You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Small&Remote Markets

in #esteem6 years ago

I am so glad you found some great markets while you are away! I always miss the ones back home as I am familiar with my people but have to admit, the adventure of a new place can be fun!

I really like that place with all the fresh fruit and don't really mind the other market, although it may seem more unsanitary with them bringing in their foods like that, most farmers markets are like that. I just clean it when I get home.

I am familiar with what you call bors, I think. Bors consists of wheat or barley bran, sometimes sugar beet, fermented in water - a slightly yellowish, sour liquid. They also call it borscht in the States.

Thank you so much for the recipe! I look forward to all of your simple (usually) and always delicious food you prepare. Thank you for taking the time and the energy to do this! They are always awesome!

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

Sort:  

Yes you are right! We are accustomed to the home market, we are known there, we have friends but the fact that we discover new places is exciting. Yes, farmers markets are unsanitary and the solution is to thoroughly clean the purchased products.
It's a surprise for me that you know about bors, you made a better description than mine ... so it's done, except for sugar beets. Since I think bors is of Russian origin, I did not expect to be known in the US.
Thank you for giving me thanks! I also thank you!

I grew up in Connecticut, very close to New York City, but, more country. We have many European decent people and very many Jewish people that use it. I believe it is of Russian origin, or at the very least Eastern European.

Forgive my late reply, I was to see my mother...it was my #sublime Sunday! Yes, I think that Jewish people use it. There were many Jews in Romania, hundreds of thousands! They definitely ate bors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35