DAZ 3D/Studio - Today the Licensing Program for Game Development changed - Pros and Cons - New format for Interactive Licenses

in #daz3d7 years ago (edited)

I've written in the past about how to get the most bang for your buck when purchasing things for Daz. I also have covered how the licensing fees worked if you wanted to use the material in something interactive such as a game. You could use it for static art, movies, etc with no license, but you needed to buy a license for different artists to use their morphs, figures, etc in an interactive format such as a game.

I purchased the Daz Originals Game License some time ago which covers anything that Daz Originals is one of the artists listed. This is the bulk of what I own.

Today they announced a new license plan and the end of that one.

The New License


They have gotten rid of the entire artist license model. Instead every product that I have looked at includes a new check box on it's product page. If you have already purchased an artist license that is grand fathered in and will remain in effect for all products you own for that artist as well as new purchases from that artist.

In that screen grab you can see for that Elorn product I can add an interactive license for $35.

There are some pros and cons to this.

Pros


If you only want to use a few products from a particular artist it is no longer looking at buying a $500 (less if you waited for specials) Indie Game Developer License ($1500 Commercial) to use all of that artist's product line. You can buy just the few things you need and pay the license fee.

I'll admit this does open the door for me to consider a few artists I'd been avoiding simply due to not wanting the few things they had and then having to pay $500 to use them in a game.

Cons


I have the Daz Originals license fee and that literally covers probably between 500 and 1000 items. If I had to pay an interactive fee for each one of those that I wanted to use it would become prohibitively expensive.

This will impact me with one artist I hadn't purchased a license for yet, but had been acquiring items in anticipation of purchasing such a license. I now have to weigh which of those items I actually really need at the moment.

Overall


Overall I believe this is likely to be a positive step, though I do believe they should keep the Daz Originals License as something that can be purchased as that could become prohibitively expensive. In fact, I believe it'd be nice to have a hybrid of these two programs. It'd be nice if you could purchase an artist wide license, or purchase individual products.

I woke up and did my daily checks to see what was new in the world of sales (that's how I get the most bang for my buck) and encountered this new licensing scheme. It warranted doing a post.

EDIT: Update - here is some info from the official site which I screen grabbed from here.


Daz Related Posts


I have written a lot of Daz Related posts and I continue to add new products to some of the posts in the form of replies as I acquire them. This may slow down a bit as I'll need to focus on saving up for licenses now, and I don't know yet how they will work out in terms of sales.

Tutorials

Collections/Reviews

These are reviews of products or me doing renders of my personal collection for my own reference and to share with steemit. Note some of these are NSFW and are labeled as such. I have one very NSFW Daz post on my @seductiveart account and have not needed to add anything else there. I created that account exclusively for new NSFW posts when/if I decide to make them whether they are very graphic or not. Other than replying to these older posts I intend to keep NSFW posts off of @dwinblood as much as I can in the future.

Sort:  

Thanks for the analysis @dwinblood.

Looking forward what you could create with this new add.

very nice work bro. !!!! keep it up

Post a very useful success @dwinblood
Upvote @bustamam

You done great job

early to bed , and early to rise makes a man healthy wealthy and wise!!
that is damn true.

You have done a great job. Thanks for sharing @dwinblood!

@dwinblood i need you help about steem doller how can i buy steem doller. if you know about it tell me i,ll be very thankful to you.

Awesome studio