Speaking My Truth for Mental Health Monday

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I’m so grateful to @kiaraantonoviche for coming up with #mentalhealthmonday and also for speaking her own truth. I am inspired to also further this conversation and bring mental health issues more into the light and invite more conversation. Hopefully this serves a dual purpose of educating those who don’t have to deal with mental illness personally and also as an encouragement to others who are dealing with it to feel comfortable to speak up when they are ready.

I deal with depression. For me it is sort of hard to say how long it has been going on to at least some degree. However, it took a pretty intense turn when I got pregnant with my fourth child. My relationship was not particularly stable. I had a 14 yo, an 11 yo, and a 10 month old, and I was 39. I had my own business which was in that crucial state of needing to grow to survive. So, there were a lot of external circumstances contributing for sure. That said, I’ve been through harder times. Those of you who have dealt with depression know that circumstances aren’t really the crucial piece. It hit hard, and because I had never spiraled that far, I didn’t really realize what was happening until it was very deep.

Circumstances changed. I had a beautiful baby. I got engaged. I moved to Belize, where I have wanted to live for a very long time. Still, I wasn’t really happy. I couldn’t feel it. Even worse, I was fighting off anxiety. I felt that any moment the axe was going to fall. Well, thoughts become things, don’t they? My relationship began to struggle. We lost a fuckton of money in a land deal that went horribly south. We had no way to make money without the land. The relationship got worse. Then I realized that I wanted to die. I didn’t want to kill myself. I just wanted some kind of accident or whatever to come along and rescue me from the endless sufferring. I had been feeling like that for a while, a few months at least. I think it’s important to explain to those of you who have never had depression that, in my mind, I believed my children would be better off without me because I was so miserable. There is this horrible idea that when people commit suicide, they are abandoning others. It simply isn’t true. In almost all cases, a depressed person truly believes the world is a better place without them in it. I started to speak out to friends and family. They were the ones that clued me in about how long I had been sitting in the darkness. I felt like I lost about three years of my life, maybe more. The more I talked about it, the better I felt. I started to feel my power return to me. I started to draw boundaries to protect myself. I stopped listening to messages from others and my own head that I somehow wasn’t enough. I turned on a voice in my head that countered those messages with ones that were more helpful.

I want to say something here about being a woman. I don’t know what depression is like for a man because I’m not one. Having raised two boys, I do have some clue about the pressures men face. Right now, though, I want to speak to women and also to anyone who has a woman in their life who is facing depression. Many of us tend to feel like we need to handle everything, take on all the tasks of the family. Men, if you don’t know what emotional labor and invisible labor are, I invite you to look those terms up and become more familiar and do your best to even the scales. It would be a whole other post, so maybe I will go into that at another time, but I’m not diving in right now. Suffice it to say that a lot of women, especially mothers, are taking on more than they can handle in any kind of healthy way. In my case and the cases of many, many women I know, men are standing by and watching it happen. Watching women sink in the quicksand, often complaining about her sadness or bitchiness along the way.

Now. I’d like for men to begin to notice. I’d like to see more men step up and actually do something about it. Btw, here’s a hint. Don’t ask, “How can I help?” FFS, you know what needs to get done. Go do it. Anyway, amazing women of the world, we have to speak our truth! We have to say when it feels overwhelming or too much. We have to stop feeling like we are supposed to carry it all. We have to stop feeling like we are a burden. As I mentioned above, when I started to speak about my depression and my overwhelm - both the circumstances and the actual illness - I felt really empowered. And a lot of wonderful people around me rallied to support me. They encouraged me and also validated me. Now, my circumstances haven’t changed a whole lot, but feeling my power that came through speaking my truth did more than anything else to eradicate the depression.

So that’s my story and my encouragement to women dealing with depression. As it stands now, it’s a little over a year since I came out of that deep darkness. I’ve been mostly fine. I notice recently, though, that I feel a bit numb. I was inspired again by @kiaraantonoviche and her five year plan. I started to think about what I really want moving forward as we begin to emerge from the dark depths of debt. It's been one thing after another, but it does seem things are shifting. Of course I have a plan. We have things we have said we wanted to do, but I have noticed I’m having a little bit of a time really feeling excited about those. I really don't even feel connected to them, and that unnerves me a bit. This mild level of depression usually comes and goes, so I am hoping sharing will help shake this one off.

image.jpeg
I was in the midst of both depression and anxiety when I took this. Remember smiles don't mean depression is gone.

I hope this will inspire others to share. Feel free to share in the comments below if you feel called. I’m also in discord as @solarsupermama if you’d like to talk privately. I don’t always have time or energy, but I will let you know. I also hope those of you who don’t deal with depression have a better understanding now.

A few technical difficulties ended in this being posted on Tuesday, but hey. I think it's still Monday somewhere.

As always, all pics are mine or pixabay.

I’m a passenger on the @ecotrain, as well as a member of @teamgirlpowa and @steemmamas. All three are worth taking a look at, and all three are on discord.

Sort:  

I am sending as many good vibes as I can ...

Thanks. It is appreciated.

It is so important to talk about mental health it is something we all have, and at sometime in our lives most of us will suffer a bit or a lot with it. I loved what you shared here, I really would like my partner to read it, it is so true and there is such a lack of understanding in what we as mothers do, we are so undervalued. I have myself come close to breaking point at times, it is so hard to care for ourselves sometimes. Thank you for sharing your story, only good things can come from you doing so, it is so so important for us to share our wisdom, to reach out and let others know that they are not alone. I do hope that this post is helpful for you, like you said there is power in sharing and getting things out.
Love you mama xxx

I'm so glad it was meaningful for you. Undervaluing of mothers is an enormous thing for me right now. I'm feeling very strongly about it these days. And I'm tired. I really, really need time away. I really hope it helps others. And me too. I'm feeling pretty down today. Love you too!

Ah mama, I wish I could teleport to you and whisk you away for a holiday, I know you so deserve that. Do you think you can get away this summer? I hope you are being gentle with yourself, any chance you could have a night away soon to begin with? sending you much light xx

I would love to have a holiday for sure. I am so wanting to get over there this summer. We have to figure the money out. I am trying to be gentle, but I need to be more so, I think. I can't see a night away any time soon, but I am going to get a day in a few weeks when I go to pick up the kids passports at the embassy. No way I'm taking them with me. Thanks for the light and love. It is very appreciated.

I am writing from @dukefranky’s mind and not @thegreens because @thegreens is the organization that I founded.
I have traveled with you in that same journey. In 2014, I made some wrong choices and finally landed in my biggest financial mistake that caused me to hurt friends and some family members. In 2015 and 2016, I felt what it means to be really depressed and the only thing in my mind was just to die. I didn’t want to commit suicide but I just wanted to die. I didn’t take phone calls nor talk to anyone. I just wanted to be alone and these were my worst years of my life. I put on a smile seeing my wife and kids but deep within me I felt I was a big betrayal to their dreams and aspirations of being a good husband and father. However, I decided after more than a year of being really depressed to start life all over and today things are really better. When I was reading your story, It was like I was writing it.
We’ve been through a lot and I hope our tough times should be the reason why we work to make the lives of people and the planet better.
Did you know more than 80% of @thegreens volunteers are women? 40% of these women are single Mothers. We believe in women and girls and that’s why we work with them.
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@thegreens/zero-waste-project-ecodesigns-nurtures-young-girls-to-transfrom-textile-trash-to-treasure

Thank you for sharing your story. It does sound like a similar situation. It's a horrible place to be. I got better, but it comes and goes. That's awesome you're working with women and girls. Empowerment is important.

ah i love this so much dear!! i too have had depression and "just die already" feeling... it's not easy, at all. but you are so right when you say that talking about it makes it better.. i sadly dealt with my first knock ya upside the head depression by myself.. i guess out of shame, loneliness, sadness likes to keep to itself kinda thing... i didn't know how to talk about it. really refreshing to see this new tag and each of you who are sharing.

thank you TOO for writing about emotional labor and the weights women are expected to carry. in my opinion, a huge element of all of this. glad to see the stigma being ended in the steemit circles around depression... it's so freeing knowing we don't need to be happy all of the time to be loved!! <3 also, love the photo at the end and the gentle reminder that one can smile and still experience depression/anxiety. i'm feeling inspired to write a post next monday. much love xx

I kept mine inside for a long time too. I honestly didn't really realize what it was until I wanted to die. Then it sort of hit me, and I asked my oldest son if he thought I was depressed. He basically said duh! I just kept thinking it was shitty circumstances. He was depressed too, and that made it easier to talk about, though of course horrifying because he's my child, and that's scary.
The piece on women is truly important. I realized tonight that one of the frustrating bits is that everyone will let me carry the weight and only help out of fear of setting me off or because they want something. It would be so nice if someone just genuinely wanted to take the weight off. The stigma really is lessening, and I'm so glad. It's about time. I look forward to a post from you on this!

You are so strong! Thank you for speaking out and joining the #mentalhealthmonday initiative!

As are you! Thanks for bringing this to my attention!

Thank you for sharing! I can't imagine looking after 3 kids and having to deal with depression on top. When ur depressed for me at least it becomes hard to look after the self. Most winters I suffer with S A D but normally I have a job or im doing a course or studying that keeps me having to get out. This year I didn't have any of these and it was so much worse, and became depressed it affected my body aswell. I think I will share me story in a post like u. Im glad to hear u are feeling alot better now 💜

I'm so glad it was helpful! Sometimes the kids make it better because it distracts me, but then, yeah, self care is totally shot to shit. I hope you will find a way to nurture yourself next winter, and I'm glad you feel inspired to share your story. I think it's so important, and we help ourselves and others so much in that process.

Thanks for sharing so openly. You are right about emotional labor - it is soul crushing even when you're feeling great. There's just always so much of it and even if partners appreciate that you do it, they don't really know how much of it there is and how much energy it takes to do...
I'm mostly an anxiety kind of gal...Perhaps I should write more about it...

It truly is heavy. We can only hope to shift that by raising our children in a better way.

If you decide to write, please let me know. I think it's so helpful when we share our stories.

will do! I've been absent a lot lately because there is so much work to do in the yard and a few other time suck kind of things...I hope to wrap up my grading soon and be back to a writing space.

Must be something in the air. I just haven't been able to write nearly as much as I want to. I don't even know what the hell I've been doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32