Words to Learn: Shellacking

in #writing7 years ago

Alright, this is so @Jayna's fault. She was all "Oh, you're so talented and smart and funny and handsome, you should write posts like mine where you define a word, give examples, etc, etc." It basically went exactly like that.

Anyways

I googled "essential words for fiction writing" and I found an insanely intensive list of over 300 words. Yikes! That's kinda stupid, but I found a word even stupider that I thought was worth sharing:

Shellacking ( shə-ˈla-kiŋ )

shellacking.png
Image from Thesaurus.plus

A good shellacking refers to a decisive defeat. Quite simple. It's a noun somehow, even with the -ing at the end. Isn't English the best? (dies inside)

Example!

The Yankees suffered an awful shellacking, dealt out by the far superior Red Sox. (loses 50 followers)

Here's another!

"Oi mate, ye muver got uh shellacking over ur dear pop, mate." Just so we can represent other dialects...

Your Turn!

Wait, no, I don't wanna...

Sure you do! Just find a word that will help us all learn and grow as writers and post about it! Provide a pronunciation, definition, other versions of the word, what sentence part (noun, verb, etc.) it is, and provide some examples! And make sure you use the clever #learnwords tag @Jayna conjured for this purpose!

Can't wait to see what you come up with!

Caleb

Sort:  

Oh this is cool! I may have to do this.....sometime this week, hehehe.

Awesome! My evil plan is working. Before you know it we will all be writing with dazzling vocabularies!

I was thinking "dizzying," but dazzling works too :P

So many beautiful words, so little time.

You're ridiculous :P
You're also a boss writer though, so you're allowed to be :D

I am a huge fan of the word shellacking. It just feels so right to say and usually describes something exciting. This #learnwords idea is awesome, I'm sure there are some great words you could find, hope you keep it up. BTW, I am a curator with @ocd and would love to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

Thanks for reading!
And wow! Yo, I totally accept, even though this was all @jayna's idea. Make sure to peep her blog!

The -ing suffix is frequently used to turn verbs into nouns. I just checked a dictionary to see if the verb form, to shellack, came up with that definition, and it does... but does anyone use it that way? Haha.

I'll definitely have to think about what word to post up for this #learnwords idea. I'm sure I can come up with some good ones.

Wow! It's cool to see you researched deeper! I couldn't find "to shellack" but I'm sure it exists?
I'll definitely peep your post if you do any #learnwords posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63