Feminism Sunday: It's Not About The Sisterhood

in #feminism6 years ago (edited)

Okay, let's do this. Let's tread on ground I probably shouldn't. Because I am a dude. But... I think this is a thing that needs to be said: Feminism isn't about the sisterhood. It's about promoting equality for women and other marginalized populations. And there are women who choose to be opposed to that. This is Feminism Sunday.

https://oneplace.media/storage/a9/88/4b/a5/1cb670b45535.png

First, a clarification: Feminism Sunday is aimed primarily at my fellow men. This is why I often explain shit that's obvious and basic here. I am trying to convey my knowledge, gleaned from reading the words of many feminists over the years, in the hope dudes listen to it if it comes from a fellow dude. Also, I am not here to judge your feminism. This is general knowledge, and my understanding of it, and I am certainly not the arbiter of feminism.

Supporting women is important, but I'm not gonna support Laura Ingraham or Dana Loesch just because they're women. I'm not going to rejoice that the UK has had two women PMs when one of them was an actual monster and the other is as empty a suit as any male empty suit in politics. I'm not going to celebrate Israeli PM Golda Meir, who said "there's no such thing as a Palestinian people."


If you side with oppression, I am not going to side with you. And I don't think siding with you is the feminist thing to do. This is a basic misunderstanding of Identity Politics. Itentity Politics is about being aware of the oppression that people of certain identities are faced with. It's not about supporting anyone from a certain identity no matter what they do. That's not identity politics, it's not feminism and it's not progressive. That's tribalism. And I will have no part in it.

Let's take someone I used to admire a great deal: Former UFC champ and current WWE Superstar Ronda Rousey. Here's a woman succeeding massively in a male dominated industry. For a while, Ronda was the biggest global star in combat sports. And I loved her!

But when she revealed herself to be transmisogynist and a Sandy Hook Truther, that love and support went away. I hope she apologizes for both of those, but it's been years, and she hasn't.


I know one possible response to this is: "why are you judging people for having opinions and views that are different than yours?" To which I say: opinions and views that support hate and oppression aren't just opinions and views. They lead directly to people being hurt.

The fight against oppression is long and ongoing. Let us stand with those who stand against it, and not give our support to those who don't.

Related Posts

Allyship Sunday: Ally Is A Verb
Feminism Sunday: Splaining
Allyship Sunday: Stay In Your Lane
Feminism Sunday Redux
Feminism Sunday: Should It Continue?
Feminism Sunday: Feminists on the Blockchain
Feminism Sunday: Feminism 101, With GIFs!
On White Feminism
I Don't Want Ally Cookies
You Are Not An Alpha
Let's talk intersectionality
TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

steemsig.jpg

Sort:  

For anyone who care: as a person who is not a dude, I totes co-sign this post. Lol...

Many great points across the board, @didic! <3

Hard same! Way to be amazing, @didic :D

Absolutely agree. We can just say that in the last US election I was very unhappy with how many people accused me of being anti-feminist.

Very well said @didic, it is not ok to standby and allow hate to grow. We have voices and we need to us them.

Congratulations @didic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Congratulations @didic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

OMG I love you! Nice to see Israelis.

Following.

FYI I create a lot of Qabalistically inspired art where I explore the feminine aspect of divinity. My art might be of potential interest to you. I think you might understand my art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60