Live Outdoors: 10 REASONS TO TRY STAND UP PADDLEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Are you searching for a full body workout that lets you have fun and experience the great outdoors all at the same time?  Now is the time to try stand up paddle boarding.

Photo by Aditya Siva on Unsplash.


Stand up paddle boarding has a history going back thousands of years, but has only emerged in terms of popularity over the last few years. Between the 20's and 50's, Stand up paddle boarding (SUP) gained prominence in Hawai, when the so called Beach Boys (Duke and Leroy), surf instructors, used to stand on their boards and use paddles to have a better view of the surfers and the swells. Since then the SUP have been practiced by hawaiians who kept building boards and paddles.

Since the 2000's however, SUP has caught more and more attention, new construction materials and increase in popularity turned SUP in a great alternative for those who can't have a canoe or a kayak, nor have the swells to practice regular surf.

If you want to check a detailed history, this website has a great article on it.

For me everything is new. It's been two years that I decided to start having a healthy lifestyle. Being myself a guy who likes to live outdoor (camping, going out on trails and traveling), sometimes beeing inside a gym can be boring. A couple months ago I discovered the Stand up paddle board and I'm already hooked. Every once in a while I go to my city's lake to spend some hours going up and down the beach. It's great!! I'll try to convince yourself to do the same.

So, here are my 10 REASONS TO TRY SUP.


1.   ANYONE CAN SUP

It is for all ages! This sport is accessible to anyone and this is great. The only thing holding you from learning is your own mind. If you think you are to old to try you should definetely go to your lake or beach and ask for lessons.


2.   IT'S EASY

Yes, you may fall in your first steps. But hey! Remember when you learned how to ride a bike? It's easier than that. And if you fall it won't hurt, it's just water. You can always ask for lessons and I promise you that whithin a couple of hours you'll be smiling while paddling.


3.   IT'S CHEAP

Sup has never been more affordable than ever, for all budgets. There are many entry level boards and paddles on the market, you can find even some inflatable ones if space is the problem. Eventhough it's more expensive than surf it's many times cheaper than a good kayak or even a small sail boat.


4.   IT'S ALL ROUNDER

Once you've learned the basics you start to be confident to try new stunts. The beauty of SUP is that you can enjoy yourself in calm waters to relax or you can use it to explore the nature, or go all in on competitions and maybe use it to catch waves as in the surf, or use for fishing. There are countless of crazy things you can do with a SUP board, you'll never be bored.


5.   BURN CALORIES

SUP is a complete aerobic exercise. It's practiced on the water requiring constant core strength. Depending on your intensity while paddling, during an hour of SUP you can burn from 300 to 700 calories.


6.   STAY FIT

It not only burn your calories but helps you stay in good shape. It helps strengthen your arms, chest, glutes and legs. It improves your cardiovascular health and general physical condition.


7.   CONTACT WITH NATURE

 The Stand Up Paddle is versatile and can be practiced anywhere, just find a body of water. You can paddle on sea, on lakes, rivers, bays and ports, even in the pool. It's the best stress relief, specially before/after a week of work.


8.   IT CREATES SHARING

Once you have your board I assure you that your friends will want to try as well. This is great, you can bring your family, friends, partner even your DOG for a ride.


9.   IT INSPIRES ADVENTURE

Are you an adventurous person? You can go crazy and try some long distance paddlings, or go check the other side of your city's lake? I've heard of a guy who traveled all aroud my state's lake in a SUP, and it's gigantic!


10.   YOU CAN EARN SOME MONEY

SUP here in Brazil is getting more and more popular, why not rent your board? I don't have a board yet, so everytime I want to practice I go to my local lake and rent one. Why not rent yours when you are not using?


Folks, this were my 10 REASONS TO TRY SUP. Hope you all enjoyed, leave a comment and your thoughts about this amazing sport, I'll be glad to hear. If you like my content follow me and stay tunned.

This is me.


#liveoutdoors

I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Travel, Camping & General.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.



Sort:  

That`s absolutely true! This August I tested my first board on the bavarian Tegernsee - It was absolutely great.

20190801_123223_low.jpg

That's really cool and even better with such views!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52