Evolved08gsr's Daddy Daycare Week - Day 1 (End of the Day)

in #family7 years ago (edited)

TODAY'S UPDATE: I survived Day 1!

Here are my earlier posts:


The more time that passes with my son, the more I appreciate how amazing my wife is and how much work that she does! I honestly believed that I would be able to get more done in the amount of time that I've had at home, but having an infant absolutely limits how much you can do. I give so much credit to single parents. I'm temporarily in this role while my wife is traveling, but I can't imagine having to do this 24/7/365 with no help from friends or family.

This is my new view of my wife:


source

And this is how I'm feeling this week!


source


I expected that I would be able to get a ton of errands done during the day, considering as long as I get my work done in a reasonable time, I don't NEED to do it during the 9 AM to 5 PM timeframe. I can start early in the morning before taking care of my son, and continue after I put him down for bed.

I have come to learn that this is an unreasonable expectation.

There are many things that I do NEED to get done during the day related to work, and finishing that work in-between getting any personal errands done during the day is challenging to say the least. Plus, there are certain requirements related to my job that limit how far I can go away from home if I were to run some errands, or how much time I can plan to spend away from my computer.

Some work I can respond to over the email, text or a phone call. Other items strictly require my laptop and all of the goodies on it. For that reason, I can't exactly plan to spend a full day out of "the office" doing a variety of errands. I need to take short trips, and strategically plan them around my "lunch hour" (which doesn't really exist because I typically work through the hours when lunch occurs -- typically by working while eating at my laptop).


Did I mention that I am so very grateful for my amazing wife? She does this on a weekly basis! On top of all that I'm doing, she also commutes into her company office at least 3 times per week, in about an hour of traffic each way! Super-Woman!


Back to my story .. Tonight was great, albeit a short amount of time with my son before bed. I picked him up around 4:45 PM from Daycare and arrived home safely by 5:00 PM. This car ride was actually a lot of fun. I offered him my hand, reaching toward the back seat, and he rotated holding each of my fingers! He would grab one finger, hold on for a few seconds, then switch to the next finger, hold for a few seconds, and continue on .. jumping around finger-to-finger and starting over again.

So a great ride home, then we jumped straight into Dinner. He ate almost everything that I put in front of him and didn't complain until he had eaten a decent amount of food. At that point, he got his bottle and all was well again in his world :)

After he finished his bottle, I "stole" an extra 10 minutes or so of daddy-son playtime before he started getting overtired. At the first sign of his fatigue while playing, I picked him up and let him know that we were going to get ready for bed!

This bedtime routine included reading a book together. I love reading books with him. It makes me so happy seeing him point to the pictures on the pages and trying to turn the pages of the book while we read.

Another amazing day in my life. I truly feel so blessed and am grateful for every moment that I spend with my son.

... Until tomorrow!

_____________________________________________________

Thanks for reading, I hope you have a great day!
_____________________________________________________

If you want to read more, please take a look at some of my other posts:

Sort:  

I became a stay at home father in 2003 after having congestive heart failure from a virus that attacked the left side of my heart . At that time they put a implantable cardiac defibrillator in me and changed the battery every 2 to 3 years. Through time my heart got worse. Doing things with my daughter got to be physically challenging at times . There were times when we were riding bikes l had to stop and rest my heart could not pump oxygen to my body couldn't sleep lying down either I couldn't breathe. But never let it stop the hugs and kisses. The bedtime stories , the short walks hand and hand , the games we played together. It was hard to except at first because I was the one working full time. The roles definitely changed. I was eventually put on the heart transplant list and received the gift of a new heart December 25 on Christmas Day. The operation was done December 26 at two or three o'clock in the morning. Some may see it as a misfortune but when l think about it . l wouldn't change a thing. I will always cherish the memories and the future good times that are waiting for my daughter and l. She will always be the shining star in my heart. Yes l can definitely relate to what you're talking about being a stay-at-home parent and trying to still do my freelance art work was and still is challenging. I love you're post.

Wow, your story is amazing. I really appreciate that your shared it! I'm happy to hear that you were able to receive a heart transplant, and I hope that after the operation your challenges have decreased (are you able to sleep laying down now / is it easier to move around?).

I simply love all of the moments that I am able to spend with my son. Between him and my wife, I have been extremely blessed. I couldn't ask for a better pair of people to spend my time with.

Thanks for reading, and again, thank you so much for sharing your story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57