leaves and they’re aesthetically appealing. The ones circled in blue are kind of dull looking and they’re missing the pretty green leaves. Is that normal? I assumed one was just a little more ripe than the other so I got one of each:

A6435A4B-F4A3-4C99-B12A-839EEC8E038F.jpeg

Cut into them the same way you cut a mango or a kiwi. Or an avocado minus the pit. Split it in two by cutting longwise and down the middle. We cut the pretty one first:

CB8F2E8D-600F-4BC7-8F96-E08EDB5D02D7.jpeg

E456768A-BC8A-46BC-A0C9-D573260A0BE7.jpeg

D47A718D-5302-4367-AE2B-D0EFDF11DE36.jpeg

Looks just like the last one we got! It’s referred to as “blood red,” those black things are the seeds, they add a nice texture to the fruit. Scoop the dragonfruit out like a kiwi and enjoy! I recommend putting them in a smoothie or making an açaí bowl with a bunch of other good stuff because like I said earlier, they don’t really taste like anything at all. They’re packed with good health though, I’ll be more specific in a moment, and they’re actually a recommended dietary supplement for people trying to cut pounds. We cut into the not so aesthetically appealing one next:

44486995-24B2-4588-8F26-99BB849DB568.jpeg

8639DED9-9AFA-4DD0-8809-48191B960D60.jpeg

What in the real heck is that?!? It’s white! It isn’t blood red at all. At this point I’m thinking “I already ate the other one, which one is rotten?? Did I eat the rotten one?!” So I did what I always do regardless if it’s a drawing, food, defending myself against my wife, correcting the auto mechanic, trying to spell “hors d’oeuvres,” calling out a buddy on their nonsense, etc. I checked the market... danget! “Vreeerrzzrooooom!” Woah! No I did not check the market - I checked DuckDuckGo.

Whew! Blood red and/or white are both normal, neither are rotten - That’s comforting. They don’t taste any different, they’re both still real bland. If you want a bland white dragonfruit, pick the not so aesthetically pleasing one. If you’re feeling blood red and bland, grab yourself a pretty one. Here’s the “vrreerzoom!” ...Here’s the nutritional value in a dragon fruit. These nutritional facts are based on 3.5 ounces of dragonfruit, that’s it, roughly 1/4. Just eat the whole thing and multiply these numbers by four:

Calories: 52.
Protein: (muscle protector) 1.1 gram.
Fat: (energy, immune system) 0.4 grams.
Carbs: (energy, artery cleanser!) 11 grams.
Fiber: (digestive assistance) 3 grams.
Vitamin C: (immune system) 34% RDI.
(RDI = Recommended Daily Intake)
Iron: (particularly for women) 10.6% RDI.
Thiamine: (breaks down carbs & vit. b) 2.7% RDI.
Riboflavin: (aka vitamin B2) 2.9% RDI.

Same place next week, deal? Follow @foodfightfriday and show us what you’re cookin with for a chance to win some SBD.

02EAD9D2-CD0D-432B-AD6B-1C03477EDB2C.jpeg

Click Here if you missed @puravidaville representing #fff and the whole @foodfightfriday family earlier this week with her FIRST PLACE dish on #fruitsandveggiesmonday hosted by @lenasveganliving:
6DB68FED-37B6-4929-9D44-AE729FB8922C.jpeg

Clipped from @lenasveganliving

Click Here if we missed each other this week:
16CD39DB-3DB9-4B1E-8970-29D0F45BA03F.jpeg

Sort:  

I actually like the dragon fruit flavor. It’s very mild, like a kiwi but with more textured seeds. In a smoothie it’s perfection too, the fuchsia color really adds a special kind of goodness to your smoothie (not really but the color is amazing).

Good article, and thanks for the feature babe.

What feature, this one? Cure to an acidic tummy. Or was it the zucchini boats? The comedy one you did is frikkin funny! I still really like Plug in and disconnect though, I don’t know?? I think it’s still my favorite. Oh but there’s also the million dollar challenge one you did.

iheartu all the time!

Check out your fancy coding skills.… I heart you more Mr. Funny Guy

It does very much look like a kiwi!

The texture and taste is very kiwi like. I think they’re yum, Dandays is not so sure yet.

hahahaha your posts always make me laugh somewhere, or like this one, all the way through! Squirrel!!! I always say that I'm like a golden retriever puppy thrown in a field of low flying butterflies!! what? where? over there! this one? OH, here's another... :) Steemit is so bad for peeps like us; that would explain the 20 open tabs right now that my computer is desperately trying to keep up with!

Now, what the heck was this post about again? Ah yes, dragonfruit. It would be fun having a dragonfruit fastball fight by the way, but what I really wanted to tell you is that I have never seen the blood red ones. In Canada, only the white ones, and I've seen them here in Mexico, but since I'm not a huge fan, I've never bought one. Now I'll have to just to see the color inside. I always thought they tasted a bit like a weird sweet radish :)

Ok so let me make sure I understand this right.. When I leave a big, huge, long, story book like, post-sized, nearly a novel in length response to your posts/comments I don’t have to be like “danget was that too long?!” after I click the post button? -noted

Happy Friday, sure is nice to see you, dang market! The pleasures all my... Weekend, ahh.... “Squirrel!”

What the heck was I responding to again?! Oh ya!! Are you serious about never seeing a blood red one?! That’s two people now who have said that same thing. That’s rather peculiar. It’s probably not a bad idea to dig into see what I did there? this a little deeper.

Thanks a lot for stopping by @lynncoyle1!

Happy Friday, sure is nice to see you, dang market! The pleasures all my... Weekend, ahh.... “Squirrel!”

hahaha that's hilarious!!! Please don't change a thing!!

I've been sitting outside with my laptop for about three hours now, and have a couple of comments answered, 50 tabs open, a bunch of new photos of my cat on my phone, stopped to swing in the hammock, blah blah blah ... "Squirrel!"

So, where were we? Oh yeah, blood red dragonfruit! Very punny ...I'll dig into if for sure :)

Hah, very nice. I’ve eaten a few dragon fruit but never thrown one (or been hit by one yet) theres a first time for everything though...
Also I take it from perusing your blog that you don’t eat meat? 2 points for that.

“Guilty!” Don’t pay too close attention though cuz the blog changes each day.. I can’t figure out what I suck at the most I guess... music, comedy, art, poetry, do stick around sir and we’ll see if we can figure it out together.

Thanks a lot for stopping by @shookriya!

I have seen dragon fruit but I don't think I've ever tasted one. Also the ones I've seen have been white on the inside.
Hmmm

Interesting right? Taste the same, look a little different on the outside and totally different on the inside.

Hey you killed it today with your eggplant fries. We’ll be making those soon. We’re learning new ways to eat eggplant actually, I can’t wait to let you know what I think of the fries. Good lookin out!

Thanks for stopping by @lizzyib, I look forward to seeing you on Fridays.

wow beautiful

Thank you for stopping by @raksha.

“Vrreezrooooom!” !!! Lol, i didnt know you liked rotten fruit lol. Thank goodness it wasnt rotten. Learn something new everyday: ).

Man I was so happy to learn the two polar opposite colors are normal. “Yes!!”

Thanks for stopping by @weirdheaches, Friday’s just seem to get more and more fun each week!

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you @steemitboard, did you see that @foodfightfriday? Looks like the winner’s already been announced.

Dude, have you ever heard the saying "Great minds think alike"?... well, I swear I never even looked at the other entries this week before writing mine. Funny how we both decided to big-up some fruit!

Dragon fruit - seen it, yeap. Tryed it, not yet! Not sure if the ones I've seen in our local mar... store have the white or the red middle. I'll have to pay more attention next time I go shopping. Hell, I might even buy one just to check out this bland flavour you describe.

.03 cents is all you’re getting from me I guess. I’m running under 60% dude.. looks like I better hibernate.

I’ve had some pretty good feedback regarding this dragonfruit. I’d like to know what other people think and I’m curious to know if it’s as expensive around the globe as it is here. I wouldn’t be surprised if the stuff they’re selling in California isn’t invented instead of planted and they’re actaually delicious!

I have heard the great minds thing! You definitely have my vote but who’s the other one?? Thanks for stopping by @sivehead!

.03 cents is all you’re getting from me I guess

I'm reading your vote as .03 $ or 3 cents. Thats 3 times the value of my votes on a good day! Thanks @dandays!

I have heard the great minds thing! You definitely have my vote but who’s the other one??

Ha, you must of seen him... he's that weird looking dude, I think he was last seen in your bathroom mirror!

hello you’ve reached @dandays answering service. He said please accept this bogus response method as a token of appreciation because he’s out of power and can’t upvote you or anyone else until tomorrow at 08:00. His response is as follows:
“.03 cents as in 3 pennies, it’s ok! Just vote me 3 times!”

“It was dark in there this am, I couldn’t see the toilet or the mirror or anything but I’m pretty sure I made it!”

😂🤣😂 man... I hope you realise that I have to sit here explaning to wifey why I'm giggling at my phone every time I read your responses!

I hope you understand it still isn’t 8 o’clock tomorrow so I can’t upvote you!
Fun fact: I just handed mine my phone to read this whole conversation cuz it’s way too’fa King funny to keep to myself.

Hey, @dandays. Can't say I've ever eaten dragonfruit, but I have eaten papaya, and to me, that's a pretty bland tasting fruit. Interesting with the different coloring on the inside and the out. Are they supposed to be two different kinds of dragonfruit, or just in different stages of it? Kind of strange there would be no taste difference whatsoever.

Sure is nice to see you again, I saw you made an appearance in the kitchen last week with those Grandpa gotta cook Chili Beans and Steak.

Actually ya, the research I did said the dragonfruit is common in either blood red or white and I didn’t dig a whole lot further than that. Location may have something to do with the coloring, good question?? The exterior of the two are noticeably different and like you read.. they’re qually bland.

Thanks for stopping by @glenalbrethsen!

Hahaha i thought you went all paranoid on your rotten dragonfruit, did you consume too many hemp seeds maybe :P ?

Your spelling of h'oredevres is on point btw! How educated !

Speaking of which, I've learnt today that Dragonfruit doesn't come from the video game "Don't Starve" and exists, I need to travel more!

Hey BRO !!!
I was thinking....

You wanna go all abstract and shit ?How many colors you have on your pallet Bob Ross? Can you do it but try to not respect the original picture and get something completely different?
It was done with google deepdream , you've heard of it?

ed privat.jpg

Man I don’t want to sound like a bummer but I don’t even have a pallet and I actually just learned who bob Ross is like a month ago.

Just being real though, I’ve never painted and I’m confident the image you sent me looks better than anything I would attempt even if I went and got new colored pencils. But if I need to get new pencils then so be it.

But you’re a challenging type of dude and I’m not surprised you’d come at me sideways. I coulda swore you were my age, it’s obvious you’ve put in long days in your early 30 years.

The image finish drawing is just that.. this part right here is the fun part. Please take your time, no rush, like I said I suck at hard bids.

I’m going to need to get some q&a dude, you cool with that? Should we do that here or.... eh don’t worry about this today Ed, ya’all enjoy your weekend. Get at me next week or whenever.

edit: Dang man! I just saw that your rep is at a 65 now. Wasn’t I ahead of you at one point? Are you famous already?!
(Now I’ve heard of it)

I don't know about the rep man I don't check enough !
Feeling good.jpg

This one would be easier?

Well, for me it would be dude. I’m confident you and I will have this Steemit account for many moons but the moons we’re enjoying these days have only seen me use pencils. Laugh out loud! That’s a crafty way of saying, ‘I admire your challenging attitude.’

Easier, though? Ya, for sure. But do you want it? I would zoom in something like this? (Don’t trip, @puravidaville is still thing to select an image)

D7AEC1E1-B781-407D-89E1-C749BDF9450E.jpeg

This is perfect bro you working so hard every time!
I agree with you , I really believe that Steemit will be there for quite a while too :) I have no doubt that soon you will have all sort of paints, on your new boat :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70