[Blog #25] MTB in the rain | 31km | Learning to Use a Camera

in #cyclefeed6 years ago (edited)

Goooood night, readers! Cycling in the rain just to try ideas with the camera - Photography is not easy!



This photo was completely white, I don't know how I got it like this.

Hello there lovely readers! This is day three of our journey with a DSLR camera

If you have seen my last blogs you may have read that my brother has lended me his Nikon D7100, that's the camera I'm using to practice. So, yesterday afternoon it was rainy and cloudy, I was trying to understand the concepts behind aperture, shutter speed and ISO, all I needed was loads of practice and figuring out. Also, some friends had given me tips for long exposure photos that I really wanted to try. Nothing worked, but it was fun.

Plans were simple: I took my MTB, rain gear, camera, tripod and off we go!

The destination was the well known... have you guessed? Yes, the beach. What an insane idea I must add, the bike lanes were all full of water and a little muddy, which all ended up on my face since I can't hold myself from flying down the roads. The beach was not very windy and the sun had long disappeared below the dense gray clouds; the view was quite terrifying if you ask me, looking like the Gods would unleash their power at any moment. Didn't happen, fortunately.

I wanted to try those beautiful long exposure effects, where the water looks like smoke, however, I knew that I'd need a ND filter. It doesn't hurt trying without it, right? So I tried.

I couldn't get the desired effect on long shutter speeds, even with the aperture completely closed, ISO on minimum and a towel to try to block light. The photos would become white or the 'not so slow' speed wouldn't allow me to get the effect I so badly wanted. But I've learned a lot which is cool. Hope you enjoy what I did, please, don't spare your criticism, that's the only way I'll learn.

Today's Experiment

They are by far not long exposure, but I like them honestly.


This photo was completely white, I don't know how I got it like this.

Scary sky.

Later I got home wet, muddy, tired and without the photos I wanted Hah!

I decided then to try the so called Lighroom - for my misery my notebook has the power of a potato, it still runs the program, it only takes longer to think. With Lightroom I was able to make all that mess you just saw above, I did my best to tweak every single setting I could move trying to discover what they do. For my enthusiasm I found it pretty cool and not so difficult. What an improvement for an ignorant photographer project that I am.

Later today my brother came back home and is kinda asking for the camera back, so the fun may be over on our photography journey.

That's possibly the beginning of the end of our experiments, any criticism will be well received, don't forget to comment down below.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Monday Morning Quote: "Traveling tends to magnify all human emotions"

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

[Blog #24] MTB to find lunch | 38km | New Camera

[Blog #23] Testing Actifit - An app that rewards for exercising!

[Blog #22] Back To Cycling After Being Sick

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

Oh I really need to experiment with my camera. I feel I've been neglecting it. Awesome photos!

You should @robmolecule! It's a ton of fun and frustration ahahhaha but mostly fun, as usual it's nice to aquire a new skill, we never know when we'll need.

I need a tripod. I can't spend a ton though so I'll probably end up with something that slips. Saw one at a Salvation army and they were trying to charge the same price that it went for brand new. Plus the reviews were terrible.

What kind of tripod you're searching for? And in what pricerange?

Well my price range is pretty low right now unless I get some more work. I had hoped to get something under $100 but I always backed out after seeing negative reviews. It would have to be superlight if I were to take it on bike rides.

You should keep an eye on the Sirui a1005 y10. Usually it's just above the 100$ but sometimes it goes just beneath it. For the money it's actually a pretty decent tripod. A little bit cheaper would be the Zomei Q666.

Will you carry it in a bag or attached at the outside of your bag during your rides?

Thanks. I'd probably attach it to my tent bag if it's a similar length. I don't know though. I've seen people get everything into their panniers including the tent and sleeping bag. Send like a goal if I can somehow pack that light.

Good night, my friend! I like your experiments. Don't stop! I'm sure you will succeed :)

Thank you @madlenfox! I'll try not to stop, but the camera is not mine and the owner is already annoying me =/
Hopefully one day I'll have my own.

Just keep on practicing as long as you'll have the camera @mrprofessor. You'll see with only a little practice you will make giant steps in the beginning. Maybe you don't need to give it back to your brother in the end? You'll never know. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you. Otherwise we need to start a Steemit fundraiser. Get the professor a camera (without youknowing it ofcourse 😈)

@guchtere being lovely as always.

I'll keep on practicing for sure! I'm studying as hard as I can all the articles I find and taking notes on the important parts, it's amazingly confusing at times.

Problem with buying gear is that our paycheck in Brazil is not compatible with the taxes they impose on products, so everything becomes overly expensive. But let's keep the good work and things shall happen.

I will be in that @guchtere!!!

Oh man, I'd cry I think, and it's been quite some year that I don't cry.

Nice photos @mrprofessor

I'm only using a smartphone camera and you can see the massive difference in quality. I would love to get a DSLR but I think my better half would go mental. I'll have to save some pennies I think.

Keep up the good work.

Gaz

Heey @cheese4ead, but some smart phones today have incredible quality, only lack a zoom actually.

Those DSLR babies are pretty expensive indeed, I'm only using one because it's my brother's and he's lended it to me. When he asks for it back I'll be in troubble.

Thanks for the incredible support.

No worries.

Actually thinking about it, imagine me on my roadie trying to be all lightweight and lugging a great big camera with me. It's not going to work. I guess I'm lucky that mobile camera tech is pretty good these days.

Lets hope your bro forgets abut the camera for a little while. Get the most out of it that you can.

AAHH yeah hope so, or i'll just go on tour with it aahahahaha he won't be able to catch me.

Who runs the fastest? 😂

I do for sure, no way he'll catch me. hahahaha

Parabéns, seu post foi selecionado pelo projeto Brazilian Power, cuja meta é incentivar a criação de mais conteúdo de qualidade, conectando a comunidade brasileira e melhorando as recompensas no Steemit. Obrigado!

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

Maza, muito obrigado queridos.

someone flood this guy with steem so he can buy a camera!!!!

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh don't do that hahahahahaha I would be completely shy and reactionless (does this word even exist?)

Love you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52