My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family - Part IV - What Happened to the Abusers?

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

I first started this post with an introduction that asked the question: How Different Would My Life have Been Had We Been Turned Over to CPS?

In my past post of this series, I describe my [memories of my childhood of nightmares of of my brother holding a knife to my throat and later finding out that I was reliving a repressed memory. In part 11, I described my reoccurring nightmare of being Inside the kalediscope and also described an incident where my sister was raped by my uncle under the tree house and my feelings of betrayal when my mother tried to hide the rape from my Daddy in order to protect her younger brother.

In this post I will attempt to write about what happened to the abusers and how most were able to make the needed changes in their lives to keep our family together as a unit. My final post I will write my conclusion as to why I feel that even after all the traumatic events that transpired, why I feel now that my mother did what she had to do to keep our family together as a unit versus getting the law and CPS involved. Also how these experiences led be to working with abused youth in "the system" and guided me into being an Advocate for @familyprotection.

...

Read "My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family.. Introduction - How Different Would My Life have Been Had We Been Turned Over to CPS??

Read "My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family - Part 1 - The Nightmares of a Child - The Knife"

Read "My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family - Part 11 - The Nightmares of a Child - Inside the Kaleidoscope"

Read - My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family - Part 111 - Under The Tree House

If you haven't read my previous post in this series, I suggest you read them now, then come back to:

What Happened to the Abused and the Abusers?

The Abused:

Carolyn

Carolyn, my sister was raped by my uncle as a teenager. She is now in her mid 70's. Has 3 boys and one daughter and several grand and great grand kids. Her husband is deceased and she lives alone. Last I talked to her, she had plans to move back to the home place where we all grew up.

Emy

Emy was brutally raped by my uncle at around the age of 13. She has been married and divorced several times. She had one boy and two girls by her first husband. She divorced him when she found out he was cheating on her. She has several grand and great grand kids. She lives in a mobile home by herself and sleeps with a gun and a knife under her mattress.

The Abusers:

Sonny

Sonny got kicked out of our home when he was around 18. He kept coming home drunk and picking fights with our Daddy. He eventually got married and moved back home with his wife where he lived until he passed away last year. He was around 78 when he died. He had one boy and two girls. According to Emy and Carolyn, he also forced them to have sex with him when they both were in their teens.. I think he may have also been a victum of our uncle Junior as he use to brag that he had had sex with both males and females. He appeared to be my Uncles understudy.

Uncle Junior

Uncle Junior was never allowed to return to our home after Daddy found out about the rapes. He was a victum of the Vietnam War and had flash backs of being attached by the Viet Kong. He would be shooting at cars through his window in his living room. He blew his brains out with his shot gun in his own home about 10 years ago. He never got the help he so desperately needed. The whole system let him down.

My Mother

After the rape of my sister by my uncle, Mom's younger brother, my mother joined the Pentecostal Church and became a minister. She was dearly loved by all who knew her at that time. She managed to hold our family together and earned our forgiveness. She died of cancer in 1978, the year my daughter was born. I was in living Turkey when she died, so she never saw anything but photos of my daughter.

I loved all of my family dearly, in spite of all that happened. I am so grateful that we were all able to stay together and grew up to raise our own families. All of us girls were over protective of our children and managed to live happy, healthy and productive lives.

Thank you all for taking the time to read my stories and for your overwhelming expressions of support. This has indeed been a time of reflection and healing of wounds I had no idea still existed. I simply had to see the "situations" from the perspective that the Abusers were also the abused.

My next and final post in this series, I will attempt to sum up my conclusions and hopefully hit on the right words to help you all to "get past your past and into to the present in order that you can face your futures without guilt or remorse. May God wrap His loving arms around you and give you the calm and strength to keep your own families together!

Next Post: The Conclusion
...

If you would like to read some of the previous stories of "My Life as a Detention Officer," You will find the links listed on this post by @canadian-coconut:

CPS and Foster Care Abuses: -- INDEX of PUBLISHED STORIES now on the Steemit Blockchain

Please take the time to read, upvote and resteem the above post to show your 100% support for this cause. Also, please visit the blogs of these authors and consider doing the same. Most of these cases are still on-going and any financial support you can give them could make a difference in whether these family units can be saved!

What Is @familyprotection? What Are The Rules? How Do I Donate?

If you are concerned about where these funds are going, please take the time to read this post:

We are Family Protection, Keeping Families Safe, Together

@markwhittam grew up in the care of CPS and then many years later he and his family had to flee their country under threats from the state to take their child because they home schooled.

Linda, @canadian-coconut, started @familyprotection because she has helped several families who have been torn apart at the hands of the legal kidnappers aka. Child Protection Services.

It is up to us as a Community to uncover the truth and spread this truth worldwide!

If you or someone you know have children that are now wards of the state and/or government, we encourage you to share your story. If you are an underage youth caught up in this insane cycle of abuse and control..Please share your story..If you have friends in abusive situations..Please have them share their story. We here at steemit.com have caring people that that are willing to help you in anyway we can.

If you wish to donate in support of this project, please do so by sending your donations in the form of Steem, Steem Power and or SBD to @familyprotection

Show your support for @familyprotection, @markwhittam, and @canadian-coconut by visiting their blogs, leaving comments revelent to this most worthy cause, upvoting and resteeming as many of these posts as you feel drawn to do.

Before-using-the-familyprotection-tag-please-read-this

If you find this post helpful, please consider UPVOTING and RESTEEMING.

Active Posts by The Three Hugs

MAHALO FOR YOUR SUPPORT!!

Sort:  

@thethreehugs I'm crying while reading this....it hurts to know how you have been through...and I hate the situation...the hatred came from the nightmare of the past

Oh my dear, didn't mean to make you cry. I have had and am having a beautiful life. I have learned to dream new and happier dreams.

You are a very warm and forgiving woman! I envy you for that.. Thank you for sharing your stories! <3

Ahhh thank you my dear friend. Forgiveness frees us to create more beauty in our lives.

Thank you for sharing this. I'm truly amazed at how much forgiveness you have found in your heart.
Do you know if the rest of the family knew why your uncle was banished from your house?

Oh yes, they knew..Yes, it took me many years to get to the point of forgiveness but well worth it not to carry that hate and resentment around, especially for my uncle.

When you can make something good out of something bad...it is a blessing. God does that many times. Once in a while we do it ourselves. It sound like a few of your family members have been able to as well. Sad for the others. I appreciate how personal your story. is. It makes me consider opening op more with a story. I do not remember did you change the names or are those the real names? Again thanks my friend and blessings. - Troy

Part are their real names and others are their nicknames. You should open up more. You be surprised how liberating it is!! Like I tell everyone, my Daddy didn't raise no fool and he certainly didn't raise any quitters. Lol. His famous words "When you have to walk through shit, just pull up you bootstraps and wade through it. "

Heartbreaking post and I willl certainly keep it saved in order to read the rest -and most important!- that I missed already.
Tragedies can do 2 things in families: Bring them closer or tear them apart [I lived through both in my family] - I'm glad to see that yours came out stronger than ever! <3

Thanks my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61574.21
ETH 3389.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52