Learning to Draw | State of Progress | Day #8

in #drawing6 years ago

Welcome to another installment of my artist apprentice diary.

This time is the first occasion in which I face the shading. The exercise was still lace and silhouette, but I could not contain myself and I cast a couple of shy shadows. The teacher explained how to apply shading with a thicker carbon and told me to try it, without fear. So after having the figure more or less fitted I experimented with the lights and the shadows.

Dia 007 (1).jpg

As the professor explained to me, this time the exercise became complicated again. This time the figure had more complexity due to having the arm raised and the distances between the different elements, which apparently are very deceptive.

I have to confess that every time I find it more difficult to start the first lines of the drawings. Finding the correct distances and angles of the axes is crucial for the drawing to be right or wrong.

Dia 007 (3).jpg

Dia 007 (4).jpg

In this case the fight was quite intense at the beginning and I had to erase the axles several times, because although they seemed correct, when I put the drawing next to the model and watched it from a distance I realized that it was wrong. So in order to reach the first silhouette he had erased the master lines several times.

Dia 007 (5).jpg

Once the first sketch was reached, things got complicated, because the proportions were still wrong. Especially the relationship between shoulders and neck and the width of the thorax and hips.

Dia 007 (6).jpg

To correct the width or heights the only way is to erase and redraw. This process of starting from scratch I had to do it three times, because I could not represent the correct proportions.

Dia 007 (7).jpg

I redrew the knot of the fabric again, which I had made too small. And I started to mark the borders between light and shadow. It was one of the difficulties of this drawing. Contrary to what happened with the previous drawing *, in which the lines were very defined, in this the forms were very soft and I could not draw them with defined lines. That's when I decided to venture to try shading. After my teacher gave me some basic instructions I started the process. Unfortunately the proportions were still wrong. The thorax was too short, but I decided to leave it like that, because to fix it was to go back and I preferred to experiment with the volumes.

Dia 007 (8).jpg

I began to shade timidly, with fear, although the professor urged me to stain the paper with decision.

I listened to him and the truth is that I enjoyed it immensely. I have discovered that I like this part more than drawing the contours. It's amazing to see how the volume and shapes start to come out of the paper, as if by magic.

Dia 007 (9).jpg

Dia 007 (10).jpg

The variations were beginning to be subtle, but they clearly marked the difference. At this point I returned to teach the drawing to the teacher. He told me that he should shade the left side even more, that he was not afraid to stain. The drawing still lacked volume and balance between lights and shadows. I continued shading with greater security.

Dia 007 (11).jpg

The truth is that the result is very different and clearly better than the previous phase. As I say, the drawing still had serious problems of proportions, but I am delighted with the result. The truth is that I never thought I would be able to draw something like that.

Dia 007 (2).jpg

This new activity is providing me very funny and enjoyable moments.

Thank you for joining me on this wonderful path.

Here you can find the previous days:
Day #1 | Day #2 | Day #3 | Day #4 | Day #5 | Day #6 | Day #7

An original post by @trenz


Sort:  

You got a 4.23% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @trenz!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

¡Lo estas haciendo muy bien! las practicas te quedan cada vez mejor. Que bueno que tienes la oportunidad de ir a clases de arte. Asi no te frustras tan rápido.
Estoy curiosa por ver que traen las proximas partes.

Muchas gracias. Yo también tengo curiosidad por ver hasta donde llego ;)

Bueno parece que se te está dando bastante bien, me gusta cómo consigues el sombreado! Yo no dibujo bien, y una de las cosas que me resultan más difíciles son las telas. Saludos.

Your post has been voted and shared by @autovoters, thanks for using this reesteem service :)

La tela es muy complicada, sí. De hecho esta está medio inventada en cuanto a sombreado se refiere, no es fiel a la realidad.
Un saludo.

You're doing great, @trenz!
My drawings often look askew. I guess it has to do with my not drawing any master lines.
I'm taking notes ;D

Oh, thank you. For me the most hard to get are the correct angles and proportions.

Really nice art post @trenz! My friend have created awesome Steemit t-shirt and I want to share it with our amazing community! More detailed pictures are here:
https://teespring.com/steem-to-the-moon
front (7).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30