Depression Can Creep up on the Best of Us!

in #depression7 years ago (edited)


A frog put into a boiling pot of water instinctively hops out. However when put into water at room temperature that is slowly brought up to a boil, it stays there and dies. Things that creep up on us like the rising temperature typically aren't instinctively noticed. Depression sets in on many of us in this same way, where things feel OK as one small support after another are removed. Eventually enough 'structural integrity' is gone and the Jenga tower collapses. Unfortunately, this means that we have a marked snap in our psyche where just about everything leads down a vicious spiral of anger, despair and powerlessness.

The end of year and holidays cause some of these problems for many people. This could be due to a range of things such as the reduced sunlight (seasonal affective disorder,) memories of lost loved ones or other just from decreased outdoors activity due to the weather.

Common Symptoms

A small list of the common symptoms, which some can be seen during the 'slow bringing the water to boil' period include:

  • Difficulty concentrating, remembering details, and making decisions
  • Fatigue and decreased energy
  • Feelings of guilt, worthlessness, and/or helplessness
  • Feelings of hopelessness and/or pessimism
  • Insomnia, early-morning wakefulness, or excessive sleeping
  • Irritability, restlessness
  • Loss of interest in activities or hobbies once pleasurable, including sex
  • Overeating or appetite loss
  • Persistent aches or pains, headaches, cramps, or digestive problems that do not ease even with treatment
  • Persistent sad, anxious, or "empty" feelings
  • Thoughts of suicide, suicide attempts

-Source


Not every item in this list occurs for everybody. My personal symptoms for during the onset of depression were highlighted by the lack of energy, changes in sleep patterns (both lack of and too much,) effects on appetite, no motivation towards hobbies and irritability. Usually the feelings of pessimism or hopelessness are the last to hit me, which tend to be the tipping point for me since I tend to pride myself on being a steadfast optimist.

While each person is different in what symptoms occur, in what order, and which are the more tipping points, the important thing for all of us is to be able to be mindful enough to see these patterns. Since these tend to happen slowly over time they can be hard to spot right away, so self reflection is the key to spot these personal trends. Look back at yourself over the last two weeks, maybe a month or more...but reflect. You may find that it's not due to depression and caused by something else instead, which is just fine. The self-monitoring itself is still very important.

Please don't take this to be advocating being a hypochondriac, but rather simply take stock of what you want your normal day to day life to be, compared to where you are right now. YOU know yourself better than anybody else! Still listen to others, especially friends and family giving you feedback (especially when it's not exactly what we'd want to hear,) but the decision in the end is always yours alone.

My underlying point out of all of this is that we have to keep that feeling of empowerment and control over ourselves. I've found that the worst thing for me is when I begin to run out of things I can pro-actively try towards a solution. Feeling that I have to have somebody else fix things for me, or purely get lucky, is when I really tend to lose my hope and self-worth.

Be willing to reach out to others for help but remember that's still you being empowered.

Ways to Break the Downward Spiral

Natural Depression Treatment List

Just like everything else, each person finds what helps to break the cycle of depression. This cycle for me typically includes the line of thinking:

I don't feel like I'm connecting with people or doing anything, which makes me angry. -->
I don't like to be around people when I feel angry. -->
I feel angry that I'm not connecting with people or doing anything.

Getting in a Routine

In the end I don't feel like doing anything, just numbing the moments that I can to feel OK for shorter periods of time. While it is a temporary fix, the largest pattern still exists outside of this. This is why the tip of getting in a routine is so helpful for me. Often my depressed periods coincide with having too much time on my hands, commonly when unemployed.

Setting Goals, Baby Steps and Little Wins

To help from keeping myself in my home all day, I commonly try to have at least some reason to leave the home. This could be as simple as going to the grocery store, visiting a friend or anything else that gets the job done. Setting goals, even when small, go a long way. I view the climbing out from the vicious spiral in the sense of baby steps and little wins. Trying to deal with everything that I feel being 'off' at once quickly gets overwhelming at those times and typically just causes me more short term harm than good. Making small, achievable goals (baby steps) that can easily be achieved (little wins), help comfortably build that foundation of motivation. Self empowerment is very important for me, letting me get back to the feeling of 'I can.'

Challenge Negative Thoughts

Challenging negative thoughts, while not always fun, has been helpful for me during this process. When I'm depressed I notice the marked shift in my mind set where things that I either saw in a positive or indifferent light, instead are viewed in a negative or frustrating way. Being aware that I am CHOOSING to interpret things in this way is an important piece to clawing my way out of that habit, allowing me to get back to viewing the world, people, etc in a more positive, useful and/or empowering light.

Doing Something New

Doing something new definitely has helped me get out of my depressed routines. This really is the name of the game...changing the default negative routine. This can be as simple as when going on a walk, choosing a route I'd not taken before, or playing a new game with friends. New activities require more attention and learning than the automated ones which directly helps the temporary fix of getting my mind off things. Having any kind of fun works along these exact same lines.

I've found that my worst times occur when I feel that I've got nothing else to try and am at the mercy of the universe. Staying proactive is essential to maintaining my sense of empowerment and hope towards clawing my way out of the hole of depression.


Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.




Image Sources:
Depression
Holding Head
Mind Poison
This Too Shall Pass Quote

Sort:  

You put a lot of work into this post and have compiled good information that can be helpful to people who go through depression. Sounds like you've learned cognitive behavior therapy and some mindfulness practice.
I don't agree with the quote however because it puts "blame" on the person suffering. I believe though that it can be deconstructed with help.

Yes that quote looked weird to me too. No one intentionally gave me a mental disorder but I definitely didn't construct it myself either. Nature can just be a bitch sometimes, which is probably the main reason. And yes in other cases it can be other peoples anti-social behavior, or injust practices within society which either targets me personally or people I care about, in which case it is someone else's fault. It's normal for people to get angry in such a case but at the same time I think that it's important that we don't see ourselves as victims when this happens, but rather to transform this anger into a beneficial fuel to make ourselves stronger and to make this world a better place so that those people of our ilk who come after us don't have to deal with such problems any more, or less at least.

I'm less optimistic and don't believe that depression can always be deconstructed. Depression can just get too horrible sometimes and depending on the strenght of a person some people may just never get out of it (which we see happen with people now and then). It is those people we who are stronger need to protect I think, because it's hard for people to be in that situation and protect themselves. The only hope is probably again to shape a better world for them, and all of us. But I could be wrong and maybe all depression can be deconstructed. Let's hope that I'm wrong, but it doesn't look that way from my perspective.

I thought the advice in the article is very sound though, apart from that quote.

I swapped out that quote, cause I can see how it could interpreted as 'blaming' the person suffering. It wasn't my intention for it to come across that way, wanting it more as a personal empowerment aspect of things.

Personally, I've been able to deconstruct my depressed moments, but this isn't by any means the same for everybody. To a large degree it depends on the person, the situation, the longevity, support networks, and this list can go on. I readily admit what works for me doesn't apply to everyone.

I've always tended to split those things in and out of my control. Rarely (imo) do people fall into depressed states when they don't win on a lottery ticket or slot machine, as well as when something less gambling oriented doesn't go their way such as getting a job, date, etc. These usually get chalked up to 'crap happens' or 'I didn't get lucky'...the big shift occurs when these begin the thoughts of "I'm not good enough" or not worthy.

Still all great points, not arguing. Just my personal take on things.

aw, you didn't have to swap out your quote - that was your quote.....I have to go out but wanted to let you know I've read your two replies and would like to read the rest in the chain and get back to you - I have a few thoughts to add. I know what depression is like too....and I like how you are handling it. Just wanted to tell you that for now.

It's no worries. I didn't feel I was forced to change the quote, the points made were quite valid. I prefer to have things interpreted the way I had in mind and in that case it could have been taken in both positive and negative directions..so the change was worthwhile in my mind. :)

TY! Looking forward to your thoughts. :)

Yes I agree very much with you there, and also believe you didn't have to swap out your quote. I like the one you replaced it with though.

It's all good. In the discussion I could see how it could have been taken negatively, so it was worth the edit in my eyes. I definitely didn't feel like anyone was forcing that on me...just good valid points and my preference in having things interpreted in the way I wanted/meant. :)

I don't believe depression as a mood disorder can be desconstructed in that sense but I think a depressive episode can be a bit to relieve suffering. There are tools to help with depressed thoughts, which are different than an episode. @sykochica gave some great ideas - not that it isn't hard to do while depressed, it is but some of these things can help change the way you are feeling even if for a while. Some believe we can retrain or rewire the brain with some of what is mentioned in this post.
Depression is horrible and painful. I believe it is genetic so that the person is more sensitive than others to their emotions.

That I can understand, with the episodes being more acute/short-term, which is more common during the potential onset of the mood disorder itself as well as the genetic side of things.

For me, in the 'on-set' stages of things is more where these methods have been what's worked for me. Personally I don't like the idea of the prescribed medications (just for me, not generalizing this to what others should or shouldn't do) but I did do some 'green partaking' back then which did help me in moments. Some day I may find that something else may be necessary, but luckily so far I've just needed to break the cycle of negative thoughts. Logically I still knew I had friends, support, etc but emotionally I took everything in those moments in the worst way possible.

I can believe there are genetic aspects to it, providing the pre-disposition increasing likelihood of episodes being triggered. I've just found things that work for me. I'm always careful on stuff like this to not extend 'methods that have worked for me' to everybody. I will admit that to a large degree I view depression as a 'mindset' in the sense that I took the same 'data' either in a positive vs negative light. It's also worth mentioning that I've often felt empathic, in the sense of being sensitive to emotions, which I could be being a factor. (if this isn't just something in my own head, lol)

Either way, I do agree. Depression sucks all around and is a difficult experience to go through. In the end it's all about finding some way to get out of that state whether through methods I mentioned, medication, talking with people/professionals, or other ways that I've not even thought of.

While not a fix in itself, things like this at least help me to smile...

Source

Sometimes funny things help, sometimes not right? You must be nearing the end of your episode. I like how you self soothe and take care of your symptoms by doing the opposite of what you are feeling. That's super important.

Great post - too bad you didn't make more $$ on it....it was worth more. Hate it when that happens. But also, sometimes $$ don't matter when you've helped so many on here.

Thanks!

So true! Depending on where I'm at the funny things truly help and make me smile...other times it just kinda flows right by without much effect. At least I haven't had a negative reaction to cute/funny which is part of why I find use in them.

Eh, while on an upswing, I'm still having to get various major 'life' things dealt with (still on the job search.) But I do find 'little wins' by putting things like this out there. While a better payout on it would have been nice, it's definitely generated great conversations out of it, which was uber helpful and felt great.

I learned on here a long time ago that a low payout just means a low payout (maybe bad timing, bigger SP holders didn't see it, topic not on their current interest radar, even things I could have tweaked to effect it (tags, title, etc.) I really don't let the lower payouts get to me for long, so many of my shorter posts have done quite well...it all balances out pretty well for me.

This was one of those "Wrote it because I wanted to write it" sort of thing. :)

TY! Yea, I've had a lot of 'mental practice' and self reflection over the years.

I can see the concern on that quote upon rereading it. It definitely wasn't my intention of laying blame on the person suffering, more just that it's something that is personal and the mindset (while not easy to chance quickly) is within their control. For some it may take something more external, whether therapy or even medicine (which personally I'm not a fan of, but each person chooses that for their self,) but in the end it's our way of viewing the situation/world in a positive/negative way. When 'blame' is applied outside the self, we face the caveat that it's not within our power.

Still it's a good point, I'm sure there's a better quote I can toss in there.

I replied to you in the wrong spot of course :) There are a couple of replies. This was a really good post. I promoted it for you in steem.chat. Hope you don't mind.

No worries. I very much appreciate that! :D

I think this is great advice, and I work via a similar method. The only thing different is that I sometimes see the importance of just letting go and not trying to be in control of everything (not even the minor things) as useful as well.

As humans we often have a tendency to always be in control of everything, but I have learned that sometimes it is better to save my energy and to sit back and wait till the clouds blow over and the storm disappears. This is of course not the main attitude someone should take with every little thing which happens.

My point is that one should try one small step at a time, but also recognize it and learn to accept it when it's better to take a couple of deep breaths for a day or two (or longer when neccessary, in case of a "heavy storm") so that one can save ones energy and arise afresh out of the darkness when the storm has passed.

Mindfulness has really thought me that we can't control everything all the time and that learning to accept ones current situation and letting go of the idea that we have to always be in control of one thing or another can lead to a great step forward.

This is not a critique of your article, and of course I'm talking about what is only a temporary acceptance of the situation and this doesn't in any way mean that one should just give up trying for good, or that one has to accept ones situation in the long run.

Essentially it's a warrior's attitude I'm advocating. Sometimes as warriors we get beaten (comes with the "job"), so we have to learn to accept our defeat, rest, heal, and then emotionally and physically prepare for the next fight.

Yes to mindfulness practice - not just meditation but all that it entails - especially with acceptance and letting go of trying to fix or control our environment. The more we fight to get our selves out of a depressed state, the more we panic and can't think clearly. If we let go of this control, we accept the mood or episode and can allow ourselves to find ways to distract, challenge our thoughts - or check the facts as I call it, exercise, eat well etc. - self care.

It's a great point. Even though I'm not religious myself, I frequently refer to the serenity prayer,
"God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference."

I completely agree that it's important to focus on those things that are in our control while being able to let go of things that are not (and don't go our way.) For me those baby steps/little wins are those things fully within my power, and I'll agree I should have made that explicit in here, cause it's an important aspect of it.

In the end, each person has to find what method works for them in those more bleak moments. I'm all for having other approaches like yours included here. :)

I feel like there is a bit of a collective fear and depression that you can be influenced by as well. Anyone who looks half way deeply at the global situation can not help but feel compassion and other emotions at what is going on. What helps me is the feeling that, "This too shall pass".

That's very true! It's hard to not be affected by all the bad situations going on out there. I do try to mitigate that myself in searching out those more positive things going on, that typically aren't touted as loudly. The negative headlines seem to catch our attention easier.

But that 'mantra' is a great one to keep in mind, I know it's a big one for myself. "This too shall pass" :) Those Sufi's definitely understood impermanence pretty well.

TY!

Thank you for writing about this, it's a really important topic. And I value your insight. I have worked sucessfully with my thoughts and beliefs myself, to prevent falling in to depression during rough times. And I have found that excercise is also extremely important, which I used to refuse to believe.

Exercise definitely can be helpful, even though I'll admit it's one of the most difficult ones to motivate myself to do, both in depressed states and normal ones. Whenever I have though I always am able to look back and 'feel the usefulness' though.

The trick is to find a fun exercise, and this is exactly what I have done. finally.
I climb, especially indoor climbing, and it's such fun, and really inspiring!
I have loved to climb since I was a kid, but I never focused on technique or anything.
So in a way this is bringing back the child in me in a small way.
Although my older self is more ambitious.

So true! I really hope to be able to get the exercise bike/vr system at https://www.virzoom.com/ someday. Mixing exercise with 'gaming' is right up my alley! Lol

Excellent, very informative and helpful. I also get periods of depression and you describe it perfectly. I particularly like the last phrase you used about feeling that you are at the "mercy of the universe". I know exactly what you mean. You gave very good suggestions about trying new things, good advice. Cheers! Upvoted.

Thanks for posting about this. At this time of year this is a very real problem for a surprisingly large number of people.

I don't mean to be flippant or condescending, but one thing that always helped me was playing with a puppy. There is just something magical about it that drives away the darkness.

Now, if i feel that it is all just too much, and i don't want to be here any more, I think back on those times i played with puppies, and it brings me a smile, and sometimes a giggle.

And that's the start of the road back.

TY!
Oh you're so right! Often I end up either playing with my cat (who I'll with bias say is uber cute) or find pics online that I find adorable...corgi's always seem to help me. Lol

I liked it when you said -

the important thing for all of us is to be able to be mindful enough to see these patterns.

and later on when you said this (which is a pretty relatable cycle for many people likely...

I don't feel like I'm connecting with people or doing anything, which makes me angry. -->
I don't like to be around people when I feel angry. -->
I feel angry that I'm not connecting with people or doing anything.


I remember that from your post months ago you sent me to read!

I hope you are doing OK.

TY!
I'm doing ok, just know that I've been in that 'danger zone' of sorts. It very much helps me to just be aware of that (the first time this happened to me years ago I had no idea, since it was the first time.)

In the mean time, more baby steps and really appreciate the little wins. :)

Something we should all be talking about <3

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.73 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Depression is a bitch. Mine always kicks in with panic attacks and then settles into lack of energy and poor sleep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98