Purple Cabbage - My Thursday Favourites #16 Contest Entry

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

My favorite vegetable is purple cabbage and I eat it daily when I can. I love the color and taste and price and health benefits and have no downside whatsoever!

cabbage friut and veggie monday fitinfunfood5.jpg

Here is a bit of purple cabbage in some salad rolls I made (pre-rolling shot) and they were fantastic!

Fruit and veggies monday cabbage fitinfunfood.jpg

I'm always going to cut my cabbage finely and eat it raw or cooked.

Fruit and veggies monday cabbage fitinfunfood (2).jpg

But I first add some lemon or vinegar which is supposed to increase the health benefits. I do not know if it does, but now I like the taste of it that way, so I do it. The color releases nicely and I am sure to get all the juice!

Fruit and veggies monday cabbage fitinfunfood (1).jpg

This is the cost in Malaysia for a half a head. This is about 60 cents usd and will last me close to a week. This head was already more than halfway gone when I took the photo.

Fruit and veggies monday cabbage fitinfunfood (4).jpg

Sort of an action shot of the lime juice trick.

random fruits and veggies fitinfunfood 40264.jpg

I like any cabbage, but purple is my favorite for a bit of a stronger taste and the benefits of being a purple food according to anti-aging-for-all.com.

purple food benefits.PNG

I do not eat eggplant but all the rest of those fruits and veggies are on my list. I have never seen purple cauliflower, but I would get it if I saw it at a good price.

Here are the health benefits of purple cabbage according to my favorite healthy food site.

purple cabbage benefits.PNG

And more info from the same place. I'm glad they tracked the purple cabbage, but they mis-guidedly call it red!!!
purple cabbage benefits 2.PNG

Part of my healthy lifestyle is to try my best to eat the 31 essential nutrients each day, while avoiding toxins in my food. Purple cabbage is a big help in this effort.

essential nutrients purple fitinfun.jpg

This is my entry for My Thursday Favorites #16 Contest by @marblely, where this week's theme is "Your Favorite Vegetable." This was not a hard choice for me at all!

@marblely asks us to nominate others that might like to participate in this contest. So I'm shouting out to some of my foodie friends to show us what your got!

@travelsbyblue
@olivia08
@purpledaisy57
@joelai
@joancabz
@sgbonus
@foodiecouple
@lizelle

The contest goes another few days, so you have a bit of time :)

= =

Minnow tips!

Here is my latest minnow tips post if you struggle here at steem.

These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

= =

dApp Reviews

All recommended!

And here is an update on @fitinfunfood. I just started this blog in Jan 2019, so you can find out what I am doing to grow my new baby here:
@fitinfunfood Update Post

And some more about using SBI. I am updating my minnow tips these days:
https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/my-steembasicincome-update-spoiler-i-love-sbi

And here is a post from @brittandjosie, with all kinds of help for new people. Definitely worth clicking every link!
Hey Have You Met!

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet is my son's blog, and I am so grateful he has returned.

We all post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We all follow back, because we love you. This is the power of STEEM.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

If you delegate sp - you can go to @minnowbooster. One of the blogs always has an offer there at about 14% apr, and we are all very grateful if you delegate to us.

I login to magic-dice daily and roll one time. Is this giving me luck and good fortune? Join me and try for yourself!
https://magic-dice.com/?ref=fitinfunfood

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

How is your journey to better health going?

Is your fitness equipment out handy? Are you on a "diet?" Soon we will be in Bathing Suit Season. Are you ready?

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. No tricks, just doing a bit better every day. I started on October 10 one year, and did not give up. Four years later, on October 5th, there I was - thin and healthy for the first time in my life. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

  • Healthy Food Ideas on @fitinfunfood

  • Motivation Minnow Tips and Everything Else on @fitinfun

  • @bxlphabet is posting Southern California, steemmonsters and dtube videos.

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @fitinfunfood for the mention.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad to! Contests are the best thing on steem for me :)

Oh wow, new contrst! Thanks for the mentions @fitinfunfood!

You're welcome, @joelai. I see you are like me to enter a lot of them. I think this one is not too hard and interesting :)

Yup, it looks fun!

Thanks for the tag will try it

I'm 100% sure you have a favorite veggie, @purpledaisy57!

haha yes I do on fact a few problem is I don't have pics maybe pixabay?

Heya @fitinfunfood! Thank you for joining the contest! May I ask your help to put in comment, the link to your post at the contest post, just so that I can keep track of the entries that come in and give you an Entry number? Thank you!

Does purple cabbage taste like the white cabbage? I prefer to eat cabbage cooked because I was once forced to eat a full raw cabbage in a team building camp challenge and has since gotten a phobia with raw cabbage's taste :D I have not seen a purple cauliflower either. But I do like purple sweet potatoes. It is so important to eat healthy isn't it, for our well being and to feel good about ourselves, to be able to do the things that we want to do. Thank you for sharing @fitinfunfood, and the health food site link :)

Oops! Yes, I will get my link over to you now. So sorry!

Purple cabbage tastes different to me. It has a stronger flavor I enjoy. But no one ever forced me to eat it lol. When I cook it, I usually do so very briefly to keep the crunch that I like.

I had no idea how important eating well was for most of my life. Now I think of food as medicine and try to get the best I can at all times. What a great difference this has made for me.

I'm so glad you like the post, @marblely, and thank you for running such an interesting contest. I will try to enter each week now.

Thank you so much for the mention! I'll try my best to join but no promises hehe. Thanks again and have a great day!

You're welcome, @sgbonus. If not this week, it is ongoing with different themes :)

Those photos made me hungry ... I love your favorite vegetable cooked with my favorite vegetable, the onion... good eating all around...

I am also on a natural journey to slim down and achieve better health and this was an inspiration -- thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75