[Blog #22] Back To Cycling After Being Sick

in #cyclefeed6 years ago (edited)

Goooood night, readers! Sharing a recovery training, glad I'm getting back to normal.


Last week I was sick in bed, unable to have a proper nutrition, hence unable to cycle. Feeling powerless is the worst sensation to have when you are generally active and anxious to be outside, I wanted to get back immediately on my bicycle. I was feeling miserable.

Since it's been raining cats and dogs lately I have patiently waited for a better weather condition to go back to my trainings - It's not a good idea do a rain training after being so sick, even though I love cycling in the rain. But I've waited...

Today was the day!


View from my bedroom.

Sky was perfecly blue, temperature pleasant at around 20°C (unatural for winter) and the winds were calm. Beautiful for cycling, even more beautiful for going to the beach, just to check it out.

I felt encouraged to take a nice breakfast, knowing that today my body wouldn't completely reject it. I even took a picture of it; it's inspired on one of the breakfasts presented on my Breakfast Challenge - Guess you guys could indeed make me hungry!


Some sort of French toast; Eggs, Yogurt and Coffee - Going slow on the guts.

Training followed the same old path to the beach, this time not going for the full length of 35 km, better not burn my body after being incapable of exercising for one week and a half. I could do 28 km, which is good for a recovery. No trails, no mud, just asphalt and a bit of wind.

Juicy info for bike Geeks

The Classic Beach Photo


It's sad seeing the water no as blue as in the summer.

After today's training it was clear that my performance has been drastically affected by all this time without proper nutrition. Keeping my average speed of 20 - 22 km/h seemed impossible and my legs were weaker, however I'll keep on going 'till it gets back to normal.

Next week I'll possibly move to our beach house in Cassino beach, there I'll be able to start gathering all the equipment to the big bike journey, plus I'll be able to explore a whole new range of places. Some of them are amazing, I think you'll like it.

Hope you've enjoyed this small 'back to action' post. Don't forget to keep in touch, as the next epsodes will be in a new place.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

The Epic Pose | Photo Challenge | SBD Donation

Travel Story: Exploring a deserted beach, Insane bus connections & Glorious butt

"Monday Morning Quote: "A wise traveler never despises his own country"

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

[Blog #21] News | Quit my job | Projects

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

Glad you're feeling better and back on your bike! I've been feeling down and lethargic lately. It takes effort just to get out there door but once I'm riding, everything is so much better!

Thanks for the comment Rob

Yeah, it's great to be back, even my body was starting to feel sore from not exercising, it's terrible. Guess you're having a case of Wanderlust hahahah, where we feel trapped inside the house, I feel that sometimes, especially after travelling.

Parabéns, seu post foi selecionado pelo projeto Brazilian Power, cuja meta é incentivar a criação de mais conteúdo de qualidade, conectando a comunidade brasileira e melhorando as recompensas no Steemit. Obrigado!

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

Bueeeenas, grande suporte, como sempre! Muito obrigado pelo voto de confiança, seguiremos trabalhando duro.

Abraços

Welcome baaaaaack

Weeeeeeehe @riverflows, aaaaaaaaaand it's raining again!

É muito bom quando, depois de um bom tempo, voltamos a fazer nosso esporte preferido. Além do mais com um clima fresco como esse haha parabéns pelo post, e que você desbrave bastante lugares com a bike! Abraços!


ptgram power | faça parte | grupo steemit brasil


É verdade @handrehermann, não poder praticar algo que se goste por estar doente é muito ruim. Mas agora estamos de volta na bike e em breve já estaremos percorrendo 90-100 km novamente.

A temperatura estava boa, mas não é normal pra essa época aqui no RS, deveria estar entre 5-15°C, pode ter certeza que vem chuva.

Muito obrigado pelo apoio, grande abraço.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48