Learning to Draw | State of Progress | Day #9

in #drawing6 years ago

Welcome to another installment of my artist apprentice diary.

Dia 009 (1).jpg

On this occasion another statue of plaster, one with greater difficulty than the previous ones. This time, not only was the challenge more difficult due to the crouched posture of the head, but the statue was too tall to be placed on the shelf and we had to put it on a stool. This made that, from my point of view, the figure was seen in foreshortening, since it was lower than me. This caused a subtle but present perspective.

Dia 009 (19).jpg

As always I started taking measurements and analyzing the axes of the body. Looking for their inclinations and their different weights.

Dia 009 (2).jpg

Dia 009 (3).jpg

Dia 009 (4).jpg

Dia 009 (5).jpg

Dia 009 (6).jpg

Dia 009 (7).jpg

After correcting many times each of the lines I began to add details of the face and the fabric.

Dia 009 (8).jpg

Dia 009 (9).jpg

Once the drawing was more or less correct proportions I began to draw fine lines to delimit the areas of light and shadow.

Dia 009 (10).jpg

Dia 009 (11).jpg

Once I had these areas clear, I began to stain the darker areas with care. This is the part of the drawing that I enjoy the most. Making the contour lines costs me a lot. I suffer a lot until I get the right proportions. However with the shading I really enjoy, because only with a couple of passes in broad strokes, the volumes come out very easily. It is a really comforting task.

Dia 009 (12).jpg

Dia 009 (13).jpg

Dia 009 (15).jpg

Seeing the teacher who was very motivated with the dark clearing, he told me that it would be easier for me if I illuminated the statue with a focus. In this way the areas of light and shadow would be marked more clearly and I could experiment with the dark clearing. So he put a spotlight to illuminate the figure and the light changed completely.

Dia 009 (20).jpg

So I had to re-shadow with the new light configuration. A job that at first made me desperate, because I had almost finished it, but in the end I enjoyed it a lot.

Dia 009 (16).jpg

Dia 009 (17).jpg

Dia 009 (18).jpg

The truth is that I am very happy with the result, although it has taken me several sessions to finish it. I still have beautiful sensations in my learning of drawing.

Thank you for joining me on this wonderful path.

Here you can find the previous days:
Day #1 | Day #2 | Day #3 | Day #4 | Day #5 | Day #6 | Day #7 | Day #8

An original post by @trenz


Sort:  

Reminds me of my years in art school. Enjoy!

Oh, thank you. I really do. Every new draw is a new experience for me ;)

Te ha salido clavada, Raúl; está genial.
¿Cuánto tiempo te llevó hacer esta obra?

Muchas gracias! Pero en realidad no está muy bien, hay pequeñas proporciones que se van. La hice en 3 sesiones de unas 3 horas cada una. Eso es muy lento, te lo aseguro. Hay dibujantes que con modelos vivos te hacen algo mejor en 20 minutos ;)
Pero estoy disfrutándolo mucho.

Un abrazo!

Hello @trenz, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Oh, thank you so much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56278.39
ETH 2377.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29