You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Blog #4] Bike Training | Beautiful day, 32 km ride & Strava

in #cycling6 years ago

Ooh. Be very careful with strava. It is addictive as hell. Before you know it you will be racing down roads to better your own time or to beat the time of some random stranger who happens to train on the the same paths as you. It sucks you in like an addictive video game. The difference is, you need to use your body to move up the leaderboard!

Cheers and have fun!

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment @twowheeledmonkey!

hahaah that's true, it is what I'm trying to avoid since I'm more focused on traveling by bike and not on competition. But I gotta say it adds some adrenaline to the training, to know that I could do better.

Another thing that is addictive as hell are the bike upgrades! I know my bike is more than perfect for what I need, but maaaaan... all those parts out there.

Yes. This happens especially when you join a cycling club. You see your mates buying new shiny stuff for their bikes and sooner rather than later, you jump in the fray.

And cycling might cost no money when you ride. But become a cyclist and it is one expensive hobby!

Absolutely, I see a loooot of vanity in cycling. Guys with super expensive equipment to ride on the streets, come on.

I have a strict rule for myself: Invest in safety first and only upgrade when something breaks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52