Food Fight Friday - Eggplant "Fries"

in #cooking6 years ago

Eggplant.jpeg

As some of you know I am on dialysis, and with it comes some pretty staunch restrictions. So that means I need to get a little creative with my food (some of you may have noticed).

I wanted more than anything to have french fries, but alas potatoes are on the DO NOT EAT list. So I decided to try these eggplant "fries" instead.

First things first. Procure and secure your star.

aviary-image-1534804248832.jpeg

Next peel and cut your eggplant into fry-like pieces.

20180820_135457.jpg

Take an egg and beat it like Michael would.

1535120765858.jpg

Pro tip - if you're looking to go all vegan with it (ahem @dandays) substitute the egg with 1 cup unsweetened almond milk and 1 tbs dijon mustard.

Now for the crunch. Combine:

  • 1 1/2 cup of cornmeal
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp of paprika

20180820_140501.jpg

Now get dipping!! First the egg, then the cornmeal.

20180820_140819.jpg

Line them up on a greased cookie sheet and pop them into a pre-heated 400 degree oven for 25 mins. Flip them at the 15 minute mark for golden perfection.

20180820_141451.jpg

And that's it! Golden, crispy, eggplant fries. These were not potato fries, but still not half bad.

Also full disclosure. I did do a youtube video on this for all of my kidney friends there. Watch it if you want!

Again thanks to @foodfightfriday for the great tag and see you all next week!

L.

Sort:  

I think that you can eat potatoes even everyday with the kind of dialysis quality you get there at Canada @lizzyib
But you inspire me to cook but it is nearly impossible now.

Naaah. A potato is almost double the potassium of a banana, even with my dialysis I should stay away from them unless I leach some of the potassium out through soaking them first.l

I like your discipline. When my potassium is high I could feel that my heart skip beats. After dialysis it goes away.

Whaatt?! Did I just see a healthy fry, a shout out and a YouTube video? Hey @foodfightfriday, put me down for this one.

Happy Friday @lizzyib! I hope you feel healthier that you’ve ever felt right now.

Never have I thought to make fries like this. Thanks for the very creative and fun idea. Your #foodfightfriday posts are always fun. :). Good job @lizzyib

"First things first. Procure and secure your star." Hahaha that cracked me up. Great substitute and they look yummm :)

When i dip u dip we dip lolol

Hitting everyone with a video too. That’s a deadly 1-2 combo

it's looking so tasty!

Ok so this one had me a slight bit confused for a second. 'How the hell did she do that?' I thought. 'How did she beat that hard boiled egg back in to a liquid?'.

I had to zoom right in before I relised that the egg in fact had a white shell. Is that a chicken egg?

The egg we get look like a kinda weird beige with a tinge of pinky sort of colour.... hang on....

20180825_000801.jpg

There you go, like that.

The only time they look white is once they're cooked.

Ooohkaaay. Looking back I can see why you may have thought I did some sort of wizardry. Mostly the eggs here in the supermarket are white. You can buy the brown eggs, however they are not nearly as widely available as the white. It is indeed a chicken egg from a white chicken instead of a brown one.

Nah, they don't lay colour coded eggs do they?... really?

I'm gonna have to Google that one. Lol

It's a thing!!!

Hey, @lizzyib.

I'm trying to think if I've even had eggplant before. Maybe, but it was part of another dish wherein the eggplant wasn't the star, per se....? I don't remember. Anyway, if there's any way to eat an eggplant, this has to be it!

Pretty amazing idea, and a video to boot. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67685.37
ETH 3498.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71