You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Speaking My Truth for Mental Health Monday

in #ecotrain6 years ago

ah i love this so much dear!! i too have had depression and "just die already" feeling... it's not easy, at all. but you are so right when you say that talking about it makes it better.. i sadly dealt with my first knock ya upside the head depression by myself.. i guess out of shame, loneliness, sadness likes to keep to itself kinda thing... i didn't know how to talk about it. really refreshing to see this new tag and each of you who are sharing.

thank you TOO for writing about emotional labor and the weights women are expected to carry. in my opinion, a huge element of all of this. glad to see the stigma being ended in the steemit circles around depression... it's so freeing knowing we don't need to be happy all of the time to be loved!! <3 also, love the photo at the end and the gentle reminder that one can smile and still experience depression/anxiety. i'm feeling inspired to write a post next monday. much love xx

Sort:  

I kept mine inside for a long time too. I honestly didn't really realize what it was until I wanted to die. Then it sort of hit me, and I asked my oldest son if he thought I was depressed. He basically said duh! I just kept thinking it was shitty circumstances. He was depressed too, and that made it easier to talk about, though of course horrifying because he's my child, and that's scary.
The piece on women is truly important. I realized tonight that one of the frustrating bits is that everyone will let me carry the weight and only help out of fear of setting me off or because they want something. It would be so nice if someone just genuinely wanted to take the weight off. The stigma really is lessening, and I'm so glad. It's about time. I look forward to a post from you on this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55851.69
ETH 2536.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23