Small&Remote Markets

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, of course!). This is a loved challenge and an example of how to initiate and support such a thing ... thanks to Denise.

My adventure away from home in the city of Iasi continues ... as I know the few friends who read the post from last week.

When you are in a new and unknown place my opinion is that you need to find out more about what you can visit and how to get to the markets and the special stores that are preferred by locals. That's how we learned about two small markets, unfortunately far from each other and both far from where we live in Iasi.

That's why we chose to go to the first market, it's very far from home, but because we decided to walk at least five kilometers every day, we use this opportunity.

We crossed the city!

itszllyb6m.jpg

First Market - An Eco Market

We came to the market but a surprise awaiting us (in all this adventure I am with my wife) ... people were not excited at all when I wanted to photograph. So, in order not to disturb I photographed from a distance.

pdtyt7pwiy.jpg

6l1e65qpuq.jpg

rp3uudk3jn.jpg

That is how the goods are brought into the market, not too hygienic but very fresh, corn for boiling picked that morning.

223hjc1f6n.jpg

In fact this is the advantage of this very small market, it is only open in the weekend and there are brought vegetables, fruits, dairy products and meat from the country, eco products.

I'm sorry I could not show you these products because the vendors were suspicious and did not like being photographed. They probably have their reasons.

I bought: a chicken, cheese, bread made in the house, sausages, eggs, onion, carrot, celery and something special is called "bors" - it is like a juice which is for the soup

The Second Market - Fruits

The second market, which is a few kilometers outside the city, is a smaller market, only for fruits!

No such trip is justified, there are plenty of fruit in the city but where we go is a very beautiful place, the fruits are picked from the nearby orchards and are much cheaper!

The place is called: Golden Apple

uleyqa2rjf.jpg

It's a golden apple guarded by the sword in hand, by a knight in the armor!

That pleasant place is in the middle of a forest and fruit and fruit juices are sold there. It is not a great variety of fruits but they are extremely fresh and tasty (and as I have already said, cheap)...

r88hg9hodr.jpg

are94xw23f.jpg

arzaopeyin.jpg

I bought nectarines, peaches and plums. Only these fruits were ready to be picked and sold. Very good!

c8pgk3rhva.jpg

ti51l5smmv.jpg

I said goodbye to this beautiful place and we were glad to have visited it, both because of the landscape and the fruits. We have now for a whole week!

nf8adi92cz.jpg

ry3nhoyrsi.jpg

After so much movement, of course, we were hungry. We went quickly to the house to cook something with what I bought!

"Bors" with chicken and sour cream

I guess you do not know what "bors" means! Bors is a kind of soup, just that it is sour. Sour not from sour cream but from "bors". Bors is a fermented beverage made from the fermentation of ground wheat grains. It's more complicated than that, but it's hard to explain.

Let's start food preparation

Ingredients

chicken; onions, carrots, celery, parsley root, pepper, salt, "bors"; cream.

Put the chicken in pieces and boil it in a saucepan with water. While the chicken boils (about 1/2 hour), cut the vegetables into small pieces.

19lc5qqpml.jpg

pwzypz6il4.jpg

c0zp94ciye.jpg

z7392danlq.jpg

r84lk6jwmv.jpg

We're also preparing the "bors". It is in that bottle, it's also boiled in a small pot, to be ready for use at the right time.

tmtt1s5w3d.jpg

After the chicken has firing a little, put all the vegetables in the pot to boil together. During this time I cut some red tomatoes . After the chicken has firing, put all the vegetables in the pot to boil together. During this time I take a few red tomatoes to boil in another pot, with some oil.

tcid555vhs.jpg

wubuey02mc.jpg

i7m1g5f8rz.jpg

We'll check if they cook the vegetables. If they are soft, add the tomatoes prepared previously to boil together and the boiled "bors".

qrcu7e1k2w.jpg

As always, at the end add the green, in this case parsley, salt and pepper.

The soup(now "bors") is ready

s4ht5zno1q.jpg

Finally, we will eat! It took over an hour to cook this food. May be eaten with sour cream or not, to the taste of everyone.

4fj6851alh.jpg

Thank you for the long trip with me. I hope you liked it!

p4iib4xden.png

1whv24s0p8.jpg

  • I can adjust my voting power (VP) before I vote.

  • I can see with how much (VP) I was voted.

  • I can easily format the blog text without knowing Markdown.

  • I can instantly see any events related to my account such as votes, mentions, replies, follows, unfollows, etc.

  • This is an application developed by @good-karma. If you use the application and the tag: esteem you can get very generous upvotes from @good-karma and @esteemapp!

  • Download the latest version by clicking on the link that ends in .exe , if you access the link below.
    https://esteem.app

  • Discord for information and help:
    https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

I have no advantage to promote this application. I only do this because it's an extremely useful application and more and more colleagues should know it.

p4iib4xden.png

26o6e5ecy3.jpg
p4iib4xden.png

Sort:  

I am so glad you found some great markets while you are away! I always miss the ones back home as I am familiar with my people but have to admit, the adventure of a new place can be fun!

I really like that place with all the fresh fruit and don't really mind the other market, although it may seem more unsanitary with them bringing in their foods like that, most farmers markets are like that. I just clean it when I get home.

I am familiar with what you call bors, I think. Bors consists of wheat or barley bran, sometimes sugar beet, fermented in water - a slightly yellowish, sour liquid. They also call it borscht in the States.

Thank you so much for the recipe! I look forward to all of your simple (usually) and always delicious food you prepare. Thank you for taking the time and the energy to do this! They are always awesome!

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

Yes you are right! We are accustomed to the home market, we are known there, we have friends but the fact that we discover new places is exciting. Yes, farmers markets are unsanitary and the solution is to thoroughly clean the purchased products.
It's a surprise for me that you know about bors, you made a better description than mine ... so it's done, except for sugar beets. Since I think bors is of Russian origin, I did not expect to be known in the US.
Thank you for giving me thanks! I also thank you!

I grew up in Connecticut, very close to New York City, but, more country. We have many European decent people and very many Jewish people that use it. I believe it is of Russian origin, or at the very least Eastern European.

Forgive my late reply, I was to see my mother...it was my #sublime Sunday! Yes, I think that Jewish people use it. There were many Jews in Romania, hundreds of thousands! They definitely ate bors.

The fruit market is beautiful! Cute name. Cute place. And what delicious fruit! I'm keen to try your recipe. Great photos. I love dishes from different countries, different cultures. Here in South Africa (in Afrikaans) bors means chest. We would call the chicken breast "hoender bors". Is it the same?

Thank you for feedback! Please forgive my delayed reply, I went to a place with less internet and where I could not answer. I have been very busy with relatives (I was to see my mom, I posted today about this little trip). It's not related to the chest. Bors is to make the soup a bit sour, it is a fermented but not alcoholic beverage. I think it's Russian.

What interesting markets both so cool in their own way and the food you prepared looks and sounds so good

Yes, the both little markets have their charm. Thank you! I think they are slightly different from what they are where you live.

@bluemoon Ohh yes quite a bit different but I have seen markets like your sin my travels

Yes, I'm sure of that.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 143 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you!

Hello, what a beautiful market, the houses are fairy tales.
the fruit looks very appetizing,
the chicken, it seems delicious
happy friday friend

Thank you and glad to see you again! It was a little escape from the city! Happy weekend! Thank you for calling me a friend, I consider you the same.

the pictures are looking fantastic

Wow so nice your food photography..excellent your all post.. So I always follow you

Congratulations @bluemoon! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70