Ultraviolet Visions

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Greetings to everyone, the following story was inspired by the digital art of @xpilar, I invite you to visit his blog. The picture that motivated this story is the following.



Source

Ultraviolet Visions

In the cold night of Caliope, in the middle of an intense snowfall, flashes of blue light jump before my eyes, animals flee quickly when they notice my rough presence, in the distance the brightness of night sky, is illuminated by a shining veil that disguises its darkness.

The stars shine brighter than normal, they are points of intense and clear brightness, very different from the attenuated and trembling brightness that they normally show. New forms of sensual beauty I can distinguish in the middle of the sky, those that before had been hidden to my eyes.

Far away on the other shore of the lake, I distinguish the silhouette of the old main node of terraformation, today abandoned in the middle of the solitude of the forest, partially hidden by the ghostly forms of trees and shrubs, which grow terrifying before my eyes, in the middle of the ice mirror of the crystalline waters.

The flowers of the snow willows expel their invisible clouds of pollen, tiny explosions of gas come out projected, forming purple clouds, around the tops of the trees, while hordes of lamp beetles fly to the encounter of the expelled pollen.

In the distance a flash in the snow, reveals my objective, a flash, a kind of small lamp of intense blue brightness jumps between the snow banks, a hare of the ice, its white fur like cotton cannot hide it in the snow, in front of me, its silhouette of clearly distinguishes without leaving any doubt.

I reduce my pulsations and respiration, if I can see her, she also could, if she noticed my presence. I raise the barrel of my pulse rifle and center its shimmering purple body in the center of the sight. I inhale a soft, but long puff of icy air, scratching my throat, as if the thousands of tiny snow crystals were trying unsuccessfully to tear it apart.

Halo of the trigger and in the middle of a sepulchral silence, the hare falls between the snow, its purple glow is extinguished completely, in the indicator of my hunting goggles, my marker is updated, three hundred points are scored, already they add up to five thousand two hundred, soon it would be day and the competition would end, the score would determine the winner.

I change my vision to the visible spectrum, my eyes seem to be blind at times, the darkness of the forest stuns me, little by little my pupils dilate and adjust to the new conditions, I walk towards my fallen prey and I find it still shaking in electric rales, I take it from the long ears and rummage among the white fur of his back, until I find between his shoulder blades a small push button, I press it and as if by magic, the animal begins to twist between my hands and I let it fall into the snow, to see it run terrified among the bushes until it disappears from my sight.

-The robot prey has been reset, the five-minute count begins, to proceed with the competition, keep your position and your glasses in normal vision mode, -said the voice of the AI competition control, in my hearing aids. Now all I have to do is wait.

Text of @amart29 Barcelona, Venezuela, July 2019

Other stories from the Time and Space series

I can only thank @xpilar for allowing me to use his digital art in my publication and for motivating my creation. Thank you very much @xpilar

Thank you all for visiting my publication, I hope your comments and I appreciate your support, until next time




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04