DIY Recycling For Income - More Free Items I Saved & Sold For $1,088 (30 Sales) - Consistently Helping The Environment - What Are YOU Waiting For?!

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

If your city was covered in valuable items on recycling nights, would you walk by, or would you see the immense opportunity?

In this sample of 30 recent sales, the average revenue per item was $36.25. This factors in several small items for ideas, which dragged this figure down.


It's mind-boggling that I'm virtually the only one in my hood that appears to consistently do this.

While thrifting for profit is fun, I prefer to find and save things from being wasted and destroyed.

I then sell them and make a living from it, most often using recycled packaging.

It can't be a more satisfying system. It gives me a genuine purpose. It helps the environment and consumers who need this stuff.

This "work" is effortless to me.


30 more things I've recently recycled and sold. Figures are revenue before fees and shipping.

A rare Louis Vuitton fashion book sold for $125 w/in a few days.

Brand new UPPAbaby stroller frame sold for $85 with an in-person pickup.

Miele vacuum hose sold for $68.

Two small tv stand brackets sold w/in 2 days for $50 up the street.

Shark vacuum power nozzle tested and sold for $50.

Electrolux vacuum power nozzle tested and sold for $50. (Would've been $100 if it looked better.)

Bugaboo stroller brake lever set sold for $45.

Miele vacuum motor tested and sold for $44.

Nespresso coffee machine base unit sold for parts/repair for $42 a few miles away.

Women's snow boots sold for $41.

Shark vacuum canister sold for $39.

Sealed new Lego set for $37. (I know, right?)

Two vacuum hoses sold for $36.

Miele vacuum cord winder set sold for $35 for parts since the vacuum was dead.

HP printer paper tray sold for $35 down the street.

UPPAbaby stroller seat pad sold for $34 and walked down the street to hand deliver.

Miele vacuum pedal/control sold for $29.

Partial genuine valid HP printer ink sold for $28.

A set of Kenmore vacuum attachments sold for $27.

Blender blade sold for $23.

Bugaboo stroller canopy clip sold for $23.

Schwinn fitness monitor sold for $20.

HP printer output tray sold for $19.

Stroller wheel sold for $19.

JVC camcorder sold untested for $19.

Dyson vacuum pedal sold for $18.

Miele vacuum soleplate sold for $17.

Miele vacuum brushroll sold for $16.

Early 1960's Barbie ski suit pants sold for $14.


I can't wait until I can get some help to scale up. If I could cover more neighborhoods, you'd faint at how much money could be made at zero financial risk.

TIP: if recycling in your area is in clear plastic bags on the curbs, look for electrical wires. They usually lead to something!!

Time to go bring 12 packages to the USPS and FedEx...

Please let me know if any questions.

My latest thrifting post for a 8.9x return on investment.


Recent Upcycling Sales:

Other Recent Thrifting:


Please reject waste!


Thanks for your interest and support,

@steemmatt

Sort:  

All the stuff on eBay?

eBay is usually my go-to. I also use Craigslist for certain items.

You are an inspiration. Where do you resell it? I should get on this, but probably when I retire - I'll be selling my limbs and organs by then.

Usually online with eBay or Craigslist. Glad you can get some thought bubbles going for a hobby or passion down the line. I think most online resale sites prohibit the sale of body parts, so best of luck on the black market.

I want to stab the dummies who throw away LEGO’s.

I half do, half don't. I'll save them and give them to kids (or crazy adult toy collectors) worldwide.

Oh man, who would throw away these things? Especially the LV book. You are living in the gold mine, my friend.

That LV book was a cool find. It was just shimmering in the clear plastic bag. The corner of the slip cover was dented and had surface issues, or else it's have been a $170 book. I priced it to move. I do live in a gold mine, which is why you're relocating here soon to help rake the $ in, right?

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

It's a great honor. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81