Dream Journal - 1/3/18 - First for the year!

in #dreams6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! I hope you've all had a wonderful new year and smooth transition into 2018. If you do not already know my new years resolution was to quit smoking. At midnight on 1/1/2018 I was done. Unfortunately, 6 1/2 hours later I broke and had 4 puffs of the cancer stick. Instead of finishing it, I threw it out and wrote my pledge to quit smoking as my new years resolution. I also said that I would let it be known if I smoked again. At around 4 pm yesterday I had 2 puffs of a cigarette. Terrible. I was not happy with myself, and again, I threw the rest out. I think it's 10 times harder to quit when there's always cigarettes around. (My wife still smokes). The good thing is that I was able to toss the cigarette after just two puffs. So I've gone from 10 + cigarettes a day to 4 puffs on January 1st and two puffs on January 2nd. This means that today, being the third, I shouldn't have any puffs and can honestly be done for good. I will be sure to update you! It's been 17 hours since I had my last 2 puffs, and 6 puffs total since the new year. After 17 hours, I feel I am good. My next milestone is 3 days.

Last night I had two pretty weird dreams. Both dreams caused me to wake up a little startled simply because of how real my dreams can be.


dreams3-800x480.png


An Unknown Party

My wife and I were having a party at my house and we had quite a few people over including the kids. It was a family party but I didn't really know everyone there. This seemed to bother me and I needed to get away so I went to the store to get something with a friend. We were driving in his SUV. Where we went I am unable to remember. It felt like we were driving for quite some time. When we got back the driveway was empty and the party looked like it was over. As we pull in I realized my car was gone. Since I run a company that requires me to be a sober driver I was pretty upset by this as I thought perhaps someone stole the car from the party or decided to drive drunk.

When I get inside everyones gone (the partiers) and my kids are all sleeping. For some reason, somehow, my 18 yr old stepdaughter is sleeping in my 4 year old daughters bed. I go to check on my wife and she's gone. "Damn it", I thought. Where did she go with the car? This was upsetting because I knew everyone had been drinking. I quickly went to my stepdaughter. "Hey, wake up! Where the hell did your mom go?!" I asked. She was very groggy and just responded "I don't know" and went back to sleep. She had facepaint and colorful tattoos all over her neck and arms. She has tattoos but not this many! I couldn't help but notice it. I proceeded to call her but I wasn't dialing her on the phone, I was just putting the phone to my ear and waiting for it to ring. I woke up yelling.

While I'm glad it was just a dream, I think I know what it meant. I have certain insecurities about losing my wife. These types of dreams happen all the time. While usually a different scenario, it usually always has something to do with my wife or my car dissappearing, and in some cases, my child. I guess subconsiously I am afraid to lose either because my wife is my rock, and my car is our freedom. When she goes to work and I don't have a ride to get anywhere, I feel stranded and this is an every day thing. We have a 2nd car but it's broken and crashed and we have not had the funds to fix it.


What Have I Done

Some guy is outside my house locked out of his truck. There are about 4 other people around. For some reason, there is hostility going on where bats are being swung. There is some serious head cracking going on. I suddenly find myself in the middle of the drama and start swinging my baseball bat as these people are coming after me now. I have no idea whats going on and am simply in "protect my block" mode as I start throwing headcrack after headcrack. There's no blood or anything, and it almost seems to be turning into some kind of sick game. The fighting goes on for about 10 minutes and I've finally taken care of them all. There's no dead bodies or anything on the ground and everything is back to normal except for the guy locked out of his truck. He's huge and can probably fold me up like a pretzel.

He's also upset and was a part of this baseball bat battle. We're not outside my house anymore we are in what appears to be a bad neighborhood in Miami. All I remember is this dude trying to come after me so I started going for weak points in his limbs since he was too tall for me to reach his head with my baseball bat. Now that I've basically broken his legs and his arms, out of nowhere the whole context of the dream changes and I am now helping him get in his car. He's still hurt but he's not. For whatever reason, my only solution is to break his driver side window. Now this is a nice looking gunmetal grey Suburban with dark tints. It looks very sleak. Well here I am swinging away at the bottom right quadrant of his driverside window with my baseball bat and he's letting me! I also couldn't help but notice how short I am compared to this SUV. I couldn't hit the top of the window with the bat with my hands stretched out while standing on the tips of my toes.

It literally took about six swings to finally break the window. The first two didn't do much harm, the third made a big crack down the middle. The fourth and fifth made the crack bigger, and the sixth hit broke a triangle shaped piece from the bottom right quadrant off. At this point it's almost like the realization set in for this dude.

"Did you break my door lock too?" he says angrily.

"No, I broke your window, so we can get in! You were locked out!"

"Okay but you also broke the door lock! LOOK!", He's pissed.

I lean in to take a closer look, and the door lock is literally sawed off. I was like "That's okay, I can still unlock the door" and I unlocked the door.

This wasn't enough for him. He's angry and now coming after me. Instantly I'm thinking to myself "What the hell did I just do? I broke this guys car!"

He's stomping towards me like a gorilla and I'm taking steps back with my hands out. "Wait, wait! I'm paying for it! I told you that I would pay for the damages, remember?"

He pauses to think for a second, "But you broke my car!" and proceed to come at me.

"Stop! I'm serious...look! We got your car open, you can go home now with your car and I'm gonna pay for the damages! You're good! There's no worry!"

Finally he gets it and starts laughing out of joy. "Oh okay!!" he says, and gives me a hug instead. I'm laughing out of joy as well but because I'm not about to get smashed by a giant. Then the reality of what just happened hits me, as did the reality of my life. "What a minute... why the hell did I just break this guys window...why didn't I just call a locksmith or something? What the hell did I do? Oh my God I don't have money to repair this what the hell? Wouldn't paying for a locksmith be cheaper? WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH ME?"

I yelled "OH SHIT!" both in my dream and in real life, so that's what woke me up.

I have no idea what this dream could mean. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I am no longer smoking cigarettes. I have read that dreams can get very trippy when you're trying to quit smoking. If that's the case, I'm excited to share more! I can say however that I have had "WTF DID I DO" dreams before. Not quite like this one. They are all mostly unique. For example, I remember having a dream where for some reason it was necessary to break this kittens neck. Terrible, I know. After doing it I felt extremely bad because it wasn't necessary at all. I was really happy when I woke up knowing I didn't break an innocent kittens neck. When I consider these types of dreams, an entire swarm of them comes back to me. I wouldn't consider this a recurring dream but a recurring genre of dreams.

Thanks for reading! God Bless and Steem On!

@bitfiend


I want to share my dreams exclusively with the Steemit community!

Dream Log

2018

| 12/20/17 | 12/28/17 |

Dreams but Not Forgotten[Part 1]
A Christmas Dream
My First Dream Ever or a possible memory from a passed life
A Dreams Introduction [Hello Dreamers!][Steem Your Dreams]

How to Remember Your Dreams

It is good practice to have a dream journal next to your bed if you want to remember them. That's right. Good ol' fashion pen and paper. [Okay, a laptop or your favorite hand-held device can work too] This way, the second you get up, you take 5 minutes to write down as much as you can remember before you start to forget. Spend some time re-reading, even through out the day, and you might even start to remember small bits and pieces for you to add. If you keep this practice consistent, you will soon begin to start remembering your dreams with more detail, effectively able to write down what you dreamed.

Just remember, all it takes is 10 minutes to forget your dream. You must perform this exercise during your first 10 minutes of waking up.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bitfiend to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BitFiend from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99