The Nurishing Cure To An Acidic Tummy: fruits and veggies Monday

We had Thai food for dinner the night before and all that spice left my stomach so acidic that it was time I make an alkaline soup to detox our special little digestive systems.

4F2E0B62-17E8-451D-9FB3-7971ACF0E14F.jpeg

Black Bean Quinoa Kitchen Sink Detox Soup

I know what you’re thinking… “why does @puravidaville make so much soup in the dead of Summer”? Well, because it’s good!

My husband and I have been on a Thai food kick lately so ordering Pad Thai (no egg or fish sauce of course) wasn’t out of the usual on this particularly scorching Saturday evening. The spice level that showed up with our dishes was unusual though. My god, I mean we totally pained ourselves trying to get it down. The food ended up being so spicy (like we were stuffing our faces with the sun) that we just couldn’t finish it. Big booooo!

The next morning I started my day with a smoothie and run, per usual, but was pestered with this overwhelming acidic feeling in my stomach. It was so severe that I thought I may have had food poisoning for a brief moment. I decided that this day would then be a day to detox and nurture my body with some good ole alkaline soup. Soup can be so healing in so many ways.

49517F57-3620-4834-A943-EFC954AD0E43.jpeg

I call it kitchen sink soup because I throw everything in there. Kale, broccoli, rainbow carrots, celery, summer squash, tomatoes, onion, bell peppers, quinoa, and garlic (of course) seemed like a good start to a healthy soup.

C8BCD3B1-B90C-4788-9321-9B2A61375DA4.jpeg

I always sauté the onions until translucent and then throw in the bells until cooked about the same. Sometimes I use olive oil but lately have been cooling more with coconut oil. I’ve read somewhere that olive oil shouldn’t be heated too high, that it’s not good for you… I’ve been cooking with it for so long it’s a tough habit to break.

CBD9DA93-BF8E-43CF-8619-ED641F6F9C86.jpeg

Then I toss in the garlic and everything else. Get a load of those colorful carrots would ya. That purple and yellow combination certainly looks like a healthy vegetable. Usually I’m not the biggest fan of cooked carrots but something about the white, yellow and purple ones please my taste buds.

A7A18742-3F1B-4A58-A8A4-476B20AD5D83.jpeg

Check out this pot of goodies pre quinoa and black beans. I mean meals like this just scream “nourishment”.

99C1A0BE-A9D5-4D42-AA06-EFFEB584BA44.jpeg

I added some water, tomato paste (everything is better with tomato paste), and I think basil, oregano, cracked pepper and sea salt. I wanted to keep the flavor of the vegetables so was real light handed on the seasoning. However, I think I’ve said it before: I never make the same thing the same way twice, so am guessing this is what I used.

EF0D41A7-53F9-4028-BF87-7A88CEE51C4C.jpeg

And there it is folks, the secret bay leaf that subtly infuses its flavor. (So, I added some water, tomato paste, basil, oregano, cracked pepper, sea salt and a bay leaf). Haha

C086AC0C-B01A-445F-A077-7EA50D50FE2C.jpeg

There you have it, Black Bean Quinoa Kitchen Sink Detox Soup sprinkled with fresh radish rounds and finished with a pinch of organic sunflower seeds.

BBB952C4-1E99-47A1-A80D-2746781BE8A8.jpeg

I was able to cure my houses collective acidic tummies with all of this nourishment and more love. Thank you to @lenasveganliving for having me again this week in the #fruitsandveggiesmonday competition. Everyone who participates here is so talented and creative with their dishes that I am just glad to be here.

I hope ya’ll enjoy your week and thanks again for stopping by- it’s always my pleasure.

Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

Reason No. 1,956.

Hey no buttering up FFF Contenders in an attempt to get their vote.
C6A8B182-46AB-4F95-89F2-8247CDEE928A.gif
I’m watching you

Haha… I so love your comedy. I bet your house is so much fun. Haha. Thank you for the support and thank you for the resteem. My #foodfightfriday family is pretty dope!

I’m still feeling the effect of that Pad Thai round house.

You’re the best!

Looks delicious
I gotta try making this :)

It’s a cinch, just throw everything in your kitchen in a pot and you’re good to go.

This looks delicious. I should cook it soon because I need some acidic-tummy cure for sure.

Oh and noticed they're organic! Beautiful.

Oh please do. I’d love to hear how it turns out @lovenfreedom. You noticed the ‘organic’. Haha, if I can buy organic I will. It’s a small comfort to feel like there are no pesticides or additives to your food.

I Love both olive oil & coconut. Bravo. Beautiful dish.

I do too! Thank you for saying that. I really do appreciate all the love from my #foodfightfriday family, you’re all dope!

Looks delicious! A well-earned winning post for the Fruits and Veggies Monday competition 😉

Thank you so much @rawadventuress, I love the support!

I can see a couple of organic eggs in this. Delicious.

Congratulations @puravidaville! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Kitchen sink soup!! Hahaha. Did you detox the sink or did the sink detox you? I love your sense of humour @puravidaville. And, of course, another yummy recipe. Love Thai flavours

Thank you @buckaroo. I’m just trying to keep up with all of the fruits and veggies Monday recipes. Some of these entries are just incredible! I always appreciate you stopping by my friend ✌️

Oh I agree. Some are really incredible. I find there are some photos that are as much a feast for the eyes as the actual recipe. I am delighted that my suggestion to you has opened up a new challenge for you, as well as lovely people to interact with

Thank you for noticing me @buckaroo. It’s truly been my pleasure getting to know so many new people.

Congratulations @puravidaville! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I made soup yesterday, too! Luckily I wasn't suffering from spice overload (glad this helped you feel better), but I did eat out with a friend over the weekend and always feel a little bloated with the extra sodium I'm not used to. Soup is always a great way to cure what ails you! And it's always great that you can just use what you have on hand and it always comes out delicious.

It’s such a soothing, healing dish. When in doubt make soup. Haha

Eating out used to be such a regular thing for us but now it’s more concerning than a treat. I really like knowing EVERYTHING that goes into our food and have come accustomed to eating so well that my body can really feel the difference when we don’t. As always thanks for stopping by @plantstoplanks, you always make me feel good with your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52