Learning to Draw | State of Progress | Day #5

in #drawing6 years ago

Welcome to another installment of my artist apprentice diary. This time the exercise becomes a bit complicated again. Now they are 4 pieces and with more complex shapes than those I had previously drawn.

Dia 005 (7).jpg

What is harder for me is, as up to now, to fit the objects. Draw the boxes that will define the spaces occupied by the objects of the still life. This task is one of the most important because if the proportions and sizes are wrong from the beginning the drawing will go bad and end up worse.

Maybe there are people to whom this seems easy, but for me it is not at all, that is why it is one of the tasks that make me more nervous and with which I doubt more.

Dia 005 (3).jpg

Once I had the boxes it was easier for me to throw myself with the charcoal. The bottle in the center was not proportionate, it was difficult to find the balance between the neck and the body and tended to make it more flattened than it really was.

Dia 005 (4).jpg

The teapot also had its difficulty due to its curves and oblique lines. But I think that in a first attempt the result was better than that of the bottle.

Dia 005 (5).jpg

When drawing the rest of the elements, I could verify that the proportions and distances between them were not correct, so I had to work a lot to try to put everything in its place. The round bottle looked big to me, and the saltcellar on the right looked like a pear rather than a saltcellar.

Dia 005 (6).jpg

I continued working with the salt shaker, but from pear it went to light bulb. I resisted, but I insisted on making it as realistic as possible.

Dia 005 (2).jpg

Dia 005 (7).jpg

In the end, I dared to venture some shadows and reflections, although I'm not very happy with the result. The salt shaker is still not right. But in spite of everything I am happy to have gotten here. I know it's a very basic sketch and there's a lot to improve, but I never thought I could get to this.

Thank you for joining me on this wonderful path.

Here you can find the previous days:
Day #1 Day #2 Day #3 Day #4

An original post by @trenz


Sort:  

Hello @trenz, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Oh, what an honor. Thank you so much. I am just learning to draw, and enjoying the process.
It is a pleasure to have your eyes on my post ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26