Feminism Sunday: Should It Continue?

in #feminism6 years ago (edited)

I started posting about feminism here because I saw a need. Compared to pretty much every online community I'm a member of, or have been in recent years, there seemed to be a dearth of discourse on feminism. Conversations would arise somewhere on Steemit or Discord, and I would respond with a general explainer post.

feminismSunday.png

Now, however, the landscape seems different to me. @TeamGirlPowa, where I'm a mod, has become a more explicitly feminist server, and I've become aware of more women writing about feminism and gender on here. @isabellelauren, who I mentioned in last week's Sunday Feminism post, writes wonderfully about feminism. @mariacaffrey's LGBT+ posts are invaluable, and @malloryblythe's post Is There Really an Advantage to Being a Woman on Steemit? was great and stirred up quite a debate. All of these women are members of TGP, most of them new to new-ish members.

And so I wonder, is there any point in me still doing these posts? Should I switch my focus, write more about allyship? I've resteemed posts by @isabellelauren and @mariacaffrey, and will likely do so again.

I'd like to hear what people think. I'd especially like to hear what feminist women and trans folk have to say about this. Definitely the women mentioned, but also @steampunk-penny, @TeamGirlPowa founder @limabeing, and others Thanks in advance for your thoughtful comments.

steemsig.jpg

Sort:  

My two cents:
You should continue even though there are also amazing women writing on feminism topics - there is a severe lack of male writers on feminism and I think this alone is an important role you fulfill.

Even when more feminist writers arrive on Steemit they will not share all your followers and therefore you will have your own (added) reach compared to others too.

With should I mean: when you are interested and inspired. If allyship is something that's on your mind - please write about that. It's all valuable and there can't be a lack of feminist writers IMHO.

Ditto! @didic, there will always be a need to have explicit male feminism advocacy. I personally love that you are so intentional about posting and making an impact with each one. But like @soyrosa shared, contribute to this space when you are truly inspired to do so! Maybe that means deviating from a schedule. Either way, I am grateful for your effort and for always being so genuine, @dicic!

I was about to type almost this same thing, so I’m chiming in to say “I second this!”. There is a critical lack of men willing to be actively, vocally feminist and show up regularly as allies. We need more examples of what allyship looks like in action -- and I think you’re filling that niche admirably.

Here to agree with these wonders.

I second each point that @soyrosa has so perfectly articulated!

and I'll add that overall, I'm still very hungry for posts on feminism in all it's varied facets. Yes there may be other writers but not nearly enough, so keep them coming!

This is very well said! I agree 100%!

I discovered the people you mention above through your posts, but I think posts on allyship would be great. Of course, those are going to be feminist as well, so maybe they would help bring more people into the fold, by giving them practical knowledge and advice?

I think you ought to keep writing, as you are inspired to do so. There are plenty of folks who appreciate your work, and (sadly) plenty others who might be more open to feminism from a man's point of view. You link to other great feminists, so your work can serve as a good entry point for folks who need help finding feminist voices here on Steemit!

I think you should do both if you have the time, I certainly like to read what you have to say.

I would like to see you keep doing these. We can never have too many voices. More voices means more people will hear about it :)

I'm with pretty much everyone else here - I love that you write about feminism and I'm glad to have your voice in the conversation!

Thirdwave feminism is absolute garbage.
Enormous sense of entitlement with no responsibility for anything whatsoever.
And constant blaming of everything and everyone but themselves for own failures.
Very narrow minded, and self absorbed people.

By the way, stuff early feminists were saying is quite laughable. Im not sure I can even quote it, unfortunately steem is not Voat were there is a freedom of speech.

Nope.

No. That's amazingly cold and inaccurate. Wow.

Hi @didic. I upvote and commented for your post. I like this profil. Because i like femenizm. Good luck 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60